Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale Fla

convenient and comfortable for families & singles

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: They had smoking rooms and was very comfortable.
Cons: They have not finished remodeling so some of the rooms are outdated. They should continue the remodeling to complete all the rooms
Location: easy access to Manhatten as well as Citi field. Excellent places to eat on Bell Blvd. Which is within walking distance.
I have a bad back and I can say that the bed was very very comfortable. The housekeeping staff was excellent. The breakfast was good as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Anchor Inn 1, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your details feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The front receptionist was not very cooperative. We booked through Expedia and had to cancel 1 night of 3 nights, the receptionist gave us some off the wall excuse why they couldn't accommodate. Manager was unavailable. Wouldlnt even come out of the office to talk to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Anchor Inn 1, Hotel Management
Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Considering its location and relative price and the fact that it has locations for free parking, i think its running down a bit interior is acceptable. especially, the hotel still maintains good cleaness and well functioning equipment inside room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Anchor Inn, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for staying with us. We are in the planning phases of an update for the interior.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: It is in front of Starbucks.
Cons: Entrance to our room should be from Lobby with lift.
Location: It is a bad location to catch subway.
Bad Experience and Entrance to our room is very bad. Breakfast is pretty bad. Staff are not at all cooperative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Anchor Inn MGR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you didn't like the location of the room in the building. We are in the process of updating our breakfast room offerings and equipment. Regarding the subway, our location is considered very good for traveling to NYC-Manhattan. Many people take the LI Rail Road which is under a 10 minute walk and the ride to NYC is under 30 minutes. The alternative is to take the bus and transfer to the subway, this is cheaper but takes about 1 hour.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Only complaint is we had issues with the room key.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the feedback. The room key could have been programmed incorrectly or placed next to a device with a magnet in it. That would also cause the key card to be deactivated. Sorry for any inconvenience.
4 out of 5
by Alan

Ok, except for one bad apple.

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Desk clerk was not pleasant, and seemed to view any request as a chore. But other staff were nice and trustworthy..
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you. We will address the apple :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel for a good night sleep.

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was quiet. Our only concern was that the smoking section was on the lower level and non-smoking on the upper. We stayed in the upper level and you could smell smoke. The first room we were in smelled like smoke (Weed) we asked to be relocated and the second room was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the feedback. We are looking into ways to deal with the ambient smoke from the smoking section affecting the non-smoking section already and hope to have it rectified very soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no window , no clean ,

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Although I set a special room but no windows spring outdoor temperature more than 50 degrees also open the heating room is very hot just to choke the bathroom is dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Anchor Inn Mgr, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you did not find your room acceptable. Your comments make it a little bit hard to understand what it was that you didn't like aside from the bathroom being dirty, which we will speak to housekeeping about. All of our rooms have windows. There are two rooms that have a skylight and no windows facing the street. These rooms have central air conditioning and are also very quiet since they are away from the street noise.
3 out of 5
by Suahilly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels