Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Just an overnight stay. The third Bedford hotel I've tried and by far the best. Quiet location despite being close to main road, spacious car park, pleasant grounds, comfortable room and smoothly quick & efficient check-in/check-out. Will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Peace and quiet

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Cons: The restaurant.
We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the River Ouse and the wildlife - delightful to wake up to. Room was very nice, comfortable and clean. Spacious bathroom. Staff were very courteous. However, the restaurant was very average even amateurish. Having had dinner there, we went into the town centre for breakfast. Would recommend the hotel but not the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Very nice hotel and a great location.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
We only stayed one night in this lovely hotel. Very clean and comfortable! Reception staff were lovely and welcoming.
4 out of 5
by Rachel

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
A cosy hotel with pleasant staff. Beautiful 15 century barn in grounds for functions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient for business

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
good stop over for a business trip nice clean comfy room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Better than expected

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Not your run of the mill hotel. Has character. You can sit and watch the river go by. Saw swans, signets and a heron. Friendly staff.
Cons: More 'normal' tea provided in the room, although if you ask at reception they will give you extra. Not sure if there is a lift?
Location: Easy to find. Very handy for Old Warden.
We stayed for 2 nights as we attended the Wings and Wheels air show at Old Warden. The hotel has lots of character, very close to the river, plenty of parking, but little road noise. The breakfast was very nice, but if you arrive late you may have to wait whilst they top up. If you don't want your egg scrambled, ask, and they will prepare a different way. We didn't eat our evening meal in the restaurant, but did have a bar meal the second day, which was fine. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. There was a wedding both days, which didn't impact on us, but I think the waiting staff in the bar were newish. They were fine, and obviously eager to please. The room was comfortable, plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. No fridge. Didn't use the shower as we had baths so can't comment on how powerful the shower was. I was glad I took my own toiletries as only a small shampoo, soap and shower gel provided. Water was very, very hot. Room was quite hot so we opened the windows the second night. Being Monday morning we did get a little road noise, but nothing to complain about. Refuse lorry was noisy, but can't really complain about that. I do have a thing about towels. Why is it when I try to save on washing, and hang up my towels, the housekeeping staff insist on replacing them with clean ones? This seems to happen in most hotels, despite having notices asking people to 'help the environment'.
5 out of 5
by barry from Gosport

the best

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, Wiltshire

Requested a dog friendly room and was given a bril

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Close to the town centre and close to my daughter's house. It was a perfect location for me.
Cons: A bridge from the hotel over into Priory Park.
Location: Very close to the town centre; easy to walk to once you get to Priory Park.
It was brilliant to stay at this hotel with my two dogs; the staff were extremely helpful; the room was really lovely with plenty of room. It was on the ground floor which was brilliant. I could take them out into the grounds and give them their food outside. It is a little walk along the main road down to Priory Park which wasn't ideal. Pity there is no bridge from the hotel over into the park. First thing inn the morning, I walked a short distance right out of the hotel then down some steps to a woodland walk into a grassy area by the Anchor Inn. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent. I would definitely be very happy to come back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Gail from Scottish Borders

Handy for Chicksands.....

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant stay nice hotel great staff.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels