Ratings based on 1,178 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville Beach, Florida

Best pool in Jax & Partial Views are great!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
You're not likely to find the pool experience that the Hampton had to offer at any other hotel in Jacksonville. As for the view, we actually prefer the partial view rooms because most of the rooms offer an amazing view of the pool and the ocean- though you won't experience the sound of the ocean waves - the view itself is beautiful! Everything else about the hotel is fantastic as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fl

Very friendly staff and great location

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Pool
good breakfast and nice pool and very nice beach location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Jacksonville beach Hotel Was Amazing

Posted Aug 15, 2017
I had a wonderful stay...I will be back pool was great ...Right on the beach everything is close ....Nice people couldn't ask for more...I recommend...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great Stay

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Good times, would stay here again. Room and bathroom were nice. Staff was great too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great vacation hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, clean and friendly
Cons: It is a bit dated on the floors, but felt overall was excellent for the cost and convenience.
Location: Right on the beach, with pool and outdoor dining. Walk to nearby restaurants and everything from grocery store to movie theatre is very close.
Nice hotel that is close to the beach and other restaurants are a quick walk or car ride. The pool is fun and breakfast is a plus. The staff were very accommodating and the warm cookies were appreciated. It is a family hotel, so gets a bit loud at times, but generally to be expected with excited kids and guests. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dale City, VA

Ocean view

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: The view, pool and bar!
Location: Location was great, but not much close by to walk to for food or entertainment.
Hotel staff was great and room was good. The ocean/beach view was super! I enjoyed the balcony and sitting on the balcony and receiving the ocean air was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

room 734 smells like a musty basement

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The pool at this location was really nice, I would like to visit again w/ my kids. They would really love it.
Cons: Resolve the strong mildew smell in room #734. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay.
Location: If you're looking for tacos nearby; I'd highly recommend Jimmy Hula's. Or if seafood sparks your fancy, I'd def suggest Safe Harbor.
I paid for an oceanfront room but prior to my arrival I was informed my room would not be ready bc of a damaged ceiling, so I was relocated to a cheaper room overlooking the pool and I would be refunded the difference in price for that day. I checked in July 19th and as of today (July 24th) no credit has been added to my credit card. The next day on July 20th I was told my room was now ready, but once I entered my room I noticed a strong smell of mildew in the room. I informed the front desk of my dilemma and they sent someone to spray the room and ac unit w/ an air freshener. This was just a temporary fix bc after a few hours the smell returned. Again, I informed the front desk about the horrible smell in my room; this time, someone just sprayed the carpet w/ some kind of cleaner or something. Again, this was just a Band-Aid as the musty smell returned after a few hours. So, overall, I didn't rec'v the room I paid for but when I finally did it smell like a musty basement. The objective for this trip was to celebrate my wedding anniversary, and this was one to remember but for the wrong reasons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western NY

Great beach location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The location perfect - everything I wanted - beach, tiki bar outside with drink specials each day, lots of restaurants nearby, easy to get around. There's a beach buggy - golf cart that will take you to restaurants free, just tip them - I was alone or might have tried that. It was full of young families with kids, which I didn't expect, but it was summer vacation so it made sense. Having said that, it's a little worn but that's to be expected - they have a lot of traffic - my door swing lock was shaky but the deadbolt was fine. The room was nice and very clean. AC was not adjustable and was very cold - but they probably need to keep it that way because of the moist air - the ocean is right there. Indoor staff excellent - bar/restaurant staff so so - adequate but lax and only interested in talking to locals - starting to close up shop early so you felt guilty ordering anything. I arrived 8:30 pm starving - front desk said restaurant open till 9 - order something right now and take to your room - I was exhausted. The young lady at restaurant was hurriedly putting things away to close and I said I was told you're open till 9 - she said "well, 8:30 or 9" - begrudgingly sold me a sandwich. Next day I asked tiki bartender about "top 10 seafood restaurants" in town list that I found on web, and she said "yep" - no interest in helping me. I had no idea and didn't want to drive around so I skipped it. That stuff makes or breaks it for me. Handy chair/umbrella rentals next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel on beach.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Always stay here when visiting our son. Great location. Great staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air conditioning was not working by the third day.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: See above
Beds also uncomfortable with a sheet and one very heavy duvet (too hot to sleep under!) shower very slippery---no grips or mat. You might get sued after someone slipping in shower, Hampton Inn! Very rude how we were forced out of breakfast at 10am. That's NOT how to treat guests!