Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Wonderful location: unhappy without room service

Posted Sep 5, 2017
This hotel earn all the stars for the location. Wonderful place at La Jolla cove. However, we were not happy with room cleaning and staff. They were not professional. They promised us second floor, but gave us our room on first floor. Also, they provide same breakfast everyother day. Just few sweets and oats. We were happy with the location of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Great location and pet friendly. Bed we're a little hard but manageable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Great Cottage Hotel Steps from the beach

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Small boutique style hotel in a residential setting, with excellent waterfront location and large rooms. Would definitely recommend finding the extra fan in the closet for summer days. Very comfortable, quiet, and clean - can walk to the beach, coffee, and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Relaxing and great location

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Nice location with easy access to beach. Very friendly staff members and knowledgeable. Had great recommendations to events. Stay was cozy straight from a magazine look. Would definitely come again, and highly recommend it to a friend. Room was clean and tightly, very nice weather, room had no A/C but no need, cool breeze from beach front took care of that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N, Glendale CA

Little jewel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
This was one of the best findings and one of the best experiences we ever had. It was my cusins graduation and father's day weekend and maybe that also contributed to the fact....however, Scripps Inn was a great finding and im so glad i chose this place to stay for our weekend getaway. Location, staff, room cleanness and above all THE VEIW was incredible. I definitely recommend this cozy place and about 10 of us are going back again in October. LOVED IT!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Jolla, CA

BEWARE!I Robbed in room #1

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: LOCATION only, but would not recommend this hotel
Cons: A security camera on the premises... watching guests, workers, manager, staff Put a placard on each room- (clean room/privacy)
Scripps Inn location was nice but nothing special. The breakfast was awful. The orange juice was not 100%- (restaurant supply), by 9:30 AM the better pastries were already taken. We stayed 4 nights- unhealthy, No apples, oranges etc. They pride "breakfast is free" but it's added in the cost of the room. Who's kidding but them! I left personal items left in the room (3 massage gift certificates), navy cashmere sweater, gift in a bag, hairbrush, & a note on the table saying "I will be back at 11:00 AM." Upon arrival, #1 was "opened!" I had the right to get into that room until 12:00 PM, paid via Expedia. My friend came to pick me up at 11:15 & I planned to give her a "gift" that was in that bag.... everything was gone in that room! The staff said there wasn't "anything"in there except "trash." (staff have key cards to get into all the rooms.) This isn't a mystery. "What do you think happened?" The manager, Bryce said workers saw my husband packing & leaving at 7:30 AM He assumed I left too. Wrong! I had a flight later. I saw and left them when I was in that room before, leaving at 8:00 AM for coffee.Ironical it is, Bryce wasn't even at work, yet. Who would have ever thought a traveler needs to take video/pictures of the room. I also couldn't use the bathroom even though I had rented the room until 12:00 PM. The housekeepers had already cleaned my room, so the manager took the liberty to have me use the "dirty room" next door. Their unprofessional management doesn't prevail
5 out of 5
by Chad

Loved it

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and great value
5 out of 5
by Michael

Don't Miss Out!

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing!
5 out of 5
by Lauren

Beautiful location!

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
The location was perfect! We could hear the ocean from our bed, and the view was to die for. The room was spacious and the decorations were cozy and stylish. The only complaint would be the breakfast-- it was just croissants and yogurt.
5 out of 5
by miyuki

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels