Ratings based on 1,754 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Hotel in DESPERATE need of renovation

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: The location is excellent
Cons: Hire some competent hotel staff. The front desk crew seemed to go out of their way to be rude and unhelpful. Clearly not cut out for customer service.
Although a terrific location, this hotel is in desperate need of a thorough renovation. The furnishings are straight out of the 1970's (and not in a good way). The bed was as hard as a rock. You could hear people stomping in the adjoining rooms and doors slamming at all hours. The hotel staff is the worst in the business. This was a horrible experience. It ruined our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carpinteria, Ca

On the beach

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Our room was perfect, wanted Ocean front and it delivered. Would stay there again if the price was right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Love this hotel. Location location is amazing right by the beach. Awesome view. Clean and very sophisticated environment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Beach Bccess

Posted Nov 6, 2017
An older hotel that is right on a great beach. Appears to be a safe family beach. Near quaint shopping and restaurants. Older mid century furnishings in the rooms. Our room faced the beach and had a large deck. A bit pricey for what you get, but then again, a room on the beach is hard to come by. Liked it, would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Relaxing days

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Right by the ocean, spanish style, cozy, relaxing,
This place is beautiful and relaxing. My kids and my self were lucky to see dolphins when we were jumping waves on the beach..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The location was perfect! Close to the beach and everything the area has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paradise Ca

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Very accommodating. Staff was helpful and friendly. This place is very clean along with the beach. You can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner right there with a nice view. In walking distance to restaurant and a few shops, or they offer free rides into town. We hung out in San Diego more than La Jolla but it was nice coming back to a place we felt very safe. Rooms are clean but could maybe use a little update. All around I would stay there again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Extended Weekend getaway

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect right on the beach and close to I-5
Cons: Guest rooms are dated, bathroom really needs to updated given the room rates I would expect updated and clean. Tile and grout were stained just tired.
Location: Beach and dinning all within walking distance.
Overall this is a nice hotel. Spend the extra money and get a full Ocean view, but make sure to request its as far away from the boat launch as possible rather loud early in the morning and all day long. Their is a daily parking fee which is expensive, but you pay to park every where in S/D. Complementary coffee in the morning was a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Great location right on the beach

Posted Oct 30, 2017
While hotel is older, it has a fantastic location right in the beach and has a restaurant with high quality food. We are breakfast there daily as it was incredibly delicious, and the views were fantastic. The service at the restaurant was somewhat inconsistent ranging from mediocre to excellent, but the quality of the food never disappointed. Perfect hotel for a low key stay with young children. They provide (and set up) umbrellas, chairs, and towels at the beach. So convenient!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora, Colorado

Location, location, location

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Right on La Jolla Shores. Walk out and you’re on the beach. You are also just a few minutes walk to great food and shopping. A short drive to downtown La Jolla where you’ll find all the dining you could dream of and more shopping. Beach service with chairs, towels and umbrella. We love this place.