Ratings based on 2,665 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

Never wanted to leave

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Really nice slice of paradise. We're from San Diego, so this was a staycation. The resort had so much that we never left. The pools were cool, grounds were beautiful, our garden view was really a few feet from the bay, and the restaurants were yummy. We did notice some things needing maintenance or updating (bathrooms particularly in the room the tiles and grout were in not so great shape, and the bathroom at the pool we used a lot was a dark cave and the vent looked old and decrepit and was pretty big). But the actual rooms were big and comfy, really nice furnishings and big windows to see the bay. The grounds were great and so nice to take endless strolls around. The kids loved the various ponds and water features. There's a cool pool with sharks and tunas that we love to visit and a big viewing tower to climb. Really nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Great stay But!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
They should let you know that parking is not included in there passport savings that is extra!! Just letting everyone know before booking so as not too be suprised!! Other than that the stay and staff were excellent!!!! Hope this was helpful!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

A couple of things

Posted Nov 15, 2017
First I want to temper this review by saying that the staff are wonderful and the grounds beautiful. The couple of things that I am referring to are that I called the front desk at 11pm to ask them to check why the TV in the next room over had been looping on the same few stanzas of music for hours. Literally since we checked in until we checked out the next morning. The head of my bed was right on the other side of the wall from the TV next door and although it wasn't super loud, it got to be a bit annoying when I was trying to sleep. There couldn't have been anyone in there. They said that they would 'look into it' and get it taken care of. They never did. Second, I took a shower in the morning but the water didn't get even up to luke warm. I did tell them this upon checkout. I wonder if the music is still looping...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Needs major update. Electrical plugs are so old that things cannot be plugged in properly. Bathtub and toilet were old and gross. Cleaning was insufficient. Sand was in between our bedsheet 3 days in a row even though we told them to change them specifically.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA from Puerto Rico

Beautiful, Clean, Harbor views, 2 pools

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Beautiful, Clean, Harbor views, 2 pools, water transportation for rent, Restaurants inside the Resort, Private Lanai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Hidden Gem

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: This place reminded us of Hawaii.
We had a great time. From check in to check out all the staff was great. They didn't have us in the correct room to start off and then they moved us without a problem to a much better room to fit our needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Overpriced hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Clean room and nice reception people.
Cons: Free coffee and snacks in lobby for light breakfast.
Location: Beach area if the weather is good. Sea world. Old Town not far.
My boyfriend and I stayed one night after spending 2 nights with friends. $38. for parking and nowhere else to park. Resort fees of $35 or so per night also tacked onto room & tax price of $156. Except for the swimming pool, no free recreation for the "resort" fees. Check in at 4 and check out at 11:00. We did get 1 1/2 hour free late check-out. The room's window only showed this little 4x5 patio we had. I would have rather seen the parking lot. The room felt claustrophobic. Coffee maker with pods. Refrigerator but no microwave. Because it was foggy, couldn't even use the swimming pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel in Mission Bay

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Tropical setting makes you feel like you're on an island. Staff was very courteous but they do not mention the resort fee. They only told me about the daily parking fee. I booked a king room and when I checked in they upgraded me to an executive suite. The living room was big, nice layout. But they need to take care of the scuffs on the walls. One of the remote controls for the TV didn't work. There was no reception on the regular channels like ABC, NBC, CBS,FOX. Telephone in the living room didn't work. Had to use phone in bedroom to call about the A/C was on high couldn't adjust it. The front desk gave us an access code to control the A/C unit. It's a nice hotel but they really need to pay attention to details.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheesy resort

Posted Oct 31, 2017
The hotel layout sucks, forgot visiting another room. The rooms are spread out all over the place. The room was dingy and cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Wonderful resort!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
My husband and I celebrated our four year wedding anniversary by staying at Paradise Point. It was our first time staying at the resort and we really enjoyed it. Even though we're from San Diego, staying at Paradise Point made us feel like we were transported to some exotic island. Our room was a bay side bungalow. It was a spacious room right on the water with a pretty view. There are fire pits available outside the room which we used at night. I was however a little disappointed with the cleanliness of our room. I noticed a fairly large white stain on the couch and some hairballs on the bathroom floor and shower floor. For me personally, paying $600+ a night for the room I expected it to be spotless. We did still enjoy our stay and I'd still recommend staying at this resort. It's a truly unique experience.