Ratings based on 1,948 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Great view of the ocean right outside your window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great hotel close to beach, dining and airport

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Love staying here, it’s close to beach, dining and airport
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We look forwarding to seeing you again soon. Thank you,
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but could improve

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Cons: Flexibility or the option for early check-in
I booked this room because my flight would be arriving early. I asked prior to booking the flight would early check-ijn be possible. Front desk assured me that I nothing to worry about, I arrived at 1:30 pm & i had EVERYTHING to worry about. Front desk pointed out that check in was at 4 pm & they would do their best to SEE if they could check me in which wasn't anything. I waited in the lobby for 2 1/2 hours only for them to tell me at 4pm they had a room ready for me. That defeated them whole purpose of me coming to this hotel. I only booked her based on being able to do early checkin which was not an option. Overall the stay was good & the rooms are decent. Oh yeah ...one more thing I booked the room with the oceanview only to be placed in a room with a wall that was blocking the "oceanview" because I was on the 1st flr(something they don't mentioned in the descrition) & I would have to wait possibly another hour for the rooms with the "oceanview" to be ready. Hotel at best is decent & gets the job done but it is nowhere near luxurious oceanfront getaway that they advertise in the pics . Tom foolery at it's best
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2018 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and helps us improve our customer experience and the quality of our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the early check in, as well as the discrepancy with the view, but I hope you will return to stay again so we can provide you with the service you deserve. Please keep in mind that check in is guaranteed at 4pm, and we cannot guarantee an early check in unless you book your reservation for the night prior to your arrival. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, ca

Great, relaxing hotel on the marina.

Posted Jan 9, 2018
We have gone to the Portofino numerous times while visiting family. Our stay has always been amazing. They never fail to leave us smiling in the end. Great Yacht club decorations, wonderful staff, comfortable, and clean. We love the Portofino. Not to mention their Baleen resteraunt is absolutely delicious, with great views of the Marina and boats. We can not sing enough praises for the Portofino.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Lovely location with great views of the ocean on one side and the marina on the other. Good restaurants within an easy walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal, Canada

Not quite up to scratch..

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Beautiful location but a somewhat rundown facility which falls short on housekeeping services and upgrades. Wifi was wonky and erratic. Bathroom was a bit grungy, mattress was soft, sofa was stained, cheaper Kleenex and toilet paper.... you get the picture. Staff was friendly but we had to ask almost every day for something like coffee cups. Big push to sell you stuff. The mini fridge was so packed with items to buy that we had to remove things to squeeze in a container of yogurt. On the plus side was the ocean view and terrace, nice sitting area off the lobby, and we lucked out with weather. The room rate was reasonable as we got a deal and were upgraded to an ocean-side room. Would we stay there again? Possibly. Overall a good experience but could have been better with some minor tweaks and improvements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Please know that I have brought up your suggestions to the appropriate departments. I hope you remember us the next time you are in Los Angeles, and return again. Best Wishes,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Needed to get away into luxury

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Quiet, View (ocean), fond memories.
Cons: Staff was very helpful.
Location: Came to LA to spend Christmas time with the our 2 sons and 1 daughter-in-law. They live in nearby in LA.
First time in the hotel was when we booked rooms for our sons wedding - held on site several years ago. Wanted a couple of days rest from a flight from NY to LA. Went for a bit of luxury (happy Christmas to us!) Took the room with the view and the good restaurant nearby. Caught up on some much needed sleep!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
The beds were so soft, I had to move to another room the entire bed went down in middle When I moved to my second room tge bed had hair in it and appeared never to have been changed The staff was accompanying and moved me to ocean ciew room beautiful view bed still soft but clean and better. This hotel is very expensive they charge facility fee plus everything else Parking is outrageous then they expect you to tip on top of that!!! I would not ever stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Hello, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We work hard to please our guests, and I do apologize that your expectations were not met. I hope you will view this as an isolated incident and return to stay again so we can provide you with the service you deserve. Happy Holidays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idyllwild, CA

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: The decor and the lobby.
Cons: Ironed sheets that don't look like they've been slept in.
Location: Nice views, but the harbor restaurants and stores were quite run-down.
Cute hotel. We DID notice that the sheets were quite wrinkled and not "crisp". The lobby was very nice and Christmasy with a fire in the fireplace and a huge tree.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback, and I am glad to hear you enjoyed our holiday décor. We hope to see you again soon! Happy Holidays.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, FL

Good and Bad

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: The view. Boutique, non standard feel.
Cons: Needs maintenance staff at night. Turn on the heat in the morning. And fix that ridiculous American breakfast policy.
It is a beautiful hotel with our wonderful restaurant. The ocean views are extraordinary. The staff was always courteous. On our last night the electricity in our room stopped working. I could not find a circuit breaker or any other way of fixing it so I went to the front desk. They informed me that there was no one there that could come to the room so they gave me two battery powered flashlight. We have to leave at 6 AM for the airport so parking with flashlights was less than perfect. Also on a previous visit we signed up for the “American breakfast“ for $20 extra per night. I assumed that the American breakfast was a generic term. When we looked at the menu we saw that there was called American breakfast. A la Carter it was $12. My wife ordered the granola which was $8. The server informed us that we would have to pay $8 because that wasn’t the American breakfast. I expressed surprise that we were entitled to a $12 breakfast but they wanted to charge us extra for an $8 breakfast. Also there were other $12 breakfasts on the menu with a similar policy that would have cost extra. During my last two visits I have consistently heard “Discussion“ between guests and stuff about this policy. We were refunded the $20 per night charge for the American breakfast but shouldn’t have had to deal with this. Very silly policy in my opinion. If the weather is cold the hallways, lobby, and restaurant are uncomfortably cold. Dan
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Jessica Crowder, Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Please know that our breakfast policy has changed, and it is now a $25 credit for breakfast. It is no longer limited to the "American Breakfast." I apologize for the issue with the electricity. I can imagine how difficult that must have been. Please know that it is not a common occurrence, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.