Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Paul from and Kat, UK

Great location but that is the only good thing!

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here as we were going on a G adventures tour of china. We checked in for an extra night before the tour began. We were put in a room on the 6th floor. The room smelt of smoke even though it was non smoking and the toilet also smelt. During the night building work was taking place on a building opposite so we got very little sleep plus the beds were very hard (although this is the case with most hotels in China!). In the morning as we were getting ready to check in again with the group tour we saw a large cockroach in our room! Luckily when we checked in with the group tour booking we were placed on floor 14. The room and bathroom smelt a lot better and was much cleaner! We also tried the breakfast buffet but it was not good for western style food. Would recommend going somewhere else instead! Would not stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Good hotel if planning to be out a lot

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location and rate.
I am a single, mid-20s woman who was traveling to tour Beijing. I enjoyed my stay at the Chongwenmen hotel - it is super convenient to the subway station, which connects to most major sights within 30 minutes. It is close to a supermarket (for snacks) and restaurants, as well as a hospital (in case of emergencies!). There wasn't much if you wanted to stay at the hotel during the day, but was perfect for cleaning up and sleeping each night!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Dallas, TX

ChongWenMen is Average

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: They just recently began charging a 200 yuan deposit, and began charging $10.00 for their breakfast buffet! That's USD--not Yuan.
Location: It is convenient to Tiananmen Square, The Forbidden City, and the Pearl Market
I have stay at this property many times of the past six years. It is an average 3-Star hotel that is a bit pricey for what you get and lacking in some areas. The staff is okay, but not very helpful when there is a problem. They tend to blame the customer and act like it's no big deal. Some of the rooms have mold on the ceilings from water issues. Other rooms have undergone renovations. Other rooms smell of sewer gases due to poor plumbing and venting of pipes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by beh from Spore

Feedback for improvement

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: near to Metro train, shopping centre, food outlets
Cons: bathroom- not properly maintain
Location: Good location
Bathtub - black dirty stain Bathroom- Door not able to lock Internet access - 15 min too short of time , suggest at 30 mins Thanks Beh CH
3 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur,

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2011 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only thing bad is the bathroom

Posted May 2, 2011 on Hotels
The location of the hotel is great. I believe the 2 and the 5 train (To Chong Wen Men station) go to the hotel. It's a good hotel just for sleep. The only thing bad is the bathroom. The bathtub leaks water all over the floor, so by the time I am done...the floor is wet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wendell, NC

Chongwenmen Hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2010 on Hotels
Nice location. It was okay, but I would have preferred one large bed instead of two single beds. The room was tidy, and the facilities were nice. I did use the self-service laundry from time to time, and that was nice. I like the Chongwenmen area because it is near the local shops and other places including the historic Roman Catholich church at Dongjiaominxiang, at the edge of the DongFeng district. I used the gym facilities too. Not bad. Simple hotel type gym. I'd stay again.