Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Good hotel with great location. After an initial problem with our room, the young lady at reception (Catherine) sorted this out and we were upgraded. She was extremely welcoming from the moment we arrived and was efficent and friendly which was a plus point. The bathroom definitely needs some work and a more powerful shower would be an idea. We didnt eat in the hotel so cant comment, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Overall a pleasant stay with just a few minor points. I would definitely stay again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford

Riverside Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
It's a local hotel used as home was un-inhabital due to heating failure. The standard room was only a few pounds dearer that the local budget hotel. The standard room was comfy , clean and well equipped including an iron and ironing board. Noisy neighbours meant a room move and the staff could not of been more helpful or understanding This gave us a free upgrade to an executive room with a river view at no charge. The hotel it self is well appointed with a spa, pool and hot tub amongst other facilities. It's in the town so shopping is very easy to do . The only down to the entire stay is the complicated pay to park system run by a private parking company. For hotel guests they charge £5 a night . All in all a nice hotel with great staff which we would use again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

Hotel set at a beautiful setting by the river

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Excellent location by the river embankment.
Cons: Some restoration to the seats at the lobby and the bar.
Location: The Higgins museum, Shopping centre, nice pubs, nice walk/jog along the embankment
It is my second time round in this hotel and overall enjoyed the stay here. Staff are very friendly indeed. Maybe some restoration to the antique seats at the bar will make it look smarter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwood, Middx.

Lovely town centre hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location, lounge, restaurant and bar.
Location: Right in the centre of town, by the river and at the end of the high street.
We booked a single night's stay as we were seeing a band in Bedford. The hotel is right in the middle of town and is a lovely old building built at the end of the 18th century. The communal areas are delightful. Our room was in a newer block built over the car park but was perfectly adequate though not overly large. Breakfast was only £10 if booked in advance and was very good. If we ever stay in Bedford again and I'd definitely book The Swan and I'd be tempted to eat in the hotel as our meal out at a restaurant (highly rated on another travel site) was poor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Disappointing stay

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The location and the original building at the front. The staff were friendly.
Cons: Responding more promptly to maintainence-related issues. When booking a room, give customer a choice of which one.
Location: Great for walking along River Ouse. 5 minute walk from the shops and museums. Near to bus and train station.
The room was overlooking carpark/rear hotel entrance, and was dark. The heating was not working, and although I did report this mid-afternoon, nothing had been done when I returned later on in the evening. Spent a cold and noisy night in the room: loud music from downstairs, played until 1.30am. After that, guests arrived back to thier rooms nearby, but were very loud, shrieking and banging doors until 3.30am. In the morning, I boiled the kettle to make some tea, only to find that the water coming out, was brown. On inspection of the inside of kettle, there were seeds of some sort, inside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Hotel is very dated

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs to look at other hotels and the service that is given
Location: Good for local restaurants and loverly walks along the river
Our fourth mini-break this year but was very disappointing especially breakfast. Hot food was cold - scrambled egg all over the floor. Staff made not attempt to clean it. Out of all of our breaks this year this hotel was the worse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location, for a weekend indoors

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Comfort and cleanliness
Cons: Short in staff members and not much to do and see nearby other than the great park and river.
Location: Location is good asnis by the river and the park if you plan to walk, however I found the city centre not to be as atractive.
If you plan for a relaxing stay without leaving the hotel, this hotel gives you a great combination thanks to the variety of services provided, ie SPA, massages, etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A beautiful place in Bedford

Posted Nov 10, 2016
A beautiful place in Bedford. A lovely quiet old style hotel, perfect for sheltering from the rain. Also do one of the best steaks I've ever had!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic couples retreat

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The location and the decor
Cons: The pillows were very hard, but again we could have asked to exchange them
Location: Museums are located nearby, castle park and the river. You have to go to Nazar's and The Spice Shop the food was incredible.
The hotel was situated in town but by the river which was a lovely view from our room. The room was clean and had a large double bed and lots of amenities including a fridge. The toiletries were lovely especially the moisturiser and shampoo/conditioner. The only downside was the pillows, but similarly we didn't ask to change them so that is on us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with character. Very friendly staff

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Had a great stay. Perfectly situated for our needs with great views of the river. Food was excellent and our room was clean and comfortable . Unable to use the room phone as it didn't work so had to go to reception to tell them about this and a drainage smell in the bathroom which thankfully faded before we got back to our room so not a major concern.