Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Very convenient location, clean enough for stay, staff very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Most of server is really nice and helpful. just the place is not as comfort as I expect. Also the Hu-tong is not easy to get the taxi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel, cool location

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is very cool-looking from the outside, as it is a traditional Beijing hutong. But the rooms could use with some sprucing up. Everything was clean and functional, but the room decor was a bit dingy looking. Also, there is very little storage space for luggage or hanging up clothes, so if you're visiting for an extended stay that may become a problem. The room itself is comfortable, but you could probably do a bit better for the price. The location is great because it's right in the hutongs and you can easily walk to many bars.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room, perfect neighborhood

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I had a great stay at this hotel. They gave us an upgrade when we checked in. The courtyard is beautiful, in a hutong. The hutong was full of life. Many bars, restaurants, and stores. Also very near the more touristy Gulou area so there are a lot of food/drink/shipping options. Also very near the bell and drum towers. The room was very affordable for the neighborhood and the room was very clean. It was a nice size although the double beds are a bit small for 2 people to share but manageable. We'd definitely stay here again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent facility in hutong area

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The homliness and friendliness.
Cons: All good.
Location: Short [15 mins max] walk to good subway, easy access to Tienanmen area or airport or summer palace. Friendliness of local people in hutong area great
We thoroughly enjoyed our time living in the hutong for 5 days. Staff did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast available, washing done quickly and cheaply, room very comfortable. A memorable experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simply to far from transport

Posted May 25, 2016
To get there is horrid - many taxis simply won't go there. To find it initially on your own would be almost impossible . Whilst cheaper than the the more central hotels you can spend the balance on taxis and train fairs unless you are prepared to walk about 3 km each way each day to the train
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

No air vent in the bathroom/shower

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: The staff, very friendly.
Cons: Air vent in the bathroom.
Location: Just walk around and feel what it is like living in a hutong!
I am sensitive to smell. I had a hard time with the odor from the drain (which happens A LOT in China when the drain pipe lacks the "S" shape to prevent gas escaping from the waste pipe). And, the direction was not good for a taxi driver to reach the hotel. I also failed to get a taxi to come to the hotel when I wanted to leave. Luckily, my luggage had 8 wheels!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude unhelpful staff, no English as advertised

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Hotel in a great area but other than that terrible. Rooms dirty, drains blocked in shower. Staff were no help, spoke selective English. Could speak English to sell you crappy tours but not to help you with directions or anything else. Seemed to be many family members staying in "hotel". It was more like a bed and breakfast, except no breakfast (not even coffee or a kettle to use) worse beds in China and staff made you feel like an unwanted house guest. People drinking in courtyard until late making sleeping hard if you have early starts. There is Downtown Backpackers up the road, we went there for help with tours and directions. They were very helpful even though we were not guests. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. You can do so much better for the price.