Ratings based on 1,646 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: On beach property - easy to get around. Fun having ping pong and other activities in the courtyard.
Location: Love having the handy market around the corner, rather than trying to do a limited hotel store.
Great for a relaxing beach vacation with easy travel around San Diego with a car
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cali

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean. Beds were comfortable Hotel staff was excellent. Instant beach access from hotel. Even our Garden View room had a view of the ocean. Cons: (I might be nitpicking) The rooms could use some updating (USB ports for all the electronics travelers now carry with them). Inconsistent pricing at the hotel restaurant. Overall it was an excellent stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Fantastic location on the beach and a easy walk to La Jolla Village. City construction was underway, so request a room away from the street side. Also note that the rooms are assessable from the outside, more like a motel. But the condition of the property was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Perfect location to the beach and restaurants. Room is plain but very clean and comfortable, one warning: since you are by the beach, there are loud birds all day and night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Room Maintenance Needed

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: I liked being able to walk the beach that was in front of the hotel. The Marine Room was the very best dining experience we had while in California.
Cons: Maintain the rooms. Our room smelled musty and had broken windows.
Location: The hotel is located in La Jolla shores and has several quaint and good restaurants within walking distance.
When we arrived, there was no shower curtain. The louvered windows above the door and in the bathroom were all broken and could not be closed. Because it was the 4th of July weekend and they put us on the first floor facing the pool, it sounded like people were in our room at all times. The way the front desk handled it was to put duct tape on the panels to close them off. It looked terrible and the noise level was high. They said the hotel was full and we could not be moved. My issue is we should never have been put in a damaged room in the first place. Also, I made reservations through Expedia 6 months in advance and paid 6 months in advance. I asked the front desk if I was given a substandard room because we went through Expedia. They insisted that was not the case. I will never stay at this hotel again, I do not recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel right on beach

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Had an amazing time in La Jolla, hotel was so clean, staff was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place, perfect part of San Diego

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The hotel and staff are great, setting is beautiful and the location is perfect. i would stay there every year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is right by the beech and convenient.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff, except for night staff.
Cons: Cleanliness of other area such swimming pool and sauna.
Lobby access from my room was little far and hotel seems old but overall it was comfortable place to spend the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great location. Right in the beach.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Our room was very dated, but clean and spacious. The hotel was very family friendly and hotel staff was accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
my experience at this hotel was under adequate. when i go to a hotel i expect management to care what I'm trying to explain to them. i expect the maids to understand and to be able to communicate with me in English. i feel that when i leave my room and then come back again i dont expect or appreciate that my balcony door was left wide open. i also, think its not that hard to tell management for them to tell the maids to pick up my dirty bowls and glasses and leave them for the next couple of days. management should not have told me that some maids will get that and others wont. thats unacceptable, it should be well get that for you right away sir. further more, when i enter my room i dont expect to be able to hear my neighbors from both walls and i shouldnt be able to hear the people outside as well. once you close the balcony door, i should hear silence.