Ratings based on 1,347 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Awesome hotel in La Jolla!

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We stayed for one night at this great hotel in La Jolla! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with an ocean view. The bed was amazing soft and comfortable. They have a fun top floor restaurant and bar that was great for drinks and light snacks. And it's only about 10 minute walking distance to the beautiful La Jolla beach. The small main street to get to the beach has all kinds of great shops, coffee places, restaurants, etc. So cute! I can't wait to stay again. Thank you Hotel La Jolla!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Tiani, Hotel Management
Sarah, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed you're stay with us at Hotel La Jolla! We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Attractive nice sized room. The staff on the front desk were always polite, informative and friendly. My only complaint was the 37 dollar per night valet parking. There is free street parking available just around the corner from the hotel but nobody tells you that at check in. I only discovered this information when I read about it in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

eeehhhhh

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Got to the hotel for checking. Ordered a room with ocean view king bed. They put me on the 6th floor with a view of the trees. I had to contact the front desk and go back for a room with a ocean view like I paid for. Don’t be fooled this place is far from the water you need to be on the top floor to see it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Staff were the greatest. Hotel was lovely. Location was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Great location and nice staff! Will definitely book the hotel again when I return for visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Great looking modern decor, comfortable room and bed and a helpful friendly staff. The restaurant/bar is on the top floor with beautiful views and good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pleasant stay at La Jolla, overall the rooms aren’t fantastic but the staff makes up for it. Hannah on the front desk and Elizabeth the concierge went above and beyond to accommodate me. Rooms are a bit dated but the staff friendliness made up for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Close To Restaurants,Quiet Area. Friendly Helpful Staff.
Cons: The Beds Could Be A Little Higher.
Location: Friendly,Helpful Staff,Close To Restaurants,Quiet Area,
Hotel Is Very Nice. Numerous Restaurants With In A Five Minute Walk Of The Hotel. There Are Also Many Restaurants Within A 7 Minute Drive To Downtown LA Jolla. Overall The Room Was Very Nice. The Beds Are Very Low To The Floor,Not Normal Height For A Bed. The Refrigerator Is In The Dresser. It Looks Like A Normal Dresser But One Side Opens Up Like A Door Where The refrigerator Is. The Other Side Of The Dresser Is A Normal Dresser With Draws. The Shower Has A Ceiling To Floor Window Which Looks Into The Bed Area. There Is A Switch In The Bathroom Which Will Lower A Shade For Privacy. The Room Has a Balcony With Chairs. Overall The Room Is Very Nice. There Is Only Valet Parking Available Which Cost $37 Dollars A Day. There Is a Starbucks And Subway At The Shell Station Next To The Hotel. The Hotel Has A Restaurant,Bar And A Heated Pool. The Area Is Very Nice And Quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great view.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Amazing view.
Cons: Clean up the walls!! Do NOT call with "package deals" so early in the morning. Better yet - DO NOT CALL.
Location: Very very convenient for UCSD.
Wonderful view. Expensive, ok, restaurant. Front desk called to SELL us a package at 8:00am. Wallpaper didn't match. Water stain on wall. For the price - - these things should have been fixed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff Needs Training, Bathrooms Need Maintenance

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom maintenance, front desk welcoming/attitudes.
Location: It's pretty boring, but you can go swimming/surfing/kayaking at the nearest beach.
Upon arriving, the property's exterior is clearly dated, though well maintained. Enter into the lobby, where the front desk clerk, though not overtly rude, was not particularly nice. In as few words as possible, he gave me my room key and sent me up. Which is fine, but not particularly hospitable. The beds were nice. The room was small but also fine. Nothing monumental. The bathroom needs some updating. The drywall in the shower (which is only 6 feet tall for some reason) is clearly peeling apart, and the water pressure from the shower head was fairly terrible. Noise travels well. Expect to hear you neighbors, delivery trucks, hotel staff, and loud cars all night long. Overall a very mediocre experience, at above average prices. Save yourself some money next time and stay at the Holiday Inn.