Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good budget option.

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel's target market is domestic Chinese guests. As such, the level of amenities expected is different than what we expect in the U.S. Additionally, the hotel is not in a tourist-centric area, so you get a more authentic China experience, but you also spend time walking through a neighborhood that appears to be dedicated to shops selling materials for commercial ventilation. Finally, the physical plant of the hotel has seen better days, though some of that is the fact that the hotel has been made out of buildings from an older part of Beijing - it is in a hutong. We enjoyed our stay. The amenities were basic, but well done. We did not go to China to spend time in our hotel room, but when we did, we were comfortable. We went in April. I am not sure if it would be as comfortable in the summer heat. We purchased a small fan on our first day in China so that we could moving air for sleeping, which worked well for us. The staff did not speak much English, but were very pleasant and very helpful, going out of their way for us several times during our stay there. Close to the Ping Anli subway stop. The courtyard was a pleasant change from the bustle of Beijing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beijing on new year

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
For this price the hotel must have breakfast. The reception didn't know place to visit and they don't understand the map of the city!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by denverm38@googlemail.com

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Girl in Beijing from Beijing

not worth the money

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels
Honestly, I was overall satisfied with this hotel. (By the way, it's now called "Super 8" not "Lotus") Room service came by everyday to clean the room and the hutong style of the hotel was quite quaint and a unique experience. However, I would label this as something between a hostel and hotel. Definitely not up to hotel standards. My room was spacious and the air conditioner was very efficient, but if I didn't get the discount I did on the room I wouldn't have stayed there. The bathroom was just a sectioned off part of the room with no door. The room smelled ok for the most part, but sometimes the shower or toilet let off a stink that permeated the whole room. All around the bottom of the wall was a black stain which was a bit disconcerting. Overall, it's ok, just not worth the price.
2 out of 5
by Alex from Canada

Not bad

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels
While the courtyard is very cool to look at, the windowless room got depressing and the hotel itself was hard to find. The staff did speak some English, more than other hotels however it may be priced higher than it's worth. Get a discount if you plan to stay here!
1 out of 5
by Ciro from Paris

Brutal

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels
The guys try their best to fix it up all the time. But the main problem is with the bathroom. The smell coming out of it is just disgusting. Price is too much for such bad quality. I wouldn't go there again even if I could stay for free. As a former backpacker, I have been staying at hostels all around the world, but this one is one of the worst I have ever seen.
1 out of 5
by Jason

look elsewhere

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on Hotels
My second impression when I opened the door to my room was that it was tiny and windowless. My first impression (it was that strong) was that it smelled like sewage. I stayed six nights, and the smell never went away. Overall, it's a pretty depressing little place with indifferent service. It's down a dusty alley with nothing to recommend it, in a part of town that is only good because it's close to a transfer subway station (where the new line 6 crosses line 4) and relatively centrally located. Probably fine for a hardy backpacker planning a short stay, but nobody would actually enjoy this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean bathroom and clean towel

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
the staff help me upgrade the room