Ratings based on 710 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Best option for the price. Free breakfast (eggs and pancakes included) and spacious rooms. Very close to beach, shopping, food and grocery. We visit annually and always stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Location: The location was perfect and the main reason we stayed there
The bathroom had a very strong smell and the shower leaked
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Del Mar, CA

They stole my credit credit card information

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Paid for the room through Expedia, then they told me they had multiple cards on file for me and I had to come to the front desk to sort out the situation (I hadn't stayed there before and only used the one card, so this is obviously where I got played.) They said there must've been a mix up, removed the other cards, and then had me swipe my card to pay the $3 Peking fee. Next day my card was charged a random $348.62, and though i was seeing the charge being from the hotel and the total amount, they deigned it up and down and got very mean and unfriendly about it. Will not stay here ever ever again, nor will I stay at another holiday inn ever again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Austarlia

Location was suitable for my requirements Location

Posted May 28, 2017
Cons: Hotel was in need of an upgrade, however I did notice work was in progress possibly and ongoing project.
Location: Beach and shopping for my requirements and the Solana Beach train station was in within walking distance.
Friendly staff always available to assist and a 1 hour extension of check out was available at no cost
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix

dump dismal in paradise

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: del mar
Cons: needs bulldozer
Location: best in California beach
not good facility is grim a shame given the location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for a short stay

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Close to ocean
Cons: Maintenance
Location: I was there for work. But it is close to the beach, so that is a great feature.
Cable television did not work. I called the desk and they said they would send someone. No one ever showed up.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Brenda , Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our maintainance department to make sure this does not happen again. Thank you again for your business and we hope that we can have you stay with us again. Sincerely, Brenda Guerrero GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland, uk.

Convenient yet quiet

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Hotel is a bit tired in places but the organisation is good, cleanliness in our experience is a high priority, garage parking is good and affordable.
Cons: Think most areas are already well managed within the constraints of an older building
Location: Location is good for beach, restuarants and train to San Diego if wanted.
Have stayed here previously and we findthe facilities, breakfast and general lay out of the hotel along with proximity to the beach and local eating places absolutely fine for our needs. The staff are always pleasant and helpful and the self service breakfast area is well managed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Normally travel to the area for business and select other hotels. But I stayed here in a pinch and was pleasantly surprised. Great staff and rooms were clean.
4 out of 5
by Shaun

The Policy is the Problem

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
First off, I'll say the hotel and area are fine. No issues there. The issues I have are with the policies of the hotel and Hotels.com. I had mistakenly booked the wrong date for my stay. I booked the room for one week later than I was supposed (totally my fault). When we arrived at the hotel, they obviously didn't have our reservation on file because I had in fact reserved a room for the wrong date. My reservation was book for the following week. I'll note that my reservation was booked through hotels.com. Fortunately for us, they had one room available when we showed, so we went ahead and booked the room on-premises with the front desk staff. I figured I would resolve the hotels.com issue after the stay. After our stay at this hotel, I contacted hotels.com and explained to the agent, that mistakenly booked the wrong date, showed up to hotel and paid for my stay directly with the hotel, even though I had already prepaid for the same room through the hotels.com site for the wrong day. The agent was unable to credit me or refund me because the property had a non-refundable policy. Even though I paid for the same room twice now (one on-premises & once on hotels.com), neither hotel itself or hotels.com would honor a credit or refund. Each one blamed the other as the reason they couldn't offer a resolution. It's unfortunate that neither party could assist us, even though I take full responsibility for the initial problem to begin with. I'm just stuck with the bill...twice.
5 out of 5
by Lawrence

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Jose, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Brenda Guerrero GM