Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orage county,ca

Worst restaurant

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Foods wr ordered were really bad ,we coulden eat,but we paid full. My wife got several insect bites from bed at night.When we check out,my wife told it to front desk girl,and advised to check the bed and spray.But first word she said was that my wife got the insect bite from golf course,not from the room.We didn't ask any discount or any refund,just friendly advice, but she insisted that is not from the bed or room,and later she called and said same thing.No apologies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mex

Nice location, old hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
The location is nice, the lodge is old, well mantained and clean. Service us ok, nothing awesome, and expensive for what you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Definitely going back - great experience

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: architecture, spa, staff, restaurant, bed
Cons: Great view from the balconies, but the dark wooden railings are huge and blot out the view at eye level when you sit. Some glass here perhaps?
Location: Golf on premise. Good hikes, all the beaches and activities at La Jolla are a $10 uber ride away. Clothing optional Black's beach a small hike away.
We stayed here for three days for our anniversary. We found it a great experience. There is an emphasis on golf, but we had a great time even doing nothing golf related. The building is about 7 years old but has been designed and built to seem like a beautiful, much older Scottish structure. The staff are helpful and courteous. The concierge helped us plan our stay and activities in the area. They were even generous with early check in, late check out and use of spa facilities on the day of checkout. The spa experience was very relaxing and the wife enjoyed it. The service by the pool was great too. The fine dining option is great if pricey. We were in the Palisade King room, which is one of the better rooms - it had a great view (golf course + ocean in the horizon), a nice fire-place and an excellent bed that I miss very much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by A. Thomas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and we are so happy you were able to enjoy all that the Lodge has to offer. We hope to see you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Excellent service and a very relaxing environment and great food! Be prepared to relax here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Wonderful resort!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
One of our favorites. Beautiful rooms and the staff is most accommodating. I highly recommend this resort. Quiet and peaceful with wonderful restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by A. Thomas, Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed our restaurants as we have been focused on making the Lodge at Torrey Pines a culinary destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothings
Location: Perfect location
We have stayed here several times and it is just a marvelous hotel. We love it -- staff is great, rooms are beautiful and spacious, and the restaurant is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by A. Thomas, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect score we hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Amazing

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Gorgeous setting and authentic craftsman decor. Huge rooms. The staff continually went above and beyond our every expectation, especially Ahmed at the pool. He should teach courses on how to make guests feel special and truly pampered. We loved that the spa's sauna, steam room, aromatherapy room and relaxation room were complimentary. The food food, even by the pool, was amazing, with great presentation. And don't miss the nature preserve just steps away. We hiked it twice at sunset. Perfect mother-daughter time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by A. Thomas, Hotel Management
Thank you for you glowing comments and we will be sure to pass on your review to Ahmed. We are proud to have Ahmed as part of our team. We hope to see you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Graduation weekend @UCSD

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The location and appearance of the hotel.
Cons: More accommodating and helpful staff.
Location: The location is excellent because it's near UCSD, a lot of good places to eat and shopping malls.
The hotel location is excellent, it's just a few minutes away from UCSD, where my son's school, the aesthetics of the hotel is really nice and inviting, the room is clean and bed is comfortable, but the staff, particularly in the front desk, is not very helpful and accommodating. We arrived early in the hotel and we know that the check-in time is 4 o'clock p.m., but I was hoping that we can get into a room at least an hour early, so we can rest a little bit before we attend another graduation ceremony at 6:30, I keep asking the front desk person if they have an available room, but they keep saying that if a room is ready they will call us on my cell phone, yet I see people checking in and getting a room right away, the front desk person did not even call me after I checked every half an hour, and when I finally checked at 4:05, they said the room is ready. It is very frustrating and disappointing to have this kind of experience, specially on a long and hot day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by A. Thomas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear you felt you encountered rudeness from some of our staff. We are dedicated to providing a positive experience for each of our guests, which is a part of our mission statement that is ingrained in each of the members of our team. Anything less is unacceptable and your review will serve as a reminder for that. We are shocked to hear about your encounter with the raccoons considering there are so many people around and we have fencing that secures the resort. We have never heard of something like this before. That said, it's impossible to control nature and wild creatures can be elusive. We do, nonetheless, implement all the preventative measures allowed by law to keep them away or trap them. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location and your spa experience and we hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by JOO E

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Abra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels