Ratings based on 1,233 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amman jordan

Amazing seafront property

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The place is Ola but kept fairly well. The location is most amazing next to the sea lions habitat. Close to all the unique shops and restaurants. Most beautiful location unforgettable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glendale, AZ

No A/C

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: the location is right across from the beach
Cons: too much to list
I was disappointed to learn that only some of the rooms at this facility have air conditioning. The room was muggy and hot and I requested a refund because there were no available rooms with a/c. I understand how this would be okay most of the year, but there should have been a note to inform the consumer before booking this room. In my opinion, a/c in La Jolla should be a given - this is not a 3rd world country.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: front desk staff was very nice and accommodating
Cons: the outside of the hotel does not look amazing, but my room was very nice
Location: across from the ocean and 2 min walk to the sealions where there is a small beach and you can swim with them
Was great overall. Great location and kind staff. Outside of hotel is not the greatest, but room was very nice and can't beat the location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

great location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location
This hotel is older and does need some upgrading, lots of stairs to access rooms, pool, breakfast etc.. if you are OK with walking and stairs they should not be a problem for you. That being said: the staff was great, very responsive and always friendly and helpful. Super nice rooftop area for relaxing and/or breakfast with an unbelievable view. The location can not be beat. I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by AGM at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Billings, Montana

nice near beach but the smell was horrible.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: only the view.
Cons: update your rooms. Mold is a health hazard. I have breathing issues and it made it worse. Don't allow smoking on patios.
Location: sadly resteraunts were packed early and could not get a place to eat. Ordered in pizza with over hour and half wait time.
smell outside was so bad. Never stay here again. next time Coronado is where we are going or elsewhere. For the money we paid it was outragious!!!Not what the pictures show. Water damage on ceiling. Mold in vents and carpet was not good. Bathroom needs updating as tiles were bad, shower was not clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Nice View Bad Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The view and easy access to the beach.
Cons: Everything inside the room. Investment in AC IN ALL THE ROOMS IS A START.
Location: Location was nice. Everything is near by.
The hotel was recently remodeled since the last time we were there. I figured I would give it a 2nd shot however, they did a quick remodel. No really updates beside the room wall paint and new cheap bathroom counter tops. Pretty much it was a bad hotel experience. They had mold and rust growing in the bathroom and the room had a musty smell. The worst was that they had no AC, just a small and I mean small crapy fan that was better to leave off because it made a lot of noise and produced hardly any air. The room we stayed at was on the 3rd floor and you could hear all the noises from the 4th floor and 2nd floor. Overall I don't think I will stay there again. The only good thing they have going is the ocean view and easy access to the beach. Overall for the $200 I paid a night for the room on Labor Day weekend it is noth worth it. I would recommend another place to stay. P.s. we asked for a new fan at the check in office and the guy said he would get us a new one. We never heard from him again nor a new fan for the room, poor customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by AGM at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St George, Ut

La Jolla Cove

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location location location
Cons: Check in time is a little late
Location: You can't beat the sea life At your footsteps
La Jolla Cove suites was awesome I was pleasantly surprised after the good and bad reviews. we had an incredible suite with an incredible view....I would totally recommend this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by AGM at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

hot hot hot

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The views from the rooftop deck were nice.
Cons: They should install air conditioners.
Location: La Jolla is very hilly but there are multiple restaurants within a short distance of the hotel and there seemed to be ample shopping available.
The rooms were tiny. Smallest bathroom I have ever seen. San Diego was having a heat wave and this hotel does not have air conditioning. They did provide a fan which circulated the hot air nicely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by SS, Hotel Management
Dear Joel, we have a variety of room types to choose from economy to our deluxe rooms that do offer air conditioning. We sincerely apologize that not all our rooms have AC yet. We hope next time we will have one of our deluxe suites available for you to enjoy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Proximity to cove its best point

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Close to the ocean, not a bad free breakfast.
Cons: I don't know...knock it down and start over? The land its sitting on must be pretty valuable.
Location: La Jolla Cove, Children's Pool, sea lions, shopping in La Jolla
This is definitely a hotel from the '50s (or earlier?) that has had a minor cosmetic upgrade at some point to make it seem hip. It didn't work. A few pieces of cool furniture will not fool anyone. With rooms opening onto open-air, cinder-block hallways (which I was not expecting), made the security level of the hotel effectively zero. As a single woman travelling with one child, I did not feel safe at all and even pushed a chair in front of the door before going to bed. Also, the photos of the rooms and outdoor spaces were extremely misleading. Do not believe the photos. The rooms were grungy, with the tub reglazing peeling off badly in the two rooms we rented. When we arrived our first night, there was an extremely loud wedding taking place on the rooftop. It didn't really carry on past 10 pm, but it would have been nice to have been told this was booked. We travelled through southern California and stayed at six different hotels during that time. This hotel was the worst of them and the worst I've stayed at, I think, ever. Oh no, there was a terrible place in Baltimore with cockroaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for all of your feedback. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Great location and close to the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This place was right across from the ocean! The views were amazing and it was conviently located by many great restaurants, the beach and a great park. The free breakfast was yummy and we got to enjoy the view while we ate at the top of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by AGM at La Jolla Cove Hotel and Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review. We always enjoy hearing our guest feedback.