Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pass on this

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Noting
Cons: Training and update needed.
Location: unknown and map was of other area of town from office that was given
Would not allow me into room that was prepaid to use rest room and they ad no public restroom in office. Check in girl was terrible and no trained. Rom was very small and motel or hotel is very old and needs updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that the experience did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with a pleasant stay and friendly helpful service, and we are disheartened to learn that this was not what you encountered. We apologize for not having a bathroom available at the time of your arrival. We will discuss better ways to address this issue with our staff members. If in the future you plan another trip to San Diego, we would love the opportunity to provide you with a stay that better reflects our usual standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport and cheap

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Major challenge with parking. Not enough spots and nearby street parking restricted. Fine for overnight.n
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your input regarding your recent stay with us. We're happy our proximity to the airport was convenient. However, we truly regret any difficulty you experienced with parking. That being said, we're glad you found your overall experience, as well as our reasonable rates, to have been satisfactory. We thank you for your feedback and wish you safe and happy travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Overnight Stay

Posted Sep 16, 2017
I was in San Diego for a specific purpose so the room met my needs. Location was perfect. Parking was a bit funky but I had no real issues. I'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, We would love to see you back again and are glad you were pleased with the location. We apologize for any confusion with the parking but are glad you were able to figure it out. Our goal is to deliver a comfortable and worthwhile stay for all of our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back and improving upon your previous experience. Thank you for the valuable feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Running Springs, CA

Small room-Not enough Parking

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Nice location- near the harbor.
Cons: Parking!
Location: Near the harbor- restaurants and shopping nearby.
We needed a room for one night and didn't want to spend too much. We booked this hotel because of its location and based on the photos. The room was VERY small, but clean. It had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, but no hair dryer (we found out later they are available from the front desk, but there is no way to know that). When we arrived, around 6 P.M., we had to park in front of the dumpster as it was the only space available. There were even a couple of cars double parked. After check-in we wanted to go out to dinner and drove to Little Italy. When we returned around 9 there was no parking in the hotel's lot. We managed to find a spot on the street nearby. Not happy to be street parking, but it was a good area so we weren't upset. We needed something at the store, so back in the car. We returned 15 minutes later and the spot we had on the street was gone and there were still no spots in the lot. We spoke to the person at the desk and they apologized. Their only remedy was to have us park at their sister property a couple of blocks away. It was across the highway and we did not feel comfortable walking that far, at night, in an area we didn't know. I drove around for 10-15 minutes looking for parking with no luck until I found a spot on the next street from the hotel. We counted- the hotel has 19 rooms and 12 parking spots. This is an ongoing problem without a solution. We complained about the situation and the management gave us a 25% discount.
5 out of 5
by Darrin

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, parking is a little difficult but overall experience was great. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017
Dear Darrin, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay. We're thrilled that you had a great visit and that we could make up for the difficult parking experience in other ways! We can't wait for your next stay at the Hotel Point Loma!
4 out of 5
by Beth

Laid Back and Rustic in Point Loma

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent staff; hotel bed was too hard, but that's a "me" problem. It was a large room, walking distance to several things of interest to me. Limited parking, though I was lucky and always got a spot; no hair dryer in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017
Dear Beth, Thank you for being our guest at the Hotel Point Loma during your visit to San Diego. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our excellent staff and the proximity of our hotel to many points of interest in the area. Thank you for the feedback regarding the parking lot and hair dryer. Our team hopes that if your travels bring you back to San Diego, you will choose to stay with us again. We would be happy to have you back, and thanks so much for the positive review!
2 out of 5
by Grant

Poor front desk/customer service.

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk service was poor. Room key didn't work on 2nd and front desk staff said they didn't show me registered in the room...this was after my first nights stay and all my things were still in the room. Took them nearly an hour to straighten things out and allow me back in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017
Dear Grant, Please accept our sincerest apologies for the miscommunication and hassle regarding your reservation. You deserved better than to be inconveniently locked out of your room. We hope that despite that shortcoming you were able to relax and have a good stay with us here in San Diego. Please let us make it up to you for our error with another visit that meets and exceeds your expectations. We look forward to it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem that is CLEAN and up to date

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
We love the Ocean Beach community near Point Loma, so this was a low-cost option to be near OB which can get pricey. As we pulled in to Hotel Point Loma it looked a bit "iffy" because it was near the back way to the Sports Arena which looks a bit scary. However! Hotel Point Loma was one of the CLEANEST hotels I have ever stayed in! I cannot express how happy I was (neat freak) with the physical condition and cleanliness provided by the staff. Cute little room with small kitchenette at a steal of a price. Quick snacks are walking distance at the Liquor Store or fast food chain. Independent coffee bar is a quick walk, too, support local! Close to Liberty Station and a 3 minute drive to Ocean Beach Pier. We found our new spot. Only minus for me was the soft bed, but I am a firm type so my argument does not hold much weight. Stay at this place for a clean, inexpensive weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
What a pleasure it is to read your review! We're delighted to have exceeded your expectations on all fronts, from our impeccable cleanliness to our great location and affordable price. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room so much, and it's a privilege to have been a part of your visit to Ocean Beach. Thank you for your kind compliments, and we look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pasadena, ca

Nicely Upgraded

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Have stayed at this hotel many times in the past. I had actually stopped staying there because of the deteriorating conditions of the place. I am happy to say that things have been cleaned up. Water pressure in the shower has been improved and new fixtures put into place. Nice beds and big screen tvs. Everything is clean and the staff have always been very cordial and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about our renovations. We appreciate your continued patronage and are thrilled to have you back as a regular guest! It is great to know that you are impressed with the improvements that we have made to our bedding, bathrooms and entertainment features but even more so that you have found continuity in our fantastic customer care! We look forward to having you back to Hotel Point Loma again very soon!
3 out of 5
by Vicente M.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels