Ratings based on 1,735 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ogden, Utah

Amazing Location, Beautiful Grounds

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location. Nice Rooms and Grounds. Great Staff
Cons: No complaints
Location: Great beach. Park right next door. Aquarium in walking distance. Beach rental shops in walking distance.
Our family loved the location with the beach and the park. Perfect for our 3 and 8 year olds. We upgraded to the deluxe room with the kitchen with ocean views and it was well worth it. Beautiful room. We bought food at a local grocery store so we could eat fresh and healthy without spending a ton on dinning out. Very close to everything you want to do in the San Diego Area, but the biggest hit was still the Beach! We look forward to coming back with more family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Perfect location for beach access

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Very clean & beautiful hotel. All of the staff were very friendly & accommodating! The rooms are basic, but clean & the beach view is worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Excellent location

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Hotel right by the beach. Can hear waves in room. Beautiful view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose ca

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: How many times do I have to rate this stay?
Cons: One rating request is enuf
Location: beach and town center
Beautiful location and reasonable restaurant. This review is a nuisance, since I did one already.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: beachfront location
Location: We enjoyed the Brick and Bell for coffee and scones in the morning and really enjoyed the Italian resturnt on the corner - Osteria.
We were looking for something relaxing but not stuffy. La Jolla Shores was perfect. The staff was very accomodating. They provided beach chairs and umbrellas for our use and a shuttle for traveling to and from LaJolla. We enjoyed our stay and the access to walk on the beach every morning. It was just what we wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mesa, az

Great beach stay

Posted Oct 18, 2017
If the beach is your destination this is the place for you. Umbrellas chairs towels all set up for you. Love staying here with the family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Worth the money♥️

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Second year staying at The Shores hard to find a beachfront location for the price, fun activities and local shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Location is amazing!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, location and location.
Cons: Remodel rooms, especially the carpet. Tile and grout was dirty in the bathroom. Restaurant prices need to be lowered. Free continental breakfast?
Location: Beach front location is great! Local eats and shops within walking. Kayaking, scuba, body surfing, surfing, sand castles, relaxing, sun bathing.
Older hotel but the location made it worth it. The prices in the restaurant didn't reflect the quality of the food. Plenty of local places to eat within walking distance. The staff was great and very attentive of our comfort and needs. I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Cosey place on a waterfront property

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The hotel lobby was clean and the staff was friendly, the parking garage has a 6’3” clearance so if you have an SUV you will need to find street parking which is not ample but available. The neighborhood seems safe and there are usually a lot of people walking to/from the near by eateries. My first impression on our room was a cross between dated and vitage, although everything worked fine and it was clean for the most part. It would have been nice to have a microwave at the least. It was nice having a restaurant on site and the beach as a back yard, we didn’t use any but it was nice to have. All in all I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel, right on the beach, clean rooms, friendly staff and within walking distance from food and boutique shops. We've stayed there twice and have had a great experience both times. Our son loves the pool and the pool area is nice for adults as well. Safe area to walk around and relax.