Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely hospitable staff.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing I can think of
Location: close to the cost, mainly Southward
Agreed to check in at 03:00 (due to delayed flight) Huge well appointed converted barn room lots of character Excellent breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely B&B

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Lovely B&B, the owners were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough. We arrived later than planned (and outside the usual check in time) absolutely exhausted, due to road closures and traffic but they stayed up to let us in and show us around. Breakfast was lovely and the grounds are beautiful! Definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Impressive and unique.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The unusual setting and the feeling of being miles from anywhere.
The Stables is set is in fabulous grounds deep in the Suffolk countryside but only 15 minutes from Southwold. It has an interesting history which is worth reading about in the handbook. Inside there is a stately home feel but at the same time it is relaxed with all mod cons. We stayed in the Southwold room. It was spacious and had everything we needed. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was spotless. We felt as though we were staying somewhere special and it would be fabulous to hire the 4 rooms for a special occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

last minute break

Posted May 27, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: room, food and service
Location: quiet and a bit off the beaten track
Just returned from a 2 night break. Stayed in Southwold room which was large, comfortable and had character. Excellent breakfast and friendly service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely b & b close to Southwold

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location, owners and big rooms
Cons: Maybe snacks in the bar area
Location: On a country estate. Southwold close by. Did the Addams tour
Had a lovely 2 nights. Great setting for a chilled out stay. Lovely owners and a great breakfast coooked by them. Enjoyed the trust bar for a quick drink in the evening Room was large and the bed was very comfortable Great value for money, especially when compared to the options in Southwold itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located on a country estate

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location, hosts and breakfast
Cons: We can only speak for the room we had, which had a bath with shower attachment. This wasn't a problem for us at the moment, but might be at a later t
Location: Southwold, small pretty, not commercialised seaside town, Adnams Brewery and Distillery which runs tours, RSPB at Minnsmere
Our stay at The Stables was a lovely experience. The hosts Alan and Katie were very friendly and everything we needed to know was explained at the outset. Our room was large, with a comfortable bed. The furnishings were 1930/1940's style and although the building itself is very old, we felt it all married quite well together. We had a large bathroom, with a bath which had a shower attachment - something to be noted for those less physically able. Because of its location, we had a very quiet nights sleep and as there is minimal light pollution we really felt as though we had gotten away from busy daily life. We completed our breakfast order the night before. In the morning cereals and fruit and yoghurt were available also. We had a cooked breakfast which was cooked and presented very well. Overall, our stay was a very good experience and we do hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

great hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Fab b&b, warm, friendly, helpful owners, big breakfast. No complaints. Will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Beautiful old stable block

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Beautiful rooms and fab brekky and also have a small lounge with honesty bar.
Cons: Very characterful so not too much improvement needed really. You can hear everything from the room next door though . Not sure how you could improve
Location: Very quiet as located within Henham Park. Definitely need a car.
B&B located in beautiful old 1750 stable block. Lovely vaulted rooms, huge and comfortable. Excellent plumbing too! Fantastic full English breakfast and Alan and Katie very friendly and hospitable. Loved our long weekend in this characterful building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very comfortable stay in peaceful settng

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Room was big, with ample room for family. Bedding good quality with plenty of pillows which make a change from some stays! Nice breakfast and a very peaceful setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely location, friendly staff

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Rural Suffolk is great for peace and scenery, particularly near the coast and this is no exception. If you can ignore the less attractive part of the driveway (and lack of signs), The Stables at Henham is a stunning location. Whilst you can see the not quite finished bits, I didn't feel that it took anything away. The Blythburgh room is big, well furnished, and clean as were all of the communal facilities. The couple running the place were friendly and helpful at all times. We'll definitely be going back someday. If I could suggest one improvement - put the caravan somewhere else; it really ruins the looks of the front of the building.