Ratings based on 1,037 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

Clean, convenient location.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, hot tub.
Location: It's in Mission Bay so it's not far to beaches, etc, however the immediate area around the hotel is mostly fast food.
The check in clerk was quirky but did the job. We went to the pool area around 9pm and our card keys didn't work to get back into the hotel. A father who was also there said this is like the beginning of a horror movie, however when they called the front desk the quirky clerk came down pretty soon and let us in. No horror occurred.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Once we had found it we were pleased

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Not easy to find the devious routes to get to it but had a lovely big and comfortable room and the staff were all very helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Clean, Spacious, Easily accomodable, There’s always parking (but small stalls), Close to fast food chains, free breakfast, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Great Stay! We will be back.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Easy access to freeway, easy to get to the beach and MIssion Bay. It has several fast food places that were close. Good breakfast.
Cons: Parking spaces were a bit cramped. Didn't seem to have enough spaces at times.
Location: Location is San Diego, easy access to freeway, downtown, zoo, Old Town, Legoland, beaches. Lots to do and see.
We had a great stay. Rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and the housekeeping staff worked hard to keep everything neat and clean. They were installing new shower heads and refrigerators as we arrived. The breakfast room was large and pleasant and had a really good breakfast with good variety. Parking was a little cramped but not a big problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Old Tappan, NJ

Surrounding area is secondary, but convenient.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Upper parking area is very tight. Use lower parking area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inglewood, CA

Nice Hotel for a Nice Price

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The hotel lobby and room was nice and clean but decor was a bit dated. Cheery hotel staff, quick check-in/check-out, quiet area, very close to I-5 Fwy
Cons: There was enough parking on the lot for guests so I ended up parking on the street; the ice machine was on the ground floor and not on each floor.
Location: I did not do anything nearby other than find somewhere to eat on the first night and find a gas station on the second night.
I was in town for a conference in San Diego but the host hotel was a little pricey for me, both for the room and the parking. I elected to stay at La Quinta Mission Bay because they were half the price, per night, and offered free parking, free wifi and free breakfast and were located right off the I-5 Fwy. A received a very cheery greeting upon my arrival and had no problems with check-in or getting into my room. The hotel lobby and room were nice and clean but the room was definitely a bit dated and there was not enough parking in their small parking lot so I ended up parking on the street for both nights of my stay. I did not have a chance to enjoy a sit-down breakfast but the breakfast area appeared to have a nice variety of breakfast items. I just grabbed some fruit on the go. No issues with the use of their wifi. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southwest

Great la Quinta inn

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The staff ESP the gal on day shift at the front desk was outstanding. Also the housekeepers were A+. The breakfast was one of the best . Noisy outside due to traffic on the 5 But convenient to doggy day care ,,: )
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Christina , Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review!! Our staff will be happy to hear they do such a great job here at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Mission Bay. Look forward seeing you in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

disappointing but still a nice hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: the room was spacious -and very clean
Cons: the attitude and conversation of the night clerk the crowded lobby the dangerous parking
Location: we went to the beach, the Naval base and the movies Nice restaurants
the check in clerk was serious when he said he was taking a deposit on the room in case someone stole the towels...highly offensive since we paid in advance. Hotel is small and crowded, parking lot is the worst! Day hostess/concierge was delightful. Breakfast was nice. Room was a good size and very clean. I was hoping for a little more wow for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Christina , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious/clean rooms along with location just 2.5 miles from Pacific Beach and 5 miles from the Naval base. Management will speak with our evening front desk agent to clarify the deposit which is used for any damages or smoking in our rooms "not for missing towels". Look forward having you as our guests in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Only if necessary

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice
Cons: Needs better Wi-Fi.
Location: There is an In and Out Burger within walking distance as well as sushi and Thai food within a couple of blocks.
Upon opening the door, there was a strong smell of chemicals. Major turn off. Then the TV selection was very low and there was no guide to tell you what channels were available. The parking is difficult to use due to the way it is laid out if you are in anything bigger than a civic. The staff was friendly even though she was alone and overwhelmed. I personally witnessed her running to a guests room to see if they had left their X-Box in their room. She brought it right back down and then let them know. Then she was able to check us in while trying to field phone calls and questions from those around us. The price we paid was double what it should have been for the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Christina , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It looks like we dropped the ball on meeting your expectations. We do have high definition TV's where the channel guide shows all channels available. I am happy to hear my front desk staff kept her friendliness even when she was overwhelmed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Miss Yvette gave us perfect and excellent servicem