Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Amazing hospitality and comfort

Posted Jan 8, 2018
The staff are incredible and so friendly and helpful. There are some great meal options on site as well as things to do - awesome spa, Golf, hiking/walking trails, beach access, etc. The rooms are well appointed - great size, furniture, and comfortable beds. Our room had a balcony with sliding glass doors and good seating to hang out. It can get pricey with $30/day to park, food, etc but if looking for a splurge and wanting to be treated well, this hotel is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockwall, Texas

Anniversary getaway

Posted Dec 18, 2017
The Lodge is spectacular. Designed after Greene and Greene architectural styling, it is perfectly done. From the timber structures to the furniture, it was beautiful. The staff was exceptional. Courteous and friendly throughout. Amenities throughout. US Open Golf course overlooking the ocean is a must for anyone who has ever swung a club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than Pebble Lodge

Posted Dec 10, 2017
I am always amazed at how great this hote is. My first time to stay during Christmas time. Amazing decorations and amazing smells! My favorite hotel in the US.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Andrew , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you got to experience the decorations this time around. We hope to welcome you back once more with us at The Lodge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: gardens, rooms, staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to beach and easy access to downtown San Dieg.
wonderful experience. we loved the hotel and the staff was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
We truly appreciate your feedback and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Lodge once more in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orage county,ca

Worst restaurant

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Foods wr ordered were really bad ,we coulden eat,but we paid full. My wife got several insect bites from bed at night.When we check out,my wife told it to front desk girl,and advised to check the bed and spray.But first word she said was that my wife got the insect bite from golf course,not from the room.We didn't ask any discount or any refund,just friendly advice, but she insisted that is not from the bed or room,and later she called and said same thing.No apologies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mex

Nice location, old hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
The location is nice, the lodge is old, well mantained and clean. Service us ok, nothing awesome, and expensive for what you get.
4 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Heather

Wonderful place to relax

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasantly surprised by this hideaway hotel. I felt like we were transported to Scotland, but with better weather.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great place
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Beautiful Craftsman Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful Craftsman Hotel with great hiking trails down to the beach. Nice spa and great food as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017
Thank you for your great review!