Ratings based on 3,534 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Playa Vista

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: room maintenance and daily housekeeping
Too much noise from other rooms above us during one of the nights patio doors need repair our room was not clean for one day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nv

Close to beach

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: It was all good
Location: Near beach and restaurants
Catamaran is a great location. Close to the beach and bay and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Fantastic location, amenities, staff. Dated room

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Amenities, Location, Staff
Cons: Dated room (in the tower)
Everyone at the Catamaran Hotel was a pleasure to deal with. Oceana restaurant had incredible food, and the spa was amazing. Staff was friendly and helpful too. Only slight let-down was the room (tower) was a little dated, would request one of the other buildings for next time. Other than the dated room, definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN

Posted Nov 22, 2017
We had a couple maintenance issues but the staff showed up promptly and took care of them. All staff was so friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Tropical grounds

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Beautiful hotel, grounds is beautifully landscaped, turtles and tropical flowers everywhere, rooms have thin walls and windows, we were on the second floor of the tower and can hear people laughing or even walking outside, loud at night till 10:30ish. Our room was double queen room with mini kitchennete, i just hope the house keeper cleaned the dishes with soap as its not furnished. Everyone is helpful except the housekeepers who kinda looked at you hard when i asked for extra coffee other than the noise it’s beautiful and will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great location on Mission Bay

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Location was great. The grounds of the resort are beautiful
Cons: Less expensive parking.
Location: Restaurants/brewery/shopping withing walking distance. The resort is right on the beach on the bay. Pacific Ocean and boardwalk is not far.
We were in town for a wedding. This was midway between the airport and the wedding venue. Great location for us. Right in the heart of an eclectic neighborhood. We could walk out the the beach on the bay and walk around the neighborhood to eat and shop. Good food at the restaurants on site at the hotel. Parking was $25/day in their garage. Would probably NOT rent a car again. Probably just use Uber. Parking is definitely an issue around the San Diego area. They had colorful tropical birds that were put outside everyday and tiki torches lit at night. Beautiful landscaping around the resort. Great walking/biking trail right out the back of the resort that goes around the bay, VERY convenient. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rohnert Park, CA

Tropical Paradise in CA

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The birds!
Cons: The spa prices were a bit lofty for our taste.
Location: Walking, biking, eating, beach strolls, you name it...
There were many hotels to choose from and so glad we ended up at The Catamaran. Nice big room, best location (can walk to bay and ocean), great happy hour in Moray's, biggest whirlpool ever, accommodating staff, and gorgeous grounds. It felt like a tropical paradise without the humidity, can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Great Britain

Great Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: The Location is the main winner and the hotel itself is excellent
Cons: There was nothing that disappointed
Location: In pacific beach area 20 minute drive from airport and the same if heading into central San Diego. Lots of bars and restaurants close by
Fantastic location with mission beach and Pacific beach easily accessible by foot. The hotel is positioned in Pacific beach area with all amenities in walking distance. Well kept grounds within a safe and secure area with an outdoor swimming pool and hot pool
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Old, Not on Beach, Not in La Jola

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Staff, Lobby, Parking Lot
Cons: Hotel is in desperate need of a renovation.
Location: Local college kid/surfer shops and restaurants
Hotel is impressive looking in the lobby and would be ok if you are looking for an easy cheaper escape with kids. However, if you are a couple, or traveling for a business I would not recommend. It is a very old- think decor and items that are very 70s meets saved by the bell vibes. The bathroom light switch was a knob you have to twist, and would be too high for a child under the age of 8 to reach. The door was sticky and jammed shut. Every time we wanted to enter our room we had to push through the door with our entire body. We got a "garden view" aka a few bushes, the gate to the pool, and all the noise from kids in the pool. We had a welcome platter of food aka old looking fruit and hot cheese that had no ice/was not kept cold. Also know that the hotel is in Pacific Beach (where college kids/surfers hang out)- NOT La Jolla. It is about a 15 minute drive to La Jolla. The beach is on the front side of the hotel across the street and a few blocks down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great family hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location right on the bay.
Cons: Update the rooms in the tower. Do not charge for self parking.
Great location. Parking prices are steep. Pool is small but your right on beach. Oceana restaurant food was yummy ! We stayed int he tower and the rooms are dated and are in desperate need of updating. The staff was friendly. They have alot of options for water activities.