Ratings based on 1,419 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: The location is good
They charge for parking, but the lot is too small to accommodate all the guests. We had to find street parking. Also the bathroom doesn't have a fan, so the ceiling has mold above the shower.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hold on to your Purse!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The location and room was actually quite nice, however my purse and wallet were stolen. I mistakenly left my purse in my room at checkout on Sunday. I had placed it on a chair and slid it under the table because they didn't have a safe. I realized I had left my purse and called, the woman who answered the phone told me nothing had been turned in by housekeeping. She actually said, "uh sorry" and "goodbye"! I called back asked for the manager and they sent me to his voicemail where I left a detailed message including, dates of stay, room number, name, phone number. He never even bothered to call me back. I never imagined that when I called it would not have been turned in. They know who serviced my room after checkout. They didn't even feel that I deserved a call back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, BC, Canada

Great economy hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Easy access to all that the town has to offer.
Cons: be nice if they offered a continental breakfast.
Location: great location. Easy access to beaches, bus routes, and resturants.
This was a great place to stay in La Jolla. Staff friendly and catered to our needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok..

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Love La Jolla and the hotel was the perfect distance to everything. However for the rate we pay I expected to have a working shower. The bathtub clogged twice. Really gross showering after someone else and having the water filled up just a little below the knees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Family-Friendly & Fun

Posted Sep 15, 2017
This was such a great location where you could walk to many restaurants and a wonderful outdoor playground. My kids loved it! The staff was very accommodating and friendly. My toddler accidentally dialed 911 one night when we first checked in before I could get the phone unplugged and the night manager was super gracious and understanding about it. The view from the ocean-view balcony was definitely worth the extra price. This is our new go-to destination in San Diego/La Jolla. We will be back as often as we can afford to. :) :) :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson, WI

Walk to shopping and restaurants

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Second time staying here. Love the ability to walk to shops, restaurants and beach. Clean. Friendly staff. Nice gym across the street to workout. The smoothie place across the street is very good and healthy. Noisy at times on the street side but just when once/day they were moving cars for a fancy car rental. Didn't last long but was annoying. Need to do something about view of roof above foyer. From our room we could see it and it was a missed opportunity for hotel to do landscaping. I would give this hotel an A-. Minus for the cars being relocated by the business across the street and the view above the foyer roof. Pool area was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very well situated in the center of town and quiet and affordable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Az

Great location next to beach, restaurants, and sho

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Greeted warmly by the staff who were very helpful & informative. Told us about their restaurant, gym across the parking with additional parking, and even asked if we'd like an upgrade for an ocean view. Fresh, shiny apples & newspapers are left outfor the guests to take. They also serve fresh hot or iced coffee out in the lobby twice a day. Room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. Our two queen bed room by the pool included a tv & refrigerator. Iron & blowdryer are in the closet, if needed. Lovely location for a walk to the restaurants, shops and beach nearby. Can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room allocated had a very strong urine smell.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness of room
Location: restaurants and shopping
Extremely Strong urine smell in room. Advised front desk at same time another guest had same complaint. Moved to another room Did not leave a very good first impression.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Three blocks from the beach!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Was recommended to me, and I'll pass that on! Excellent location for dinning - perfect for a walk to the beach! I'll be back that's for sure!!