Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointing hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Deadline for party noise. Sound insulate water services.
To enjoy this hotel you need to be lucky with room allocation and lucky with the date of your stay. I was unlucky on both counts. I stayed on a Saturday. The hotel is a venue for conferences, weddings etc., so some joyous behaviour is to be expected. But at 1.30am on a Sunday morning? My room overlooked the back of the bar and raucous noise lasted well beyond a deadline that most hotels would have set for party-goers to respect the needs of private guests. Some rooms may be fine. Mine was in an outbuilding - akin to the small bedroom of a converted house. If I wanted to stay in a domestic B&B I would have chosen one and paid less. Luckily it wasn't raining. If it is you need a coat and umbrella to go to breakfast. Even after the party noise subsided, I could hear rushing water and water tank filling noise absolutely every minute of the night. I expect there is a mains water tank above the second-floor room I was allocated and it is very busy and very loud. Ironically, I chose this hotel over one down the road (which was cheaper) because reviews of the other one mentioned noise. It couldn't possibly have been worse than this. Breakfast was typical self-service, mediocre and luke warm. Normally toast would be cooked fresh, but here it is in the warmer with everything else, so even the toast is dry. Furnishings throughout are bland, utility style, not I keeping with the property at all, which has a great deal of unmet potential. Will I return? Absolutely not.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herts.

Nice room

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Excellent location and setting
Cons: The beds and pillows need serious attention.
Stayed overnight after a wedding. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable but I think the mattresses need an upgrade and the pillows need throwing out, they were awful. The bathroom was clean but a little tired. Breakfast was good, good selection of hot and cold. Very convenient for a wander round Hitchin.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: It is central to the town, loads of restarunts and eating places to choose from. Very nice hotel and atmosphere
Location: It is central to the town, loads of restarunts and eating places to choose from
Very nice hotel, good gym facilities. Breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Really nice stay at the hotel only down fall is the checking out is abit early
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

More like student accommodation

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: convenient for town centre
Cons: refurbishment
Location: The facilities of Hitchin are right outside the gate , plenty of restaurants, and you'll need them.
My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and were disappointed with the room, no wardrobe just an open rail and on opening a drawer the base was left behind making it unusable. Their was only one bedside table and lamp for a double room and the cleaning staff did not turn up to make up the room until gone 5pm! The bathroom too was poorly fitted with creaking bath and dripping shower, the very hot water gushed out of the tap showering the person, and the toilet had a "very" slow fill and poor flush. The decor tired and not nearly as good as a Travelodge. No restaurant in hotel , you would have to eat in the small bar area, and staff rushed off their feet at breakfast time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The hotel was near shops and restaurants
Cons: The signage could be much improved upon as the hotel wasn't that easy to find. I needed to ring hotel for directions and it was only 2 mins away.
Location: Near to shops and restaurants.
Finding the hotel via Satnav proved a problematic as the entrance it's tucked away a bit.
4 out of 5
by Craig from Dorset

Amazing building and grounds

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The history and the decor friendly staff, the grounds set in many acres.
Breakfast on the first morning was a bit hit and miss seemed the 3 servers were not communicating hence ask 3 times what I wanted in the end had to help myself to coffee and grab 1 server to order, hence took about half an hour just to get breakfast. 2nd morning totally different served straight away different servers? (Food was good on both occasions) Spot lights outside my bedroom window are on all night despite heavy curtains the light still shines through the top making the room very light. Evening menu limited choice but close enough to many restaurants so not a problem. I have stayed here a few times and happily use again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really poor

Posted May 22, 2014
I booked the hotel ages in advance. We specifically chose the hotel as we were meeting up with a large group of friends for a social event and wanted to be together. On arrival they had double booked our room and we were instead "farmed out" to a substandard B&B above an Italian restaurant with very little apology. V poor! Would definitely not entertain booking this hotel again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting hotel

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Good price
Cons: Car park is a long way away
Location: Very near town centre. Lovely grounds.
Very helpful hotel manager. Interesting building. Freshly cooked breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Lovely place to stay. The breakfast was great. Big wow factor for the entrance. So pretty lit up at night.