Ratings based on 4,521 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

We were the unlucky ones

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Upon reading all the reviews, we (hubby, 2 yr old toddler, 2 month old infant) were excited for our first 2018 trip. Unfortunately, it turned out rather traumatizing for us. To cut the long story short, on our 2nd day after housekeeping - we found our bespoke laundry box was missing with our soiled clothes. Immediately, I alerted the housekeeping and after a call back quickly dismissed me and offered no help stating there was no box then transferred me to security. I was shocked and so was the security guy I spoke with. He politely transferred me to Aaron, the supervisor. After a few hours, no luck. They said they've tried their best and checked every dumpster as possible. This is already around 6pm, and I had to cancel my son's bday dinner reservations. We were so upset how it was handled. Aaron even assumed I was there to get compensated. We offered to go through the dumpster since we were the motivated ones and we were desperate. With Aaron's approval, we went through their dumpster and no luck. It was too late already so we went out to find something to eat and got home around 11pm with the kids. We were unable to sleep. The next day at 4pm we called the hotel and to our amazement they found the box so we got excited. As we got to the hotel around 11pm, the room reeked. As I opened the box, they included the soiled diapers with the missing items. Why?? I was crying and lost for words at this point. No apologies was given. I guess were the unlucky ones!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

Disappointing

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Hotel staff
Cons: Rooms need to be updated
Location: Location is attractive
We had planned to stay a week and checked out after one night. The hotel accommodation is in severe need of an update. Our room had broken fittings, dirty looking broken tiles in the bathroom, a room heater that didn't work, and overall looked as if it last was renovated 20 years ago. In contrast the hotel staff were helpful and provided a good service and the restaurant was fine
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Bahia Resort Hotel , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. Though we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff, we are sorry to hear that we were unable to exceed your expectations in regards to our accommodations. Providing quality guest service is our main priority and we apologize for this rare lapse in service. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back with an improved experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oange County, Ca

Nice hotel right on Mission Bay

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Convenient location, nice tropical setting, comfortable rooms, great on-site restaurant, very courteous and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel close to SeaWorld and the beaches

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Beautiful place, nice hotel staff and fast check in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountainview

Great location, beautiful scenery, bad wifi

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Cons: Wifi, slow and easy to lost connection
At mission bay's heart, walking distance to (5 - 15 min) to best beaches/restaurants/parks there. But wifi is too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tucson

Aging hotel on water

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: dining room staff
Cons: hotel needs updating
Location: near sea world
Dining room staff very friendly convenient to san diego
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waukee, IA

Not even close!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: We were glad to leave.
Cons: Update the rooms! Bathroom, kitchen, carpet, walls - all in very run down condition.
Location: Location was good. Balboa park, SeaWorld, great food nearby (but not on premises!)
This hotel looks gorgeous in pictures but in reality is very outdated, run down, in desperate need of renovations. Guests were loud and obnoxious. The carpet near the bathroom never dried out. Mold issues. Kitchen was horrible. Housekeeping did clean and change sheets and towels daily. Parking was a nightmare. Location was good. The restaurant on site was unfriendly and poor service. It was the only bad meal we had the entire trip. Think twice before booking here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Bahia Resort Hotel , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. Though we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our resort, we deeply apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. Providing comfortable accommodations is what we strive for, and we are sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back with an improved experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah

very well located and reasonable for what you pay

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Pros: nearest to the beach.
Cons: rooms
Location: very well located
restaurant and room in good order I will suggest to make and update to the buildings, rooms, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice resort; convenient location; great staff

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Pros: location, staff, café breakfast buffet, comfortable beds and pillows
Cons: sofas were very uncomfortable
Location: Belmont Amusement Park a mile away--the kids loved the wooden roller coaster and beach blaster; SD airport 20 minutes; Zoo 30 minutes; beaches nearby
I brought my kids (4) and grandkids (5) for a Christmas vacation together in San Diego. The Bahia Resort, though an older property, is well-maintained with lots of room options. We had three rooms, each with a kitchenette and separate bedroom. The beds and pillows were wonderful--we all slept well (except for one who had to use the sofa bed which wasn't so great). We ate at the café every morning where the buffet breakfast provided something for everyone--the quiche and Belgian waffles were especially good! It was apparent they had remodeled the rooms but had yet to replace the sofas which were not very comfortable. The location was close to many of the attractions we wanted to see though we did need rental cars to get all the places we wanted to go. All of the staff we interacted with were very gracious and eager to help with anything that was needed. During one day when both families went to yet another attraction, I opted to stay back and took advantage of a massage at the sister property, The Catamaran--that was wonderful! I would recommend this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The location is very good. The room was clean and the kitchen was well organized. But the room condition was a little bit old.