Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colchester

Nice hotel close to city centre.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Air conditioning in rooms
Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was on the third floor (322) overlooking the main road. The room was clean and tidy with a fridge, mini bar and a safe. Beds comfy but pillows were not. Bathroom also very clean with hairdryer and very good shower. The room did not have air conditioning and the weather was very hot when we stayed, so we had a choice. Either be extremely hot in the room with a low level of noise or have the window open and be unable to hear each other because of constant traffic noise. Breakfast was excellent, very good choice and good quality of food, we were able to eat in the garden although there were wasps continually flying around. Staff were helpful, friendly and all spoke English. The hotel is close to the Main Street in Bayreuth, only a five minute walk away. I would stay in the hotel on my next return to Bayreuth but would request a garden facing room.
4 out of 5
by M

Very clean, nice location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Despite a problem with the air conditioning system, our stay was quite enjoyable. Will definitely recommend and return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Easy walk to the old town.

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Great friendly staff in front house and breakfast room. My room on ground floor looked out onto a beautiful garden.
Cons: I always struggle to control those European detachable showers - I usually hose the bathroom out! Often the fittings are clapped out and need repair.
Location: Ideal location, 4 minutes walk to the old market square and city's heart. Everything almost you need to see in Bayreuth is easily walkable from there.
Lovely garden setting for a contemporary hotel wrapped behind and beside a gracious old sandstone building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel for the Festival

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed for two nights for the Bayreuth Festival. Quick and hassle-free check in. A clean and comfortable modern room. Good buffet breakfast. Slippers were provided on request. The hot tub was no more but we made use of the sauna. They even laid on a complimentary bus to the Festspielhaus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Newly renovated

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This was our second stay at the H4. Last year, we thought it was a good hotel--very efficient, clean, but characterless. This year, the hotel had been totally renovated and air conditioning had been installed in the bedrooms. Tgevgktel is very busy during the Bayreuth Festival, but they cope very well with all of the guests, and run a very welcome bus service to the Festspielhaus. This year they had a very amusing art project based around images of Wagner, and it have a chain hotel a much more individual touch.
5 out of 5
by Thomas Anthony

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very well located hotel within easy walking distance of the centre of town . The Hotel provides a bus to the Festival House which was much appreciated.
4 out of 5
by Alex

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel bedrooms need air conditioning in summer! Can be hot!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel which needs better management

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: The location and the building
Cons: Better service and get rid of the smell
Location: Wagner Festval
The hotel is nice, the staff is frienly and helpful but they have a terrible problem with mold smell. The lower levels which were not yet renovated do not have AC and since this summer was very rainy, the carpets, pillows and comforters caught a horrible mold smell. I thoght I would go crazy the fitst night, I was suffocating from that smell. In the morning we spoke to the reception and they explained that they are aware of the smell and moved us to the third floor. Surprise, the rooms and carpet did not smell but the bed lengerie did, mainly because if they spent some time on the lower floors, washing did not get the smell out. We had to live with the smell an entire week! The cleaning crew confirmed that they smell the foul odor but that the management is not doing anything about it. Used to American and international good hotel standards, we did not bring shampoo, conditioner and lotion, none in this hotel, had to beg to get some. One free 200 mg water on arrivel for both guests, go share! Breakfast alledgedly served unti 11 but when arriving at 10, everything was gone and most of the servers. Perfectionism is gone unfortunately! We attended the Wagner festival for which we waited 13 years to get tickets. It was supposed to be a very special occasion but many more incidents in this hotel and above all the intoxicating smell made it very unpleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Modern hotel, close to the centre of Bayreuth

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities, the staff were very helpful
Cons: Eggs and other hot offerings at breakfast were lukewarm and tasted like those re-constituted ones that you often get in less than good UK hotels
Location: Maisel Brewery - the restaurant there serves excellent food
Comfortable, very modern hotel, close to the Maisel brewery and with easy reach of the centre.