Ratings based on 1,798 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Food was expensive, But good. room was okay, but you had to walk up the steps, to get to the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

active travelers or leisurely vacationers

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Our stay here went really well. The property is beautiful, full of great amenities and it has amazing waterfront views. The rooms were clean, the decor was lovely, beds and chairs were comfortable and additionally the room was stocked with complimentary bathroom products. We reserved the two queens and it had a mini fridge, coffee maker, closet, and a large work desk. Boat rentals, great customer service and beautiful atmosphere is why we would go back, but the secondary charges were a little much for me to accept. This property charges a decent room rate to start then charges a resort fee of $30 and a daily parking fee of $38 while never offering a complimentary bottle of water for that coffee maker. However, when we were checking out, our representative did extend us three complimentary continental breakfasts for me and my two guests that offered two menu items which consisted of several breads, yogurts, fruit, plus a coffee and orange juice or the option of dining in the eatery. That wasn't something she had to do considering we had already paid and were leaving the property. Dining by the water, playing beach volleyball, making a bonfire in the already-made cement fire pits as the sun sets can make for a beautiful vacation, if you can tolerate the additional charges.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Nice hotel but additional charges apply beware.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Beach access and garden patio access.
Cons: unknown added fees should be noted when booking. provide total charges up front so we can decide prior to booking if a stay is worth it at the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay and love the pool and beach access. Disappointed about the high priced resort and parking fee. Also didn't understand what the additional city tax charges were for. Overall, paid over $200 in just additional fees. A bit too much in my opinion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Well on the internet hotel looks amazing but once there place looks like it can use some fresh paint ouside and inside overall some upgrades. The staff is friendly and helpful, The building and area is clean but the room had a funky smell maybe carpet? overall experience I rate good and 1-5 I rate 3.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Needs a face lift

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The grounds are nice, but the hotel is dated.. They need some new furniture in the rooms, the washrooms need to be renovated, better lighting is required in the rooms. The staff was a bit slow at times. Our room service breakfast came twenty minutes late both days. We waited half an hour for a bellboy on the day we left. The on site restaurant has great food, but the service was slow. Our food and drinks took too long to come.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Skip it

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Location is awesome. The hotel is older and definitely not a resort. Older building in need of maintenance. Our room had an entrance from the outside, no hallway. The refrigerator had two settings; off or frozen. They charge $38 a day to park a vehicle. The nicest part of the hotel was the spa. We will not return. We checked out early and went to a different hotel downtown which was nicer and cheaper. They added a meeting room in the parking lot so now you have the need for more cars and fewer spots available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plrtland

Everything is old in room Wi-Fi doesn't work

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Everything is old in room Wi-Fi doesn't work Carpet nerds shoompu No e view of fireworks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hallways

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Friday night a family fed their children pizza and let them run wild in the lobby around 11pm. Saturday night a group of young adults partied in the lobby until midnight. The rooms are very dated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very kid friendly....

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: cleaneliness, amenities
Cons: fix the showers!!! and less kids
For the price it could have been better. There is no way to avoid nightly parking fee as there is nowhere on the streets outside to park, like you can do in Gaslamp. I had to call front desk 2! times and wait for 30!!! minutes for someone to come show me how to turn on the shower!!! It's ridiculous. After taking the shower, we couldn't turn the knob all the way off so the water kept dripping all night. Very annoying. Cannot believe that for the price they charge, no one can fix the showers. Cafe is very relaxing and peaceful for brunch, but overpriced
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deceiving

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Hotel staff was very professional and friendly, pool area is gorgeous and very relaxing. On first entry into our room it was very musty smelling and looked nothing like the Internet photos. Very dated. Drinks at the pool bar were $14 a piece, and on the weekend when we were there they hold an open day pass and the pool is full of splashing children, they even bring rafts. On exit a surprise $400 charge showed up on my card for a "resort fee" and "self parking " fee. So whatever price they quote you, add $400. Very deceiving and disappointed. We won't stay here again.