Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very large nice hotel; not in center of village

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The grounds are nice and quiet. Lots of places to relax and enjoy the wonderful summer weather.
First, note that as an Orbitz customer, you might get the absolute worst view in the entire complex. We were first given a room that overlooked the entrance to the parking garage. I went back to the desk to ask if we could be moved, and after a few minutes on the phone, I was told that no, that was the best they could do. I heard the desk employee mention several times that it was a "wholesale" reservation. Meanwhile, my husband was talking to the parking attendant and was told that the property wasn't even half full and it would be best to talk to the evening manager because he was usually more helpful. So, we deposited our stuff, and walked up to the center village for something to eat. When we came back, I again went to the desk, and this time we were moved. The second view, while still not stellar, was at least pleasant. On a whole the property is very nice, clean and comfortable. It is a short walk to the center of the village, which is pleasant in the summer, but may be more of a problem in full ski gear. I believe that there is a a shuttle that takes you to the lifts during ski season. I have stayed here before, many years ago, and booked here due to a little bit of nostalgia. But I will probably stay somewhere more conveniently located when we return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, co

Beautiful hotel nestled in the mountains

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The beautiful setting tucked into the Rockies at Vail. The swim pools and hottubs.
Cons: I'm sure this can't be improved but it seems it is such a large hotel that the rooms are very far away from front desk and everything.
Location: Because you are tucked up in the mountains it is a short drive to restaurants and shopping but only by a few minutes.
We live in Denver and love to get away as often as we can to unwind from the city. The Charter was a beautiful resort tucked in the mountains behind Vail. Close to Avon as well. Spacious pools and hottubs for swimming and soaking. Private and quiet resort. We e drove down in the evening for a lovely dinner in Vail and returned for a late night swim. Perfect overnight get away.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great location and nice hotel. Great pools and hot tub
5 out of 5
by Edgar

Great experience at the Charter

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay at the Charter. We will do it again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Everything you need, careful of A/C

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Great hotel, awesome for the price. No A/C, had difficulty sleeping one night. Otherwise great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, beautiful location!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: We loved the spa and the grounds.
Location: It is located close to the village. You can hike, eat, shop, and enjoy the night life all within a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We had a beautiful weekend at The Charter. It is a bit older, but well maintained. The rooms were well appointed and the beds were very comfortable. We had deep tissue massages at Spa Struck. The spa was beautiful and the the massages were amazing! The walk to the village was short and pleasant.
5 out of 5
by veronica

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was great. all services were wonderful and the front desk was very helpful in suggesting activities for me and my guest, they even called to schedule the activities and provided a shuttle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Only problem is no AC in unit. Had a heat wave the week we were there in the Summer. Couldn't cool the room down