Ratings based on 3,429 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mendocino County

San Diego Gem

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location, grounds, amenities, views and service.
Cons: Food service at the pool, only provided on Saturday and Sunday.
Location: Walking distance to Ocean, restaurants and shopping. Sea World is also close by.
This resort is a tropical oasis, beautiful lush grounds. The bay and beach area are perfect for swimming, water boarding or just relaxing. A great pathway for biking, running or walking all the way to the ocean side. Nice pool and spa. Restaurants and staff are exceptional. We stayed in a studio tower room with an amazing view of the bay and ocean, room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. This is definitely my favorite spot to stay in San Diego. Returning soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belgrade, MT

Perfect location and awesome staff!

Posted Sep 24, 2017
We just spent 5 nights at the Catamaran and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The staff was beyond nice and the location was perfect. Ocean a block away on one side and the Bay on the other. We were very happy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Laid back resort

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the ocean, on site restaurant, laid back atmosphere.
Cons: The mini-fridge needed to be defrosted so maybe quick check by staff before room is occupied but no big deal
Location: Located in mission beach area just north of Seaworld. Midway museum, the zoo, old town, whatever your interests, tons of things to do.
Wanted hotel by beach even though visit was for seaworld, zoo etc. Never been to a resort type hotel so this was a change. Hotel staff was welcoming and helpful and the environment was a blast. Palm trees, fish ponds, inland sea/lake for on the water activities. From the Midwest so this was awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Not worth the cost

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The grounds of the hotel (pool and beach area were no great, ok --- pool bar was closed the entire time we were there), location, restaurant and spa were fantastic. I could see why people would visit, I absolutely enjoyed my half day spa retreat. However, the rooms at this resort are outdated and are definitely not worth the cost. Most resorts that I have stayed at for this price or more had a really nice room with included resort amenities. NOTHING was included in the cost of our stay but an overpriced room. We were not made to feel special even though it was our wedding anniversary and babymoon. I recommend getting your monies worth by staying somewhere else and visiting the hotel to take advantage of the restaurant or spa. For management, I recommend upgrading the rooms if you are going to charge what you are for them or at least include resort amenities and/or activities. Also, don't call it a garden view if it's actually a garage view. That was disappointing. If it's the off season and things have slowed down then lower your prices. What are we paying for? And always make your guest feel special. Ask what they are celebrating in case the note was missed and be sure to acknowledge it in some fashion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norco , calif

Peaceful

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I felt like I traveled to to Costa rica.. Great check in , lovely grounds , nice room with wonderful view. Loved the on-site Bar and Restaraunt.....very relaxing..... Location is excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sterling VA

Catamaran is nice

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Room was comfortable. Location was great and liked tropical look and feel.
Cons: Private beach chairs for guests. Drink special at pool.
Location: Lots of places to walk to for food and such.
Hotel is a bit dated, but they have gone to a lot of trouble to update and add amenities wherever possible, i.e. nice towels, robes, comfortable bed, etc. Thought beach was private but it was not, so was disappointed not getting one of the few beach chairs until late in the day. Obviously, have to get out there early to get chair. Pool was nice, but drinks and food a bit too expensive. Old style required using stairs with luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The hotel grounds are beautiful.
We went for our honeymoon and the girl who checked us in was so nice to check us in early upon arrival AND she got us a better room with a view of the bay. It was beautiful. The staff was kind and helpful and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Englewood FL

movin' on up

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: close to bay & beach; restaurants nearby; hotel restaurant good, but a little overpriced for dinner.
Cons: Menu choices at restaurant; gated entrance in back for car entry not always working
Location: Pacific Beach has a multitude of things to do.. plenty of bars & restaurants. Short travel to entertainment spots: SD Zoo, SeaWorld, & Old Town
wonderful staff on check-in; room upgraded without request; views from room fabulous; room was kept clean; there was a bad smell coming from kitchen sink...someone before us had dumped their food down the drain. The plugged drain was repaired on the 3rd day of stay...smell never subsided. comfortable bedding & seating area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but in need of room updates

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Had to change rooms after the first night because the carpet was wet and left a smell in the room. The rooms have bathrooms with only a sink pedestal so there's no counter space. The second room was much better but the closet doors were off track, the glass door to the balcony had obvious issues (the frame was separated from the glass), and noise travels easily from one room to the next (our last night, the neighboring room played loud music with their balcony door open at 11 pm). The best part of the hotel was Moray's Bar and the close proximity to the beach and pubs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Poor Man's Hawaiian vacation.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The old school feel.
Cons: Wifi in the rooms. There was no band on the riverboat as scheduled.
Location: Great beach restaurants are right across the street. La Jolla is just six miles away for great shopping and a look at some seals.
If you like a Polynesian setting, this place is perfect. The resort is meticulously landscaped with tropical flowers (hibiscus, orchids) and there are giant goldfish and parrots as well. We stayed from Monday (labor day) through Thursday. The hotel was very quiet. It seemed like some revelers were coming in on Friday morning so I can't speak to what it's like on the weekends. The Lava Java has excellent coffee and the food at the hotel restaurant (Oceania) is very good. With the pacific ocean right across the street, this is an ideal location. Hotel staff were always friendly and helped us to get taxi's quickly, when needed. The price we got on Expedia was very reasonable for such a nice place. Highly recommended.