Ratings based on 1,432 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale

Disappointing stay in San Diego

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Room was very small, the "ocean view room" involved going to the sliding glass door and looking to the far right to see the ocean, you could hear everyone talking in the adjacent room and the garage was very tight when trying to park(despite having to pay $22/day extra for this).The staff was nice but the hotel is definitely dated. Location is the main selling point.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Jeff - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you, Tom, for providing such constructive feedback. We certainly thank you for addressing the challenges you were faced with, and we have to provide our utmost apologies. We will utilize the provided criteria for future development. Thanks so much and we hope you have a wonderful day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great stay...

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I visited for half business: half pleasure as I am writing an article about some little known, but cool, boutique hotels in Southern California and with out giving too much away, this was one of my absolute favorites! Staff was great, room was clean, great view, literally steps to the ocean and a great pool! Thabks blue sea beach hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bare minimum

Posted Aug 19, 2017
When a family with young children go on vacation they expect flexibility when room can be clean. There were two days when we were taking naps during room cleaning time and our room never got clean. Location perfect!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Jeff - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the constructive feedback. We thank you for taking the time to rate us accordingly. Due to the high volume of services our housekeeping department provides on a daily, we try our very best to accommodate to each and every one of our guests. For future reference, you can simple dial the front desk at any time during business hours to request immediate service. Thanks again for your time and we hope you have a wonderful day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minot, ND

Nice hotel perfect location to the beach

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The location was ideal for beach, exploration, and eating!! Hotel staff were friendly and helpful! Just be careful with ocean view rooms! We had one on the side that was more of a parking lot view than ocean view! Location was worth it and I'd recommend a poolside room over an ocean view room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Jeff - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you, Allison, for the wonderful feedback. We are so pleased to have provided you with a 5-star experience! We hope to have you back in the near future. Thanks again, have a wonderful day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Anselmo

damp smelling room, mattress needs replacement

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: lobby, friendly staff
Cons: either replace carpet or substitute with hardwood floors or the like given the beach location. replace mattress.
Location: good location, plenty to do at beach or bay
damp smelling room probably originates from carpet, kept sliding door open to tolerate but busy location=lots of noise. mattress needs replacement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Jeff - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you, Suzanne, for providing such constructive feedback regarding your most recent stay. We have to apologize for any inconveniences you were faced with during your stay. Your feedback is most important to us and will utilize this information for guest-satisfaction purposes. Thanks so much and we hope you have a wonderful day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice stay and great location

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Stayed for 6 nights with family. It is in a great location being close to restaurants and bars and general shops. The pool is in a nice location being opposite the beach with access to it. There are a couple of minor criticisms being 1) the rooms could do with a refresh as they are looking tired. For the money you would expect a little more 'wow'. Also the walls are thin and noise travels easily. That said it was mainly families staying so no late stay ups! 2). It would be useful for a towel pool policy to be used. Many times we saw towels reserve pool beds and no one on them for several hours whilst they obviously went off for breakfast somewhere. All in all a very pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Jeff - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you, Ian, for providing such constructive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to illustrate your experience. We do apologize for any inconveniences you were faced with during your stay. The points you have highlighted are extremely important to us, where we will certainly take a look further into these factors for future utilization. Thank you again and we hope to have you all back with us soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Birthday Gift for My Girlfriend....

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Closeness of the beach; hotel staff and housekeeping personnel
Cons: Can't think of anything....
Location: You are only a few yards away from the boardwalk and beach....the boardwalk provides lots of shops, eateries, and people.....
Knowing that my girlfriend loves the beach, her birthday was coming up, and her oldest son was visiting, I reserved two rooms: one for us, and one for her three sons. The big draw for me about this hotel was the location to the beach: leave our rooms, walk about thirty yards, cross the boardwalk, and "Hello" beach. The staff and housekeeping personnel were fantastic. A big "Thank You" to the staff for placing a bottle of wine in our room for my honey's birthday. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Jeff - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, Gary, for the wonderful feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you shared such a special stay with us, and that we were able to provide you all with a stay to cherish for life. We look forward to your next stay with us! Thanks again and we hope you have an amazing day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Posted Jul 28, 2017
The location of hotel is very convenient, the rooms have been remodeled and clean however the building itself with the other facilities especially hallways and elevators need updating. They also need drink or snack service at pool area for guest convenience. Overall a nice hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Jeff - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, Niki, for taking the time to provide such concise feedback regarding your most recent stay. We are so pleased to have provided with such a 'convenient' location. We appreciate the comments, and we will most certainly utilize this information in further strategies that would better our guests' needs. Thanks again, have a wonderful day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Right on the boardwalk

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach and restaurants
Cons: The pool was dirty, and so many people smoking marijuana in the parking lot next to the hotel had to keep the sliding door closed.
Location: Right on the boardwalk next to the beach
Right on the boardwalk / beach. Jeffrey at the front desk was amazing with information and advice on what to do. The pool was dirty, so my girls would not use it. We would have liked to keep our sliding door open in the evening to hear the ocean, but there were so many people smoking marijuana in the parking lot next to the hotel that the smoke would waft into our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Jeff - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, Karen, for illustrating such an amazing experience you had with us! We are so thrilled that you found our location to be phenomenal, not to mention our gratuitous service that we provided as a team. We do apologize for any inconveniences you were faced with during your stay, as we impose strict regulations and policies as per protocol. There is no doubt that we are so excited to have you all back! Have a wonderful day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Nice family hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
The staff was very nice. The only nice rooms were on the top two floors closest to the beach. The rooms and lobby were updated and clean. It was a bit noisy withthin walls and screaming small children on the second floor but the top floor was lovely. The barking dog on the pool level was annoying especially since the hotel doesn't allow pets. It was clearly not a service dog. It roamed freely off leash barking at guests and tinkling in the bushes. Staff were aware and walked right by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Jeff - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for illustrating your 5-star experience here at our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our staff and newly-renovated accommodations. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you dealt with during your stay. Thanks again and we hope to have you all back in the future!