Ratings based on 2,537 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Overall Good - Price, Front Desk, Bad

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location, Barefoot Lounge, Staff other than Front Desk.
Cons: Front Desk, Price, Unexpected Charges
Location: Great beach vacation location, near everything.
Check in was horrible. Staff was slow and let people cut in line in front of us because they were "yelling" when we were not. We were penalized for being polite. Room was clean but not worth the price. Location was great. Barefoot lounge was the best. Pool was fun. Other than the front desk, staff was great. Did not expect to be charged $30 per day for parking. We were charged $38 per day for a "Fun Pass" that we did not expect nor did we use.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Diego. We're glad you loved our pool, but are disappointed that you didn't enjoy every aspect of your visit. Also, we seek to be completely transparent about these fees, and list them on the website, at time of booking and in each confirmation letter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Hotel rooms need professional upgrades.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The hotel grounds seemed pleasant, but some areas needed maintenance. The room assigned to us had a horrible smell (dirty mop water mixed with Clorox). The smell was so penetrating we had to open the door. The a/c was rusty and dirty, curtains had spots of mold, the fitting sheet on one of the the beds was torn, walls were dirty, bathtub was old and cracked, furniture was dirty. I picked up the phone to call the lobby and had to disinfect the phone, it too was grimed with yuck. I placed two calls to the lobby to get someone to help me with changing rooms. When the bellman came over to change my room, he too smelled the bad odor in the room. The second room was not any better, but at least the toxic Clorox smell was not present. Not worth the $$. We were moved a couple of rooms over and noticed that a family was put in that awful room within an hour. Sad that my concern was disregarded instead of making sure that room was in better condition before putting someone else on there. Room 153.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your stay and we're having our team check this room to ensure future stays are better. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you consider giving us another try.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has really gone down hill.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
I have stayed here over a dozen times over the last 15 years. What used to be one of my favorite places has turned into a money grab.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us again and we're disappointed to hear you didn't have an excellent time. We appreciate your review as we strive to improve future visits.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice location but expensive, mediocre, and inconve

Posted Jul 20, 2017
They messed up our room reservation by giving us a room with one bed to start. Got it sorted out and moved to a much nicer two bed room. Was a pain to deal with it at midnight after hours of driving. The first room sucked but the second room was newly renovated and much nicer. However, half the outlets didn't work and multiple things were broken in room (furniture and door handles that came of in my hand etc). My key had to be recoded like three times in two days which included having to wait in line. Upon checkout, they had my reservation wrong and wanted to charge for an extra night. I had to go get my phone, rewait in line, all to "prove" my reservation was what I said it was. The rooms are expensive and, for that price, I would expect a little bit more that below average customer service. Plus, between parking and resort fees, you will end up paying an additional $70/night. Plus, all the beaches are publicly accessible for free. This place really isn't worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Kerstin, thank you for telling us about your stay and we're sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. Also, all California beaches are public property so guests and the public enjoy them alike.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The staff at Paradise Point was very nice and helpful. The property is beautiful. The only issues we had were with the TV but that isn't a huge deal. We are in San Diego a few times a month and Paradise Point made us feel that we weren't--that we were somewhere else on vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
What a great review, Mindy! We're delighted that you felt like you escaped San Diego and we hope you visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle,wa

Nice resort

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great place to relax and enjoy San Diego the only drawback is way to many added fee's
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Steve, we're glad you had a relaxing time and we appreciate your review!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over priced

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We booked the hotel through expedia and thought we had a pretty good rate for the area. Once we checked in we were also billed for parking and resort fees that were $70+. I wouldn't have mind paying the resrt fee but this did not include a lot of the onsite activities like bikes, mini golf. The hotel rooms are also in need of some renovations, especially the bathrooms. I have to to say the staff were extremely pleasant and kid friendly. Food at the Bare Foot restaurant was great. The grounds and pools were well maintained. We would stay again but would book through the hotel itself so we knew all the costs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your review. We seek to be completely transparent about these fees, and list them on the website, at time of booking and in each confirmation letter. Unfortunately, we can’t control how they are displayed on third party booking websites. Also, we're happy to share that we're actively renovating our guestrooms and hope you return when it's done to experience the new enhancements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great experience - rooms might need a little facelift but other than that our vacation was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
We love to hear that you had a great experience, and we're happy to share that we're actively improving our guest rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Excellent room. Beautiful resort. Very pretty restaurant location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thanks for your wonderful review and we're glad you enjoyed everything we have to offer!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Worst Resort Ever! Filthy Dirty & Broken!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Entryway to the grounds
Cons: Everything. CLEAN IT UP!!
Location: Nothing. It stunk so mad we left..:-(
Room had a broken table (which broke my toe!!) "Lagoon" outside our patio was more like a cesspool. We even took pictures! Mold and Fungi everywhere! It was STINKY!! Wasted money that we work VERY hard for!!! Not informed of icemaker locations, etc. We also checked in early to avoid the crowd. They said they would text us when ready. The never texted us and when we returned we had to wait in a huge line to get our room key. Unfortunately after one hour in this nasty room, the broken table hurt my toe, and the view was putrid, so we left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Elizabeth, thank you for your review and we're very disappointed to learn about your experience as it doesn't reflect the standard of service we seek to provide guests. We're following up with our team to ensure future stays are better.