Ratings based on 2,302 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lloydminster, AB

Excellent location, close to a lot of attractions

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: Tropical feel, great location and nice surroundings. Much nicer than the large hotels with several floors, more like your own little bungalow.
Cons: The only improvement I could recommend is that the passport to paradise fee be only billed if a person uses the facilities ie the spa, pool or tennis.
Location: Great location, close to sea world, San Diego zoo and USS Midway and Maritime museum. Also close to transit system, easy to tour around.
The resort and surroundings were lovely, we stayed in a newly renovated room with lanai. The king sized bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the patio was great. The staff were friendly, helpful and cheerful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful

Posted Feb 15, 2018
great room, 2 restaurants and beach within a couple minute walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review! I am pleased to hear you got to enjoy our beautiful restaurants, and of course, the beach during your visit! We look forward to welcoming you back to Paradise again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Our stay was nice. Only complaint was the bed mattress. My husband has a back injury and the bed was slopped to the middle. Otherwise our stay was enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Beautiful hotel with amazing amenities

Posted Feb 12, 2018
The hotel is beautiful with great amenities. You never have to leave your entire stay to have a relaxing and fun time. The only downside is that it is on a private island so there is no easy access to civilization and stores or restaurants downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ren, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear you got to enjoy our property and the many amenities we do have to offer on the Island. On your next visit I would recommend trying Uber! Many of our guests use the app to get picked up directly at their bungalows and taken around town. We can not wait to welcome you back to Paradise again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Helpful staff, beautiful hotel and grounds!

Posted Feb 7, 2018
Enjoyed our stay very much , only negative was road construction on main highway near our bungalow was very noisy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted Feb 6, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay here. We recently moved to the mainland from Kauai and the hotel grounds made us feel like we were back on the island at home. Lovely place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your review! We are happy we were able to be your home away from home on the island. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

first time

Posted Feb 5, 2018
first time here and I would definitely come back. I read the reviews and was hesitant but when i got to the hotel the staff was absolutely amazing. You do have to pay for your parking here which sucks but it's worth it. the room was very clean and view was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am pleased to hear our staff was exceptional during your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to enjoy Paradise in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

BEAUTIFUL facility! Hawaii without the airfare!

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Gorgeous premises. Not the most current interior, the mattresses are not winning any awards, and the bathrooms could have been cleaner, but the staff was exceptional & the place was still absolutely GORGEOUS!! I felt like I was back in Kauai! Will definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! You will be satisfied to hear we are currently undergoing a full guestroom renovation so our interior will most definitely be updated in no time! We hope we can welcome you back again to enjoy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

there are much better choices in the area

Posted Feb 2, 2018
this hotel hides the huge per night parking charge several pages down in the small print. Near the start, they note "self parking". The intent is to make you think there is no fee for self parking. We ended up paying twice as much per day for parking as we did for car rental. I believe this is an intentional marketing scam by the hotel and should cause it to be removed from expedia. They have tons of parking so this is not a space issue. Regards, Dan
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Horrible!

Posted Jan 31, 2018
-Ants in room -Very bad smell in ALL rooms -Very rude managers. We checked out early. Managers closing line was "enjoy your stay at Holiday inn" I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Lena, I am disappointed to hear about the issues experienced. I have been unsuccessful at locating your reservation but would love to discuss further. If you have a moment please reach out to the hotel directly and ask for the front office manager. Thank you, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.