Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Considering its location and relative price and the fact that it has locations for free parking, i think its running down a bit interior is acceptable. especially, the hotel still maintains good cleaness and well functioning equipment inside room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: It is in front of Starbucks.
Cons: Entrance to our room should be from Lobby with lift.
Location: It is a bad location to catch subway.
Bad Experience and Entrance to our room is very bad. Breakfast is pretty bad. Staff are not at all cooperative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Anchor Inn MGR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you didn't like the location of the room in the building. We are in the process of updating our breakfast room offerings and equipment. Regarding the subway, our location is considered very good for traveling to NYC-Manhattan. Many people take the LI Rail Road which is under a 10 minute walk and the ride to NYC is under 30 minutes. The alternative is to take the bus and transfer to the subway, this is cheaper but takes about 1 hour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no window , no clean ,

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Although I set a special room but no windows spring outdoor temperature more than 50 degrees also open the heating room is very hot just to choke the bathroom is dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Anchor Inn Mgr, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you did not find your room acceptable. Your comments make it a little bit hard to understand what it was that you didn't like aside from the bathroom being dirty, which we will speak to housekeeping about. All of our rooms have windows. There are two rooms that have a skylight and no windows facing the street. These rooms have central air conditioning and are also very quiet since they are away from the street noise.
2 out of 5
by Mcjones

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
I booked a king size bed and got 2 twin size. Very disappointed . Staff was very unfriendly .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Sorry they had mixed up the room type of reservation. Chances are the room had 2 doubles size beds, as we don't have any with twin size. Nonetheless, our apologies for the mix up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Wasn't worth it for the price they charged. We had to wait over 20min for the check in even tho there was nobody else for check in. They asked again for my card and they charged extra $20 even tho everything was already paid at reservation. The room was to old fashion but clean .There was no heat in the room. The only good thing about the breakfast was the coffee. At the check out the waiting again was longer and the employee got mad cause we told him about the no heat in the room. 1st and last time we will stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We will most certainly follow up with your information to find out how and why there was "no heat". Our service records from our boiler servicing company are not showing any outage of our heating system whatsoever, so we will need to investigate further. Thank you for staying with us. Sorry your stay was less than perfect, and please rest assured that the front desk clerks who checked you in and out have already been spoke to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't get a suite.

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
I do not recommend getting a suite with a kitchen as the kitchen was greasy and had no kitchen utencils, pots or dishes. I do not believe people travel with these items on hand so why have a kitchen with nothing in it. The rest of the room appeared clean enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
So sorry that the cooking utensils were not prepared prior to your arrival. We most certainly do have these available and upon guest request or advance notice, we always provide them and they should be sufficiently cleaned as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The hotel was near Bayside. And the sheets were clean. However they really need to upgrade their rooms as the wallpaper was pealed off the walls and bubble gum was stuck to the walls and the air conditioner cord was on the floor. Etc. etc. etc. Their standards were not ours. We were told it was a king deluxe with views. But there were no views! Our views were a cement building! And they said no smoking. But we smelled smoke!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Anchor1, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. We will check in to all of the items you mentioned, as well as the etc etc etc which we will figure out what has been overlooked and get them rectified. We appreciate your taking the time to help in our improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Inexpensive NY Hotel Option

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Great for the budget traveler. We stayed for 4 nights to celebrate New Years Eve in Times Square. It is about an hour train ride from the nearby Bayside Station to Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. Served as a good home base and has free continental breakfast. The staff is friendly and free parking below in the parking garage below is a big plus! Will recommend to friends, but it would be great if there were a microwave in every room. Had to ask staff to heat up things for us. We need Microwaves!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Anchor1, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your visit.
2 out of 5
by Rafael

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, additional information would be tremendously helpful so that we can continue to improve the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to train stations

Posted Dec 30, 2016
It was very well maintained hotel and staff was very cooperative and friendly. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for decent stay for a day or 2 in new York city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Anchor1, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your visit.