Ratings based on 4,332 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mission beach vacation

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Hotel is nice just older great location! Close to the zoo and old San Diego restaraunts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Lovely grounds and great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The grounds were beautifully kept and the bay views were stunning.
Very positive experience with the exception of our room smelling like cooked fish despite housekeeping's attempts to rid the odor. The carpet probably needs replacing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Perfect location!

Posted Oct 12, 2017
This is a wonderful family resort, especially if you have young kids. We stayed in a garden view room that opened to a tropical garden with a charming walkway, stream and friendly pet ducks. My daughter loved it! Our front door was aprox 100 metes from the ocean. I was pleasantly surprised at how close our room was to the beach. I’m definitely booking a beach front room next time so that I can loung on the beach from my own patio. Calmer water in the bay for young swimmers and paddle boards. The hotel and decor are older but well maintained and very clean. I enjoyed the laid back tropical ambiance of the place. Housekeeping did an awesome job even with all the sand. I felt the price was fair given direct access to the beach with free cabanas. Food on the pricey side but delicious. Plus, kids eat free in October, while we were there. Tons of other close food options in walking distance. I can’t say enough, we loved our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Nice beach resort.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Nice beach resort, lovely staff and wide range of facilities for guests. Rooms are a little dated and could benefit from modernisation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Great package

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Location was great. We eat at all the restaurants, food was very good. A great relaxing place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

clean and nice hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: location and comfortable king bed
Cons: stove could be updated.
stayed here 2 nights and despite the facilities being dated in decor, they were extremely comfortable and clean. We had a huge room with a little kitchenette and a water view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Resort complex well located with full facilities.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Location: Belmont Park, beach, bicycling, great outdoorsy things.
Very nice receptionist (Alex), upgraded us to bay view room which was very quiet. The room safe was locked and we requested it be opened and it never was. The hot water in the sink was turned off from below and I opened it up and then there was this terrible howling noise. Finally, the maid did not come and clean up our room the first night (I took back the tip). Despite this lack of attention, I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittier, CA

Beautiful hotel. Wonderful staff.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Great location, beautiful view from our room, parking right outside of our room, wonderful private beach with individual cabanas, friendly staff
Cons: Maybe faster Wifi, but not a major issue.
Location: Five minutes from SeaWorld, 2 minutes from Belmont Park, 10 minutes from Old Town.
I didn't want to give this hotel a good rating because I don't want anyone else to find this little paradise! But in truth, I loved this place. Staff was very friendly - I was greeted warmly by everyone - from the desk staff to housekeeper to groundskeeper - even the staff just riding in to work on their bicycles! Lounge chairs just outside in our little patio area, overlooking the bay. Parking right outside our door. The coffee in the room was good. Bed was very comfortable. Of all the places we've stayed in San Diego (about a dozen), this was our favorite. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Quiet hotel with a good location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
My mom and I recently stayed and had a really nice experience. When we checked in we asked for a beach access room instead of a beach view, which was really lovely. The room is very small, but comfortable enough. We very much enjoyed having our morning coffee on the porch with the ducks that would waddle up to us. We only ate breakfast at the Bahia Cafe, but it was delicious. We also had cocktails at the Tangier bar, and enjoyed their nice fire pit tables outside. The hotel is a good location, close to mission beach, and sea world. Also, a very easy drive to the Zoo and La Jolla. Overall, the hotel is on the older side, but it was comfortable and clean and we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great place to stay!

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Location, view, comfort of room were all great! The breakfast buffet was awesome, although a little expensive.