Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Ian

Good

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
Disappointed that our room was not in the Chateau as displayed on the Hotels.com website, but was in the hotel annex - a much smaller room with steps to the bathroom/toilet. While the bed was comfortable and all the facilities worked fine, we felt misled and sad that we did not get our expected stay in the Chateau. One other observation is that while the hotel provided a breakfast on request, it had no facilities for evening meals, though it did offer a list of recommended restaurants in Beaune - a 2-3km drive, so late arrivals may find this disappointing. Fortunately we arrived by 4pm so had time to drive into beautiful Beaune, where the town centre had a wide choice of good restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Jean Baptiste

1 night stay in Burgundy

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
In general we were happy with our stay in this wonderful French hotel even though our room was very small and located on the second floor without elevator. No-one helped us carry our heavy luggages. Also a cat was seating on the seats in the common area which is no big deal unless you have cats hair allergies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel in a tranquil pretty village

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: It would be lovely if they could provide dinner.
Location: Beaune is a beautiful small town with historical buildings to visit and delicious wine and food to eat. There are numerous vineyards to visit.
We had a lovely stay. The room was comfortable and large enough for me and 3 children. The pool is small but pretty and good for a decent swim. The breakfast was outstandingly good both choice and quality of everything. The staff were helpful and kind.
3 out of 5
by epifania

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Room very small.No elevator.No restaurant.No room service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Refurbishment long overdue

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Complete refurbishment
Location: Beaune is a very beautiful and interesting place, only a couple of miles away. Good tourist literature and maps provided by hotel staff.
Good location close to Beaune but a very tired property. Bathroom tiling and fittings very old and long overdue for replacement. Most of the carpet treads on the stair carpet were worn out and UK health & safety rules wouldn't have allowed them. 2 nd floor bedroom but no lift. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast. Helpful list of local restaurants provided as no restaurant in the hotel.
5 out of 5
by cynthia

Peaceful Oasis in Burgundy

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
After having spent a week in Paris, we were ready for a quiet and peaceful stay in Beaune. We were not disappointed. Chateau de Challenges is located in a very remote location 1.5 kms from town and is like being separated from the outside world.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stopover in Beaune on the way to Paris

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The loaction, look of the hotel and friendly staff
Cons: Access to the upper floors
Location: Close to Beaune and all it has to offer. There's also a pool and the appear to have bikes the can hire
This hotel exudes charm and is all you would expect from a French chalet. The staff are very helpful and friendly. It has great grounds, which make you think you are somewhere in the countryside, rather than close to the town and some busy roads. It is very easy to reach from those roads, we came from south and found it with no trouble. The only downside is there is no elevator, so if stairs are an issue it would be wise to avoid. Although the staff are very happy to help you take the luggage up those stairs. Breakfast was also very nice, the traditional French continental style. There's also a quirky bar where you can order drinks and tapas food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staines upon Thames

One nighter

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Only one night. Our room up a very tight staircase. Not the easiest but the staff did offer to help.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel and Beaune a good place to visit.