Ratings based on 629 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Great hotel. Perfect location. Fabulous restaurant and lounge. Staff were nice but seemed surprised by the most basic requests, like they had just started working there. However, guy at check-in desk was super professional and prepared. Everyone else, not so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Mo

Hotel Staff Was Great and View Was Beautiful!

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: We were told with our VIP status that we would receive complimentary parking which we found out was not the case.
Christina the supervisor was exceptional. She checked us into the hotel and let us know about all the things to do in the area. We were there for a birthday getaway and as a courtesy they sent up a delicious dessert tray. The restaurant there was exceptional and the roasted chicken was to die for! Housekeeping was excellent and the view that was given to us was beautiful. Definitely worth staying again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location central to all

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Tower23 was a great hotel and centrally located to all great sight seeing in the San Diego area. It was super clean and comfortable with great views of the beach and ocean. Everyone on the staff was super helpful and kind. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and Katherine went above and beyond providing us with a bottle of champagne and a stellar restaurant recommendation (Mister A's in midtown - amazing views of the water, skyline and planes taking off and landing). The hotel restaurant has amazing food choices and variety and the deck is a great place to also relax and enjoy the views. The inclusion of bikes, beach chairs, towels, and more was a great added benefit; most places seem to nickel and dime you for those items. The beach is also literally steps away and we enjoyed morning exercise along the endless board walk and a picture perfect sunset each and every night. We found San Diego itself to be very enjoyable and everywhere was very easy to get to. We went from Tower 23 to the Gas Lamp Quarter, Little Italy, Old Town, Coronado, Torrey Pines, the Zoo (and more); and all were between $10-$20 Uber rides away. In short, this is a great hotel and we highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Beach Hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Tower23 really exceeded my expectations. From the friendly staff to the comfortable room with ocean view, my stay was memorable. The best part is the location right at a great San Diego beach. There is a nice running or walking path that is elevated overlooking the beach and ocean with a perfect view of the sunset. Great spot, wonderful hotel experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Posted Sep 28, 2017
I love this hotel, but I was very disappointed with the housekeeping staff. I hope oils leave for hours and comeback to get ready for me he evening and housekeeping had not come yet. Everything else about this hotel I love.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Beale

Very predictable and nice.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly, location
Cons: Pool/fountain could use some work.
Location: surfing, walking, skateboarding, biking, eating out, nightlife, great people wathching
Always enjoy staying here as the staff is friendly and the location is incredible. They do a good job of keeping the hotel fresh and updated, not an easy thing to do seaside. The food and drink menus are always something I get excited about. I stay here at least once a year and there is a really why, it is the best on the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bell,ca

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Excellent view and quietness. Beautiful view of the beach. Clean hotel rooms and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Beach living

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Our stay was really pleasant the staff is by far the most helpful and happy bunch I've ever encountered. Except for one grumpy valet Parker and a sort of kinda lazy waitress at the Jordan restaurant, the rest was great. Great location, lots to do around the area. We did have an issue with their air bed, it deflated in the middle of the night we had to have it changed up without waking the kids up. They did nothing to compensate for the rigamarole the night before. Not even a late check-out . I would still go back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Excellent Stay Right on the beach, Location!!

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: The location and the view.
Cons: More art on the walls and a soda machine.
Location: Pacific Beach is right out the door and about 1.8 mile walk to Mission Beach. Tourist shops and a few food places along the way. Surfing & Fishing
This hotel has an excellent location right on the beach. We got a room facing the ocean and the view was amazing. The staff was extremely attentive and polite. Rooms are clean. The beds are comfortable, but the pillow top mattress pad was a bit uneven and lumpy. The hotel is loud. People constantly outside your window and lots of door banging around the hotel. So if you're looking for a quiet stay this isn't the place. A lot of homeless people around outside the property but that's unavoidable anywhere on the beach and not under the hotel's control. The restaurant was not bad. Not sure if they were in the middle of a shift change but it was almost empty and it took a while to get service. Loved the complimentary drink, and amenities. Excellent room service. Overall we were very pleased with our stay. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Ideal location

Posted Aug 11, 2017
This hotel is right on the beach and has excellent views. Plenty of places to visit within walking distance. Hotel offers free bike rentals to explore a bit more. Downtown San Diego and La Jolla are short car rides away. Staff is very friendly. Hotel restaurant was excellent, though you do pay for the experience (try 1/2 off bottles of wine on Tuesdays). Wifi was spotty but with such good weather you'll spend most of your day outside anyway.