Ratings based on 1,278 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Sand close by!

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: I liked the closeness to the beach.
Cons: See above.
Location: Everything is near by. All kinds of food, drink, tattoos!, shopping, coffee places, and the Wednesday farmers market, fun entertainment on beach area.
The hotel was alright. I guess I was expecting to have a little of the "old pink beach hotel" charm left from days gone by. Seemed a bit sanitary and institutional with no frills. There was a wine cooler in each room that glowed neon blue - I had to hang a towel over to block the light at night Would have liked to have a refrigerator. There was no microwave either. Also, there were bright lights strung all across the courtyard that could have been turned off after the 10 pm quiet time, but they also shone brightly all night. The staff were great, I needed extra blankets and they were brought to me right away with a smile. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard for little family chats and coffee with a beautiful view of the street and ocean life. All in all, I would rate it "average", I would hope for quite a bit more for the money spent (which I considered on the very high end) but did find it a nice location for a family gathering.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Close enough to practically touch the sandy beach.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Unbeatable location where the beach is a mere steps away. The laid-back vibe is alluring as well! Ocean Beach Hotel staff was very responsive to any needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Just a quick mini vacation Hotel staff was awesome lots of great restaurants in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Loved the location and beautiful sunsets

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Great staff , got me in my room early and up graded my room free of charge . Very clean and friendly maid service each day. Cute atrium downstairs with fountain and tables to lounge in:)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: The Hotel has a great location. The Staff is really friendly, and kind.
Cons: The hotel is dated, needs an update. Air conditioners and heaters in the rooms would help.
Location: The Hotel has a great location.
The Hotel has a great location. The Staff is really friendly, and kind. The hotel is dated, needs an update. Air conditioners and heaters in the rooms would help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Washington

if your looking for an adventure not just a room

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: small older facility - nice people = just a place to sleep
Cons: small older facility - nice people = just a place to sleep
Location: read above
okay - the hotel is just a place to stay. The experience was the Ocean Beach community. We got there on a Wednesday night and ran into a street farmer's Market and had a great time walking around experiencing all the smells and atmosphere this community had to offer. straight up there is pot smoking homeless people and a beach environment and that does not appeal to all, but you want the beach, good food and a community this hotel is the deal. we weren't stuck in some strip mall, but could walk across the street for afternoon drinks and watch the activities on the beach. recommend Mike's Taco Club great drinks, Old Townhouse Restaurant, Hodad's, and numerous eateries along Newport Ave. Shopping great coffee at: Azucar - Cuban bakery serving pastries, Cuban coffee & traditional Cuban sandwiches - great stop in the morning. not your typical vacation recommend if you want a balance of good eats and night life!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Cajon CA

Very nice Location and service was great!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs and Elevator
Location: Eating shopping Beach Pier walks, OB ROCKS
Wife and I had a Great NYE! Danced in the Courtyard with other guests, Beautiful Sunset and Views!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT AS PICTURED

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: close to water
room very small and price is too high no ocean view like described
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florence az

like to see a coffee maker in room

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: rooms were clean
Cons: doors stuck hard time getting in the room
Location: hard to say it was thanksgiving so alot of places were closed
right on the beach,awesome my wife has cancer and has a hard time walking and thats why we picked this hotel check in was easy staff was friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything!

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Perfect location. Close to beach, restaurants, breweries, and shopping.