Ratings based on 1,072 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Don't let the outside fool you

Posted Jul 26, 2017
This hotel is very nice the rooms are very clean with big beds, Nice clean towels very quiet you won't be disappointed. I recommend it you will be pleased, it's 2 blocks from the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Comfy bed, fantastic air conditioning. Quick cleaning crew. Nice bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
We look forward to your next stay with us! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Bernardino, CA

Good for a quick trip to the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: It is very close to the beach, which was what I was looking for.
Cons: This may be a stretch, but if there is a way to soundproof the rooms, that would be wonderful. Not sure if those were newlyweds nearby but wow ...
Location: The PB Surf is located about a block from the walkway down to the beach. There are plenty of eateries and shops within a two to three block walk.
I was looking for a spot close to the beach for a weekend getaway; I found PB Surf and after seeing the good reviews, decided to give it a go. I had seen the comments about tight parking but was unprepared for what that really meant, having forgotten how it is in a beach town. However, the staff told me that there was much more parking about a block away at their sister location, which was perfect since we were needing two parking spots. The room was nicely appointed. I would have liked it a bit more if there were blackout curtains as it was very bright in there, both day and night, since there were only shutters at the windows. Also, the rooms are quite thin. I don't know if the people we heard all night were next door or beneath us (we were in a king suite on the second floor), but their every hour on the hour antics would not be appropriate for a family with children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will be forwarding your comments to my corporate offices for future consideration. I do hope you will stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at PB Surf! I loved that it was close to the beach, restaurants & shopping! I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

One block from beautiful Pacific Beach

Posted May 30, 2017
This hotel was great for our needs. I did request an early check-in and emailed back and fourth with the hotel about it before hand but it was unavailable upon our arrival. No worries though as there were many options for food and drink just blocks away. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating- they even called to let me know I had left my pillow upon check-out and they held it for me at the front desk. The free continental breakfast is only coffee and a few different kind of pastries (all bread, no eggs or fruit or anything) but was still nice to have. The room was spacious and had a separate kitchenette area with a second sink, a microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge (which I requested in my reservation). The mattress was not very comfortable but the bedding sure was. The air conditioner worked but clicked loudly every minute or so while on. Luckily, my boyfriend and I can sleep through anything. The bathroom was clean and the shower was great. I noticed when they cleaned our room half way through our 4 night stay they only swept the floors as there were still dirty feet marks on the wood and tile leading out of the bathroom. Also missed a towel that day which we got from the cleaning lady the next morning. All in all, you will not find a better place in this price range in Pacific Beach and I WOULD recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. I do remember you because of the pillow. Unfortunately, there are times that we occasionally can not accommodate an early check in. An example is when we are full the prior night leaving us with no options at times, especially when the guests leave at the posted checkout time. However, as soon as they do leave, we clean your room first and call you when it is ready. Our goal is to allow you to start your vacation whenever you arrive regardless of the time of day. I do hope we were fast in getting you checked in though, and that my person at the reception checked your bags and offered you a parking pass. I will also relay your message about the cleaning. We do a light cleaning during your stay over, but should make it look clean. I do hope we will see you again soon! Again, thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 nights

Posted May 27, 2017
Close to beach, bars and restaurants. clean, safe, and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you! We look forward to your return visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel close to beach

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: a little sitting area. better parking
Location: location great plenty to do within walking distance
room was not as it appeared in web site.one room meant one room with bed. it was clean and for price points not too bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
I really wish we would have had a larger room available for you. Please let us know during your next stay about taking a larger room if available. Sometimes, this is a real possibility. And, thank you for your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Foley Alabama

Horrible

Posted May 8, 2017
Was charged to my credit card when I reserved-upon arrival they had nothing on file 1191.52 to be exact. But refused to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
I'm terribly sorry for the error. But, I do hope it was corrected very fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mex

Small hotel close to the beach

Posted May 4, 2017
The breakfast was horrible, it was just OJ and a bun.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
We did take pictures of our simple breakfast, because we do not want anyone to believe it is more than we advertise. I am sorry you were not happy with the fresh pastries though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Wonderful hotel right near the beach.

Posted May 2, 2017
This was a clean and comfortable hotel just a block away from the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! I hope you will stay again.