Ratings based on 1,002 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small Over-Priced Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The beds were comfortable.
The hotel was very small. There was not a lot of outside pace and the pool was very very small. We didn't even have a balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Rooms were updated and clean. I was pleasantly surprised and would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Great room and staff. Location is close to most sights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county

Great hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2017
The staff was super nice and you always come back to a nice clean room. Would definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Christina Rios, Hotel Management
Thank you Kenya for your review, I'm happy to hear my staff was very nice and your room was always kept clean. We look forward see you in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stewartville, MN

great hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
This was a great hotel close to the beach, and away from a lot of congested traffic and city life. Although it was close enough to downtown so that you could take a short bus or car ride there. There were a lot of great places to eat within walking distance and plenty of brochures in the lobby of things to do around the area. I thought they had a nice little pool out front and a jacuzzi that you could use that had a great mural on the wall of San Diego. All of the staff were pleasant to talk to and had great information about the area if we ever had questions. I would recommend going there again to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Christina Rios, Hotel Management
Thanks for Will your feedback! I’m pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at San Diego Mission Bay La Quinta less than 2.5 miles from Pacific Beach. Our team looks forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Hotel snob says, "Eh, average 'cheaper' hotel"

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The hotel wasn't horrible. Seemed clean. Breakfast was typical hot continental - lots of carbs (muffins, waffles you make, bagels, toast, cereal) with eggs, yogurt, sausage and biscuits and gravy. Brown bananas and under ripe oranges. Staff was responsive with extra towels for our group of 4 (there were only 3 sets in the room with 2 queen beds). Fridge, old micro and coffee were all available and clean. Just your average hotel. The location wasn't great as you couldn't get to the hotel from the pacific beach direction without making some u-turns. Construction didn't help either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Christina Rios , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Looks like we dropped the ball on meeting your expectations. I appreciate your feedback; this is definitely not the experience we want you to have when staying with us! Your feedback will help us improve on our breakfast items and room amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good hotel to serve for any type of weekend outing

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Hardwood floors throughout
Cons: Provide portable room fan in addition to the air conditioner. It would help bring cooler air into bathroom or could be used instead of the air.
Location: Beaches, Museums, and local live music everywhere
Super Dog friendly, although there were no grass areas immediately near by for dogs to go potty, there are a few dirt areas if you take a short walk/trip around the block for a stretch & doggy poop bags were available in the garage area too. Additionally there was an In n Out Burger only yards away with two full green grassy areas to rest. There is other food places to munch on all over the immediate area as well. Gas stations too. Super easy access to the 5 North freeway and downtown beaches were only 12 minutes away. Parking was a tight squeeze, but there were many spaces available along the streets if the garage doesn't fit your vehicle. Pool and Jacuzzi were clean and easy to access. Overall I give 4 stars out of 5 and would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Christina Rios, Hotel Management
Thank you Jen for the GREAT review! I'm glad you enjoyed our pet friendly hotel and newly renovated pet rooms with hardwood floors. Look forward having you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The hotel is nice but they did not make up art room the second day and we had to go get towels. The girl on the front desk said she would see about getting us a discount for the second day. That has never happened. It is just a disappointment that they may no effort to correct the second day, by at least a small discount. I she said she would call us back and she never did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Christina Rios, Hotel Management
Sydney, it loos like we dropped the ball on meeting your expectations on the second day on servicing your room. We do ask that all guest remove their "do not disturb signs" prior to 4pm in order for our housekeepers to properly service the room. I hope that in your travels you’ll once again consider La Quinta Inn and Suites as your choice for lodging accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Competitive prices and close beach location

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The staff at this location was awesome, very friendly and accommodating, let us check in early and check out late because of our flight times. The hotel room was very nice, and very convenient to have a fridge and microwave when we were staying there for 4 days. It was a short Lyft ride to the beach, and the price seemed very competitive with other locations around. I will be staying here again :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Christina Rios, Hotel Management
Kristi, thanks for your positive feedback! I’m pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at San Diego Mission Bay La Quinta. I do have to agree my front desk team members are AWESOME!! Our team looks forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Located in rough area, nice staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff is courteous.
Cons: Staff need to handle problem guests more aggressively.
Location: Quick drive to La Jolla. But not a walkable area.
The hotel is difficult to find. The area is very loud and industrial next to storage warehouses and body shops. If you need to go left on Garnet, there is no easy way to do it. No left turn, and U-turns aren't allowed on Garnet. Staff are friendly however, they are no proactive in dealing with unruly guests. It took many complaints to get to a resolution with loud and drunk guests in the adjacent room. This isn't a walkable location. Sidewalks are full of overgrowth of weeds. Homeless cover every corner and island. The area is very loud with traffic and exhaust.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Christina Rios, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experiences at our San Diego Mission Bay La Quinta. Your feedback is very important to use which we will use as a training exercise with my front desk staff. We are located in a tourist area which during prime seasons the traffic does tend to increase.