Ratings based on 1,168 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and friendly staff!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Great place to stay and enjoy a vacation near the ocean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for sharing your great review - we love the 5 out of 5 stars! Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards, Rita ~ Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Historic hotel near the beach

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, views and location
Cons: The rooms are quite small and a bit outdated, even for an iconic hotel; they could use a little update in my opinion.
Location: EVERYTHING, shopping, food beverage, exercise and sight seeing; all within walking distance.
This historic hotel was established in 1926!!! Outstanding staff, wonderful views, great restaurant and lounge on the premises with close proximity to everything in the La Jolla Village. The rooms are quite small but clean and comfortable; reflecting a style from the past for sure. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the La Jolla area and do not plan on spending too much time in your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Douglas, Thank you first and foremost for recognizing all of the wonderful beauties of the hotel, and also for noting our very nice staff; personable and genuine service is a number one goal.We do offer everything from our Vintage 250 sq feet to our La Valencia Villa at 1100sq feet - but like you say, the exploration outside of the hotel, the coastal splendor from all of our terraces, ocean view pool, La Jolla Village literally steps from our door - as a guest, it is a hard choice! I hope that you visit again soon, most certainly at the start of next year as our Spa will open and even more amenities will be offered. Perhaps a romantic valentine stay might be in your future?? I hope so , come see us again and allow us to win that 5th star! Thank you for your time and feedback – we will continue to work on crafting ideal guest experiences. Best regards, Rita ~Director of Sales
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Room.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
No Hotel should have a bathroom as small as ours was. RVs have larger bathrooms. Hotel as no Spa. They informed us they could call in a person to your room if it has room in it. Ours did not have room. No upgrade was ever offered in our 3 night stay although at check in they would let us know.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Greetings, The Hotel does have a spa room available if a guest is checked into our Vintage Rooms, I am so sorry you were not able to recieve one our relaxing massages! The Hotel boutique, historic nature offers chic intimate charm pictured with all of our guest room choices, from very large large bathrooms to more Euro style of our Vintage Rooms. We do so wish that we could offer every guest an upgrade, our challenge in our property is that all of our weekends do book and sell out so sometimes we just don't have an upgrade to offer if all of the other tiers have been reserved. The amenities of the Hotel are expansive with our ocean view pool and terraces, 2 restaurants, live music and a swanky hotel lobby lounge. I do appreciate the 4 out of 5 stars, and that you were able to enjoy your stay enjoying the other hotel amenities. Thank you again for your feedback and review,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

A truly special hotel, right on the beach!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
We had a wonderful stay! The customer service is amazing, everyone made us feel so special! The pool view is stunning, right on the beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Rita~Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your great review - we love our 5 out of 5 Stars! Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The views + staff
What a great hotel! You won't regret staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Stephanie, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay - we agree - our staff, our location, our views and all of our amenities = a perfect stay. I hope that we will see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin texas

Fine hotel in heart of la jolla cove

Posted Aug 4, 2017
This hotel always great in lajolla, historic old structure, rooms very nice, clean, staff always unbelievable, attention to detail first rate, food and drink outstanding, walk ability to all points makes it a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Russell, Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, PA

A real gem!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Beautiful hotel close to shops, restaurants, beach. Love the idea of walking everywhere! The staff is superb!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Terry, Thank you very much for sharing your great review - La Jolla actually means The Jewel, so calling us a Gem is perfect! . Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards, Rita ~ Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Myers, FL

Great hotel on the beach!

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The location, the view, the room & the staff.
Cons: Nothing it was great.
Location: It is right on the beach. There are many restaurants and shops.
I had a business meeting and the hotel was incredible. The only thing I wish was that my husband was with me!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Kolleen, Thank you for such a great review! I love hearing from guests that we hit all of the marks to insure a great experience! And the good news is that you know us now, and can return with your husband for relaxation and vacation! Thank you again, we hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
by Karen

La Valencia Review

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
We were truly impressed with the La Valencia Hotel, and the surrounding venue. Truly one of the most accommodating staff I have seen in ages - I travel several times a month with my job, this stay was one of the very best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Dear Karen, Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards, Rita ~ Director of Sales
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, Ca

Romantic Getaway with my wife

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: See above. New beds, better trained staff and a full buffet brunch
Our daughter who lives in San Diego wanted this to be special for my wife and I. Knowing we were arriving late Friday afternoon she brought over a bottle of chilled champagne and a six pack of orange juice along with a bag of some special gifts with a card. She asked the staff to make sure it remained chilled and put in the room that day with ice, etc. Not knowing any of this we checked in. The next morning our daughter called us about mid morning asking how are stay had been so far. Rooms a bit small and bed uncomfortable but otherwise and very nice property. She was extremely disappointed that we did not get anything. Unbeknownst to us she then called the staff and was basically lied to that everything will be taken care of. A few minutes later room service brought up the champagne and orange juice AT ROOM TEMPARTURE!!! How disappointed for us and how mad my daughter became with such crappy service. And she was the one who suggested we stay there since fabulous this and great that....There are many other very nice hotels in the area and while we liked the location....another thing is our daughter thought you had a brunch every weekend. She has been there an thought is was always a buffet with stations, etc. That was another reason why we selected this place. Only to find out then just added a couple of new items to their breakfast menu raise the prices a bit and call it a brunch menu. While the food was very good, just another disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Bruce, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we failed to meet some significant expecations [ the wonderful surprise your daughter had arranged]. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us, especially on a romantic get away. I understand that you were dissatisfied with our Brunch style which is not buffet - it has actually not been a buffet for years, but it is such a popular brunch with locals and guests to have an a la carte service for choice and service levels. We have won best brunch awards in San Diego, but I understand that it was not what you anticipated. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future, and all departments have seen this posted and discussed. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you,