Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from italy

the cleanliness could be improved.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I had to ask the hotel staff to remove the bugs and spiderwebs from my room. I chose the hotel because supposedly it had a fitness center, only to find out that what they have is an agreement with a GYM 1 mile away from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Historical Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2015
I like the history of this hotel. It was like to be at that time. Very clean and pleasant stay. Too bad they don't have shuttle to Bologna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the detour

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Very comfortable, spacious room with huge bed. The complementary breakfast was more than adequate.
Cons: Free parking is limited.
This is a little off the motorway - about 15 kms - but it was well worth the extra effort to locate. We arrived at about 5pm to find a tastefully re-furbished early 19th century building with its own driveway entrance and free parking therein. The great thing about the location is it's in a real, smallish town with shops and bars so there's something to do in the evening. I left behind a pair of earphones and the hotel rang us and offered to post them onto our next destination - which they did. Great service!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: friendly and calssy
Cons: bed is too small, price is too high
Location: good location
Nice service and people, clean room, but bed is too small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Wickham, Greater London, UK

A favourite place in Italy.

Posted Apr 15, 2012
Pros: Food, rooms, service
Cons: I wish it had a swimming pool, but nothing really.....
Location: Nicely placed not far from A1 so good connection to Milan.
I love the Alla Rocca. I have been to Italy three times in my life, each time I have always stayed here for part of the trip. It's in an ideal location, in a small town everything feels very authentic, a few minutes walk to the local square and a little further on you can find the church perched on the hill, you’ll quickly get used to hearing the church bell chime from your hotel room. The hotel are very traditional; a lot of marble keeps the building nice and cool and also makes for great decoration, it’s well maintained and is very authentic. The thing that could easily be missed about the hotel is the restaurant, the food is excellent and very reasonably priced, for example we ate a three course set menu which included a glass of sparking wine for 22 Euro each, my pasta course, Carbonara was beautiful, the best I’ve ever had without a doubt, freshly made with rich yellow Italian eggs, we had so much food, but it’s one of those place where you just want to try everything because you know it is going to be good. The perfect way to spend the afternoon, we drank two bottles of local sparking wine outside on the terrace, again well priced at 15 Euro each. As common in the region we were provided with a huge supply of local nibbles, olives, nuts and were very happy relaxing. We woke up on Saturday morning to a traditional Italian breakfast, all the cakes in the hotel are made by their chef, the Marmalade cake can’t be missed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Would return again!

Posted Jun 28, 2006
Stayed for one night and came back later in the same trip. Very helpful, friendly staff with good English skills. Nice, classy, large rooms with wood floors and high ceilings. Tasteful stone work in common areas. Big bathrooms were spotless. All five rooms were great. Did not eat in the restaurant, 'cos plenty of places to eat in the mid sized town. Very secure parking if necessary, otherwise other available. Market on saturday AM right outside the hotel (but not noisy). Spotty internet availability only downside. Bazzano is well located close to Bologna which is a lively place. Good business or leisure hotel. Fantastic free coffee (cappucino machine) available 24 hours. Picturesque outside and in. HIgly recommended, best of four hotels we stayed at during our business trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel vieillissant Confort moyen personnel sympa

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: propreté et gentillesse du personnel
Cons: literie couettes
très peu de parking difficultés pour se garer enlèvement véhicule par fourrière amende + fourrière
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

grazioso albergo

Posted Nov 18, 2014
albergo bello pulito bello situato a circa 25 km da bologna in un piccolo paese molto accogliente con il personale gentile e preparato .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel, zentral gelegen.

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Die Ruhe.
Cons: Mehr Ablagen im Bad. Weichere Kopfkissen. Ein liebevoller zubereitetes Frühstück. Ein Wellness-Bereich wäre nicht schlecht.
Location: Etwa 20 km von Bologna entfernt. Von dort aus sind viele interessante Orte der Emilia Romagna zu erreichen.
Freundliche und hilfsbereite Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption, im Frühstücksraum und Restaurant. Unser Zimmer führte leider auf einen Hinterhof. Das Frühstück war nicht besonders abwechslungsreich (jeden Tag der gleiche Aufschnitt: Press-Schinken und fettige Salami). Das Hotel wird vor allem von Paaren und Geschäftsreisenden aufgesucht. Familien mit Kindern sind hier eher selten anzutreffen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustikales Ambiente

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Wer eine rustikale Unterkunft mit gutem Komfort sucht ist hier genau richtig. Das Zimmer ist sauber und praktisch eingerichtet und hat W-Lan . Wer es moderner mag sollte auf ein Tagungshotel umsteigen. Allerdings sind der Ort und die nette Umgebung eine Reise Wert.