Ratings based on 1,674 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
horrible wi-fi service and my back killed me after sleeping on their old mattress
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear your recent stay was not pleasant. We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Goodyear AZ

Hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Nice hotel right on the beach. Surfer school on the beach by hotel. Awesome! Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Excellent place to eat right next door. Place is called World Famous. Great food. Lobster tacos are addicting. Staff was excellent. Watching sunset over ocean from our balcony was amazing. Enjoyed our trip. We will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Very nice view of ocean
Cons: not have balcony lights automatically turn on or have the ability to turn the lights off individually.
Close to everything! Nice and Relaxing. The front desk staff were very helpful for finding activities and letting us know what tickets they could arrange for us and if they were the cheapest prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, your feedback will be passed down to maintenance- we'll see what can be done for the patio lighting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Location Location Location! Basic rooms, with screen doors that open so you can listen to the ocean. And a big pool. What else do you come to PB for?
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
That's right - having the screen doors allow the sound of the ocean to relax you. Thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from az

This place is amazing.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Had the most fun. So relaxing n I like getting coffee n got chocolate 24 hrs a day
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you Teri for your five star rating....having 24 hr coffee and hot chocolate available is a plus. So glad you had fun during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ajax Ontario

Good hotel and close to the beach

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was great. It is very close to the beach and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are happy to hear your stay at the Surfer was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Overpriced Dingy hotel on Pacific Beach Boardwalk

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The only thing about this hotel is location. It is on Pacific Beach Boardwalk the only plus! Otherwise it has beat up furniture, white cheap plastic chairs outside, the rug was torn in some places and when i took a shower the towel was dirty I laid on the floor and it wasn't from me. I am willing to pay for location and view but not for a dump!!! I travel a lot and this was one of the worse rooms I have stayed in!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear The Surfer did not meet your expectations. I thank you for taking the time to write your review all feedback is welcomed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not reserve an ocean view room!!!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My family reserved an ocean view room and paid extra money to do so. When we checked into our hotel, we were given a room without an ocean view and were not told that we were not given the room we paid for. After taking our luggage to the room, we realized that they must have forgotten that we paid extra for the ocean view. The staff said they did not have the room for us and that they gave it to someone else. They were not willing to refund our money or do anything to assist with the problem. When returning home, I contacted expedia about the problem and only then did the hotel contact me, but they said that they would not give me a refund. I had to threaten them with letting expedia know that they were scamming their customers into paying extra money for a room they were not willing to provide before they would give me any sort of refund. They called and left a message saying that they would only give a minimal refund, which was not enough to cover the extra cost. I tried contacting them again to let them know I did not agree with the amount they were offering, but they never responded back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old rooms noise ac was loud no cokes in machine

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: clean fill up coke machine
Old rooms to small entrance a/c was a add on and loud , No cokes in machine all empty windows were dirty the screens have never been clean dirt was falling onto the towels .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
We apologize for the inconvenience your feedback is appreciated and will be passed down to the corresponding departments. Thank you for taking the time to rate us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno Nv

Great hotel on Oceanfront Walkway!

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: I wanted an ocean view king room and got it.
Cons: Some updating in the room perhaps a microwave or kitchenettes. An option to barbeque on the properties would be awesome.
Location: Riding our bikes, walking up and down the boardwalk, going to Belmont, seeing the ocean, surfing lessons. Mission Park sooo relaxing.
Had a great time at Surfer Beach Hotel. Loved being on the beach watching the sunsets and hearing the waves..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you Sunnyday93 for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate the feedback, for future our Jr Suites have a small kitchenette. See you next time!