Ratings based on 1,141 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

A truly special hotel, right on the beach!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
We had a wonderful stay! The customer service is amazing, everyone made us feel so special! The pool view is stunning, right on the beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Rita~Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your great review - we love our 5 out of 5 Stars! Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The views + staff
What a great hotel! You won't regret staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Stephanie, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay - we agree - our staff, our location, our views and all of our amenities = a perfect stay. I hope that we will see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin texas

Fine hotel in heart of la jolla cove

Posted Aug 4, 2017
This hotel always great in lajolla, historic old structure, rooms very nice, clean, staff always unbelievable, attention to detail first rate, food and drink outstanding, walk ability to all points makes it a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Russell, Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, PA

A real gem!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Beautiful hotel close to shops, restaurants, beach. Love the idea of walking everywhere! The staff is superb!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Terry, Thank you very much for sharing your great review - La Jolla actually means The Jewel, so calling us a Gem is perfect! . Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards, Rita ~ Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Myers, FL

Great hotel on the beach!

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The location, the view, the room & the staff.
Cons: Nothing it was great.
Location: It is right on the beach. There are many restaurants and shops.
I had a business meeting and the hotel was incredible. The only thing I wish was that my husband was with me!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, Ca

Romantic Getaway with my wife

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: See above. New beds, better trained staff and a full buffet brunch
Our daughter who lives in San Diego wanted this to be special for my wife and I. Knowing we were arriving late Friday afternoon she brought over a bottle of chilled champagne and a six pack of orange juice along with a bag of some special gifts with a card. She asked the staff to make sure it remained chilled and put in the room that day with ice, etc. Not knowing any of this we checked in. The next morning our daughter called us about mid morning asking how are stay had been so far. Rooms a bit small and bed uncomfortable but otherwise and very nice property. She was extremely disappointed that we did not get anything. Unbeknownst to us she then called the staff and was basically lied to that everything will be taken care of. A few minutes later room service brought up the champagne and orange juice AT ROOM TEMPARTURE!!! How disappointed for us and how mad my daughter became with such crappy service. And she was the one who suggested we stay there since fabulous this and great that....There are many other very nice hotels in the area and while we liked the location....another thing is our daughter thought you had a brunch every weekend. She has been there an thought is was always a buffet with stations, etc. That was another reason why we selected this place. Only to find out then just added a couple of new items to their breakfast menu raise the prices a bit and call it a brunch menu. While the food was very good, just another disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Bruce, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we failed to meet some significant expecations [ the wonderful surprise your daughter had arranged]. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us, especially on a romantic get away. I understand that you were dissatisfied with our Brunch style which is not buffet - it has actually not been a buffet for years, but it is such a popular brunch with locals and guests to have an a la carte service for choice and service levels. We have won best brunch awards in San Diego, but I understand that it was not what you anticipated. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future, and all departments have seen this posted and discussed. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach Ca.

Great Location..

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great location.Our room was beautiful with a great view of the beach.Overall the service was excellent.Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Lawrence, Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livermore, CA

Great location!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect, walking distance to everything.
Cons: Service and safety; front desk service was very poor, no map provided for facility, spent a lot of time doing circles, no exit or directional signs
Location: the beach, food, sweets, shopping, art, and jewelry boutiques
The service at the front desk was very disappointing. Our room was not available at check in time. We waited in the lobby with our luggage until called. When I was finally called, I overhead the staff offer to hold another party's luggage until their room was ready. I thought it was very rude that he didn't offer to check our luggage so we could go eat or explore the city, make the best of our time. There also was no acknowledgement for our room not being ready on time. I asked for the manager to call because I was upset at the service and the wait, but he never followed up. Then to top it off, when we got to our room, it was not an ocean view like we had expected and paid for. It was a partial ocean view at best. You could see the ocean if you stood 3 inches from the window. No balcony or outdoor access. We did circles trying to find our room and then the elevator. There is no directional signage anywhere or exit signs. We waited endlessly for the elevator until we were told by another guest that it wasn't working. Access to the pool was attained by walking down a flight of stairs, through the lobby and one of the restaurants, down a couple flights of stairs. Later we found out that there was beach access from the back of the hotel instead of walking around the block. They could do better by provided guests with a hotel map or information in their hotel room. Very disappointed overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Wendy ~ Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you so much for staying with us at La Valencia and your review of the hotel. It is a great gift to us to get such honest and articulate feedback regarding our hospitality and services. It is truly the only way that we can fine tune the world class service with which we are known. We offer our deepest apologies for the lack of awareness from our front desk team that you had luggage to store while you waited for your room. You should have been given that option as well as a property map to get acquainted with our property and the surrounding area while our team prepared your room. We pride ourselves on offering world class service, and were I in your shoes I would have had the same critiques. Our property has 3 different room types; Vintage, Classic and Villas. From your review, it sounds like you reserved one of our Vintage King Ocean View rooms which are located in our Tower Wing with north or south coast views. These rooms do not guarantee a balcony nor outdoor access. I would recommend our Villa category for the future to secure a balcony and outdoor access. The Villas also provide a full ocean view as opposed to the north or south coastal view. Once again we offer our sincerest apologies for the lack of awareness from our front desk team, there is no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction. That is our goal - I hope that you will visit again and allow us to exceed your expectations. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples FL

Tired old glamour

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The view form the terrace and a nice pool area.
Cons: Dont charge so much money for rooms which are loud and a view into the kitchen area.
Location: Close to the ocean . Restaurants and shopping is also close by.
The location is great and so is the view from the terrace. But this hotel needs some upkeep. The bathroom had very old appliances and you had the feeling any moment the faucet from the shower would fall off . If you get room 107 be on alert and ask for another room! It is facing the back of the kitchen and not only has no view at all but is also very loud!!! They had several weddings during our stay - and afterwards we got all the noises from putting things away and hotel staff talked very loud. Also early in the morning when they started working you could hear them talking and making a lot of noise putting things together again. The cosmetic mirror needed a bulb replacement for which I asked twice - but never happened. Also for breakfast , lunch and dinner they had a lot of "walk in's" - and hotel guests had no preferred seating. The hotel had a glamorous past - but staying there is disappointing and the room rates are far too high for what you get for your money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Connie, I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay, our rooms are very different in view and space and we update our photos and descriptions accurately on our sites - so I hope that you will give us another opportunity and perhaps select an ocean view room? I have alerted our front office, housekeeping and engineering on the concerns you expressed - thank you so much for the feedback, we are constantly updating and maintaining the beauty and integrity of the rooms. Our hotel does fill during our summer months and as an Icon in La Jolla we do have a lot of locals that love us. During a future stay, our Concierge can always work to get you reservations or taken care of, we maintain a high level of service so that should a guest have a challenge we always have a resource. Again, I thank you for the feedback and all of your comments and concerns have been shared. I do so hope that you will find your way back to us and experience a true La Valencia experience. Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Beautiful old world feel updated, modern setting.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Liked the friendly, welcoming staff, cleanliness, maid service, location and the variety of eating spots within the restaurant.
Cons: Parking is exorbitant. Should be less for customers because all other costs are premium. Requested wake-up call morning of departure. Never came.
Location: Many upscale and regular restaurants, shops, entertainment in walking distance. Lots of beach, ocean activities available close by.
Came for 6 nights to visit family and found the hotel to be charming and very upscale. Ate twice at the hotel and very pleased both times. Parked off site due to the high valet rates. Loved the historical aspect of La Valencia and very central to myriad of shops, restaurants, and services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your great review - we love the 5 Stars and your valuable feedback. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,