Ratings based on 2,182 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palo alto, california

Beautiful hotel with ocean views, but understaffed

Posted Sep 19, 2017
This hotel was beautiful, gorgeous views of the ocean, clean, very comfortable bed, and the food in the on-site restaurant was outstanding. Downsides: the restaurant was understaffed-- they never brought us silverware or napkins even after serving our meals and a repeat request. I had to search the dining area and take them from another table. It took about 45 minutes from the time we ordered until we were served. I had to hunt down a coffee carafe in the service area to get a refill of coffee. I was also dismayed to discover that although the hotel overlooked the beach, you couldn't get to it because of the golf courses. You had to drive to get to a beach access area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great location and beautiful views

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Hotel is fine except that your room costs $65 a day more than you think because of fees and parking The really odd thing is that while housekeeping did a nice job and we topped every day, we always had no towels or no soap or no shampoo or no tissues. Strange.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus

Filthy Air Filter

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Nice central location Beautiful golf course Room service and dining facilities were a plus Neil was incredible!
Cons: Daily parking fee of $30 Daily Resort fee of $25 Lots of children during our stay making the pool not enjoyable Hallways were stuffy - not well vented
Location: Torrey Pines La Jolla Cove Short drive to Coronado Island
Upon arrival, I immediately noticed I was having allergies due to something in the hotel room. I brushed it off for a day or two only for the symptoms to worsen. I had maintenance come take a look at the air filter, thinking that may be the culprit, and boy was I right. I have never seen a more filthy air filter in my life. The worst part, was the bed was RIGHT next to it blowing all of that filter air right into my lungs as I lie asleep each night. If you notice any breathing discomfort or stuffiness, I recommend having the filter checked. I am extremely ill after my 5 day stay (3 days were with the dirty filter) and am suffering the consequences. Note: The issue was handled appropriately by staff. Other than that, here is some general feedback: Pros - Nice central location: Highly recommend La Jolla Beautiful golf course Room service and dining facilities were a plus "free" daily coffee (included in daily resort fee) Neil at the front desk was a ROCKSTAR Convenient shop on premise for anything you may have forgotten Cons - Daily parking fee of $30 Daily Resort fee of $25 Lots of children during our stay making the pool not enjoyable Hallways were stuffy and not well ventilated Bed was hard and uncomfortable - they don't use comforters, but a brown blanket wedged between two sheets. Also, no fitted sheets. Yet another regular sheet. Couldn't get the air down below 72 degrees the whole stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, Arizona

Beautiful view and golf grounds

Posted Aug 27, 2017
I loved our experience here it was very clean and all the staff was nice. They had complimentary water bottles in room and each day there they gave you a voucher for a coffee at the coffee bar and a drink at the actual bar for free. The rooms were lovely the beds could've been a bit softer but not terrible at all. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a great location near activities.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Very nice looking hotel with beach and golf course near by. Pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlant, GA

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Location: Tis hotel is isolated.
This hotel is isolated leaving hotel restaurants as the only option at meal time. Also, they charge $25 per day for their spa whether used or not.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

wouldn't recommend it

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The outdoor and common areas are nice but the rooms are full of spiders and ticks. When I reported it to housekeeping, they said they were going to take care of it but they didn't and when I reported it to reception they treated us like we were lying. The worst is their accounting!!!!! They asked me 3 times for my credit card and kept saying they didn't have a form of payment from me so they decided to arbitrarily charge everything to my sister who was traveling with me at separate rooms and bills. That's not good at all. They almost ruined her vacation while we sorted out everything with her bank, my bank, and then the hotel. I ended paying her directly so she wouldn't be without money those days. Bad bad experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland or

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Dirty hotel, lack sufficient towels, etc. Services were poor. Limited eating options. Staff not friendly. Location great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Love the hotel , very nice area that is close to the beach. Although, i didnt like that it had some fees to park . They charge 30 dollars per day to park and asked for 100 dollars per day as a deposit . Besides that everything was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Great location and good servoce

Posted Aug 18, 2017
This hotel has an stunning view out over the legendary Torrey Pines golf course and the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is well appointed and the room was quite comfortable. This hotel is a great option if you are on vacation and playing at the course. Cost was about half of that at the Lodge at Torrey Pines and it is literally right next door. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return if we visit the area