Ratings based on 1,726 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin texas

Close to the beach, good area

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We had so much fun, it was quiet and the area is superb. It is RIGHT on the beach, we will be back!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria

Good location, but rooms are only ok.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Bathrooms are dated. There is a fair amount of noise in the side street and in the pool area, which all the rooms overlook.
The La Jolla Shores hotel is in a good location, but the rooms are only average. Bathrooms are dated, and some of them have carpeting rather than tile in the sink area. We had to move to a different room because the shower-bathtub would not drain properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County

Charming Beach Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, access to the beach, walking distance to restaurants and affordable.
Cons: Room / bathroom could use an upgrade. I would have liked the curtains to open in the same direction as the patio door to get fresh air at night.
Location: Right on the beach. Close to good restaurants and stores. Easy drive to downtown La Jolla. They also have shuttle service.
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was amazing and the access to the beach awesome. They bring you chairs, towels & an umbrella to the beach. The restaurant is great too, good food and a view of the beach. A great way to start the day having breakfast and looking out on the ocean. The hotel is dated and could use a little TLC in the rooms, but they were clean and comfortable. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Beautiful, charming and quiet gem on the beach!! We loved our stay and wished it was longer. Enjoyed the beachside restaurant with amazing views as well:). I can't wait to come back and stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Wonderful experience, would recommend to my friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Perfect location with excellent staff. Walk out to the beach, surf it up. Good restaurant and bar, walking distance to many boutiques and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant

Posted Sep 30, 2017
We stayed at the hotel in September and it was very nice! We felt like home !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse NY

Not as pictured

Posted Sep 30, 2017
For a "double queen deluxe beachfront" room and the price I paid for it I expected to have a kitchen area as shown in all the pictures of rooms on Expedia. Instead we got a small refrigerator in our closet. No microwave Hotel itself clean, somewhat rundown. Pool was great. Staff very friendly. Onsite restaurants food was excellent. Hotel right on beach. Sunsets were gorgeous from our room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Location, location, location. ....

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The beautiful beach is literally 20 feet from the hotel. Absolutely wonderful! We had a north facing unit with a large balcony that allowed us a beautiful ocean view as well as people watching opportunities . The Cove is a very busy place: surfers, scuba divers, swimmers, bikers, kayakers. Lots to see & do. Nice little park with a playground right next door. The hotel has a nice, slightly retro feel. (Built in 1970) Obviously remodeled once or twice but still clean & comfortable. Free rollaway bed, free microwave upon request. Wish they had a complimentary breakfast. And the one thing that chafed me was they charge guests $22 per night to park. Seems excessive. Otherwise an enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale

On the Ocean!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: On the ocean! Also, a smaller property without the sprawl of huge corporate resorts.
Cons: N/A
Location: Other than the very best La Jolla Pacific Ocean access, you can easily traverse San Diego and other Beach Cities from this hotel. Minutes from I-5.
You can't beat La Jolla Shores if you want to walk out of your hotel room and step on to the beach. An older, but well-maintained legacy property. Great staff, good restaurants and close to other La Jolla Shores amenities. Less hectic than downtown La Jolla. Absolutely our "go to" La Jolla hotel choice.