Ratings based on 6,718 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home...

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The Dana at Mission Bay is our home away from home. It is beautiful, clean, fun, and walking distance from Sea World although there is also a complementary shuttle. There's so much to do like, pedal boating, paddle boarding, kayaking, and more. My family absolutely loves this hotel and have been staying at this hotel for 5 years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Ana, CA

Great place for biking and water sports

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The beautiful views and the convenience to Sea World.
Cons: Shuttle service wait time needs to be clearly explained.
Location: Sea World, Old Town San Diego, Mission Bay, and the beach are all conveniently located near by.
Great hotel near the water and Sea World. Very convenient to the bike trail and Mission Bay. Comfortable, clean, and friendly staff. We took advantage of the free shuttle to Sea World, which was great in the morning, but late in picking us up in the afternoon. The pool was lovely, and we were allowed to check in early which was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Awesome!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view - easy access - friendly staff.
Cons: Air con kept going out, but they were right on it - sure it needs replacing.
Location: Wonderful location - central to everything - loved it!
Fantastic stay - gorgeous view! My daughter, grandkids and I had a fantastic time at a fantastic hotel in a fantastic room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not worth money!!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Probably the worst customer service I have ever encountered, by both hotel staff and the restaurant staff were even worse. Rooms could be way cleaner!! Trash around grounds of bayfront rooms. Beds hurt my back!! Overpriced and not worth the money. Would not go back or recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anderson SC

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Have not received the final bill in e-mail. Other then that it was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Over priced resort fee.

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Grounds
Cons: Remodel Building D rooms with new carpet, furniture, bedding.
Location: USS Midway a must!
The ground of the Dana are beautiful and well maintained. The room we stayed in had dirty, stained carpet; the plantation shutters would not remain closed, so room bright in morning; pillows were lumpy and need to be replaced. Also, in walking property, we noted piles of chairs for disposal. These were the same chairs in our room, one of the most expensive rooms on the property (Building 2, 3rd floor). The Dana charges a $35 per day resort fee. They list 10 amenities for this feature, many that are standard (no fee) at most resorts. Of the 3 main reasons for the resort fee, 2 were not up to par. We had to go to the lobby to sign-on to their WIFI. The parking was terrible. Not enough spaces for the 33 rooms in Building 2. Many times we had to park by the entrance gate in the evening. I need a knee replacement knees, and the extra walk was painful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler AZ

Great Location

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Location , price, Free coffee in the morning , helpful staff
Cons: adhere to reservation we had a room with 2 queens reserved they gave us a king and a blow up bed to help the sleeping situation .. NOT HAPPY
Location: Close to beach , shopping , boating , dining .SeaWorld , Zoo .. everything is near by
Location is near to all and right on the bay .. most rooms have great views .. cute gift shop.. We stayed with some other friends .. all 3 rooms were different is size, patios and balconies were nice sized with furniture to sit out and enjoy the San Diego weather... pool and spa were well maintained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bismarck ND

Just ok

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: The Midway aircraft carrier and close to the water.
The hotel rooms are small and older. The room was a little hotter than it should have been due to the location of the air conditioner which is tucked in the far corner of the bathroom next to the sink. The restaurant was good and service was better than average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place, right on bay.

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Great place, close to everything. We didn't enjoy paying a fee for internet when it never worked. We didn't like paying for parking when our son is handicapped and told then and we were told the fee was waived but still charged, besides there is no parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice resort by mission beach

Posted Aug 10, 2017
We had a great stay at The Dana. Our room was clean and comfortable. And it was really convenient that we were able to rent bikes, paddle boats, paddle boards, and jetskis since our resort was right by the water.