Ratings based on 3,421 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norco , calif

Peaceful

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I felt like I traveled to to Costa rica.. Great check in , lovely grounds , nice room with wonderful view. Loved the on-site Bar and Restaraunt.....very relaxing..... Location is excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sterling VA

Catamaran is nice

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Room was comfortable. Location was great and liked tropical look and feel.
Cons: Private beach chairs for guests. Drink special at pool.
Location: Lots of places to walk to for food and such.
Hotel is a bit dated, but they have gone to a lot of trouble to update and add amenities wherever possible, i.e. nice towels, robes, comfortable bed, etc. Thought beach was private but it was not, so was disappointed not getting one of the few beach chairs until late in the day. Obviously, have to get out there early to get chair. Pool was nice, but drinks and food a bit too expensive. Old style required using stairs with luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The hotel grounds are beautiful.
We went for our honeymoon and the girl who checked us in was so nice to check us in early upon arrival AND she got us a better room with a view of the bay. It was beautiful. The staff was kind and helpful and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Englewood FL

movin' on up

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: close to bay & beach; restaurants nearby; hotel restaurant good, but a little overpriced for dinner.
Cons: Menu choices at restaurant; gated entrance in back for car entry not always working
Location: Pacific Beach has a multitude of things to do.. plenty of bars & restaurants. Short travel to entertainment spots: SD Zoo, SeaWorld, & Old Town
wonderful staff on check-in; room upgraded without request; views from room fabulous; room was kept clean; there was a bad smell coming from kitchen sink...someone before us had dumped their food down the drain. The plugged drain was repaired on the 3rd day of stay...smell never subsided. comfortable bedding & seating area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but in need of room updates

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Had to change rooms after the first night because the carpet was wet and left a smell in the room. The rooms have bathrooms with only a sink pedestal so there's no counter space. The second room was much better but the closet doors were off track, the glass door to the balcony had obvious issues (the frame was separated from the glass), and noise travels easily from one room to the next (our last night, the neighboring room played loud music with their balcony door open at 11 pm). The best part of the hotel was Moray's Bar and the close proximity to the beach and pubs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Poor Man's Hawaiian vacation.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The old school feel.
Cons: Wifi in the rooms. There was no band on the riverboat as scheduled.
Location: Great beach restaurants are right across the street. La Jolla is just six miles away for great shopping and a look at some seals.
If you like a Polynesian setting, this place is perfect. The resort is meticulously landscaped with tropical flowers (hibiscus, orchids) and there are giant goldfish and parrots as well. We stayed from Monday (labor day) through Thursday. The hotel was very quiet. It seemed like some revelers were coming in on Friday morning so I can't speak to what it's like on the weekends. The Lava Java has excellent coffee and the food at the hotel restaurant (Oceania) is very good. With the pacific ocean right across the street, this is an ideal location. Hotel staff were always friendly and helped us to get taxi's quickly, when needed. The price we got on Expedia was very reasonable for such a nice place. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littleton, CO

Great relaxing resort for a mini-vacay!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
This is an awesome hotel, great location too, only about 15 minutes from the airport, also close to Old Town San Diego (definitely go there)... we went to SeaWorld via the back way (no freeway), a 7 minute drive from the hotel, bought our tickets right at the hotel for significantly less than at the gate or even online! You really need to enjoy all the amenities this hotel offers. It feels like you are in Hawaii! They had a luau on the beach one night...You can enjoy a free boat cruise across the bay and back each night too! There is plenty to do right on the grounds--we enjoyed the lush gardens, great pool and hot tub with fun, live musical entertainment, loved seeing gorgeous flowers, tropical birds, and koi and ducks in the streams and ponds (ducks joined us in the pool too!) , we enjoyed the beach, rented paddle boards, kayaks, and also bikes--we rode around the bay on the sidewalk... there are lots of good restaurants within walking distance, even a Ralph's grocery store 2 blocks away for snacks and water. The ocean is just across the street, great walking beach, beautiful views and sunsets. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful here...they even stored a cake for us in their fridge for several hours so we could surprise our kids after dinner with it! Room was very clean, quiet, and very comfortable, nice views, large bathroom (although it had no fan??), and had a room safe and refrigerator out of the way in the large closet. Will definitely stay here again! 😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Renton, Wa

Decent hotel on the bay.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
We just spent a week here, and chose this place for the convenience to the bay and the ocean! It also has many shops, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance! We had a suite in the Tower, which was pretty spacious. What was disappointing was the old, small bathroom full of stains!! It also had no fan, which was miserable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location in San Diego. Amazing staff.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The location could not be better. Right between the bay and ocean. Beautiful beaches on the bay. Staff is amazing. Welcoming and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Great Location, clean room and friendly staff

Posted Sep 8, 2017
We arrived in SD on an early flight and got to the hotel at 9:30 AM. I was assuming, since it was Labor Day weekend, we would leave our luggage with the bell man and be room-less until later in the day, but to my surprise they had a room ready! The room was nice, but not great. We were in the main tower and had a partial ocean view. The kitchen came in handy as we walked 3 blocks to the grocery store and brought back food to store in the refrigerator and cook on the stove and oven. 5 minute walk to the ocean and a 2 minute walk to the bay, where we rented paddle boards. Overall it was a great stay! If i was to say anything negative it would be the size of the pool is a little small for the size of the property.