Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Probably the best boutique hotel I have stayed at.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Quality boutique accommodation with style. Stop looking any further and push the "book now" button. Just pray the dates you want are available.
Cons: Honestly this is as good as it gets.
Location: Close to central tourist attractions. Only 45 minutes (good traffic) from the airport. Ten minute walk to supermarket.
This hotel is quite simply fabulous and in all my years of travelling I struggle to think of a boutique hotel that would rate higher. The ratings on on-line websites do not lie and the staff and management deserve all the accolades that come their way. There is no doubt that staying in this hotel was a key reason why we have such great memories of Beijing. The location within a quiet but fascinating hutong is a real positive and helps to give you a better feel for the "real" Beijing. The staff are all friendly and those on the front desk are super helpful and knowledgeable. Their assistance with arranging private travel and recommendations for outstanding restaurants within walking distance of the hotel was greatly appreciated. No review should neglect comment about the wonderful decoration of the rooms and the common areas of the hotel - it is bright and vibrant and evocative of indulgent palaces. The open courtyard areas for quiet drinks and book reading are welcome and the restaurant and bar were features we had not made note of before our visit but which are comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast spread is wide ranging and surely covers all tastes. Packing us a breakfast to take to the airport in our taxi at 5:40am was a perfect example too of how the team at the hotel made every effort to make the visit special.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great authentic hotel in the heart of a hutong!

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Authentic Chinese decor, great service, very comfortable.
We greatly enjoyed our time at the Double Happiness Hotel in Beijing. The decor was very authentic, with comfortable seating in the courtyards. The beds were very comfortable, and there was air conditioning for hot days. The breakfast was among the best we had in China-- a mix of Chinese breakfast and American breakfast items, including delicious fresh fruit. It was a little tricky for taxis to navigate the street, but don't let that deter you. It was very pleasant to walk around the hutong in the morning and evenings, and the people in the neighborhood were very friendly. There was a police station right down the street, and we felt very safe.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

残念なホテル

Posted Jun 13, 2016
レビュースコアと写真に惑わされました。住み心地は一般的、期待してきた以下です。ホテルへ道が狭くアクセスに難儀です。
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

予約がとれてない

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: 何も無し。
Cons: フロントの対応
Location: 道が狭い胡道の奥にあるので、ちょっと大きい車ではアクセス難。
深夜、疲れて上海の遅い便でホテルに到着。するとフロント、部屋が1つ足りない。こちらは事前に入金までして予約しているのに、いや小さいホテルでたまにこういうことがある、メールで連絡した(結局そんなメールは貰ってない)、など、言を左右に言い訳ばかり。まずは謝るのが先だろうが、自分を正当化するのみ。こんな基本が出来てないホテルがなぜこんなに高得点なのか不思議極まりない。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

classic style hotel

Posted May 25, 2016
Excellent location for unique hotel in the old classic style, plenty of character, friendly efficient perfect English speaking staff, This hotel made our stay in Beijing 'real'. Excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 神奈川県横浜市

四合院の快適なホテル

Posted May 20, 2016
2010年に気に入り、今回2016年に再訪しましたが、さらに良くなっており益々ファンになりました。 ≪良い所≫ ・四合院の佇まいを活かしつつ、日本人も含め外国人が「中国らしい」と感じて楽しめる装飾が随所にあり、また昔の胡同・四合院の写真も多く飾られており、ホテル内散策が楽しいです。また部屋も同じく嬉しい位中国テイスト。棚など古いですが清潔で趣があります。そんな雰囲気もあってか?フランス人客の割合が高い印象。 ・2010年時もそうでしたが、スタッフの気配りが必要十分(過度でない)で、求めれば最大限応えてくれようとし、快適に感じます。フロントは必ず英語の出来る人を置いている様です。 ・水回りがきれいで、アメニティが充実しています。シャワーしかありませんが、温かくて強くOK。バスルームもまた中国テイストです。歯磨き粉は安心のサンスター(笑)大きめで気持ち良くたっぷり使えます。 ・朝ごはんがスペース小さいながら多種なビュッフェ。蒸し物、炒め物とフルーツなどあり、コーヒーなどもまともなものが飲めます。 ・wifi使用可。ただしwifiでスマホを使うと中国なのでfacebookやツイッター、インスタは使えません。 ≪残念な所≫ ・駅からやや遠いです。最寄りの東四(トンスー)駅から大通りをしばらく歩き、東四四条と書かれた所で曲がる…ここからが、初めて行くと不安になる程長い。まわりは普通の住宅地です。ただ、昼夜とも程々に生活感があり人の気配があるので道中それ程怖くはありません。 ・生活感がちらほらホテル内にあります。ホテルの周りは現役の四合院住宅地なので、二階にもある部屋からは生活がありあり見えてしまいます。また、従業員もホテルに寝泊まりしているのか?彼らのための部屋も並列してあるのでそこは少し興ざめ。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Everything was great!! The weather cooperated and we were able to enjoy both the courtyard and rooftop patio.
Cons: Wifi was a little slow, but I think it's more of a China issue. We stayed at a Westin and Sheraton and their wifi was even slower.
Location: Perfect location. The hutong alley is well travelled by people, bikes/mopeds, and the odd car. Lots of amenities close by.
We loved everything about our stay! From its location, to the actual hotel and facilities, to the staff, everything was super. The Dongsi metro station is <10 minute walk, which will then get you anywhere in Beijing. We really enjoyed the numerous walks up and down the alley to the hotel, and always felt safe. There are many shops and restaurants close by, including a bakery, a McDonald's, and a Wumart (like a mini Walmart). The staff were always very helpful, and the breakfast was more than adequate. Our room was on the small side, but was acceptable, since we were rarely in it. Overall, would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Wonderful hotel and staff

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: The whole ambiance of the hotel. It just feels great to be there.
Cons: Nothing. Don't change it.
Location: It is a short walk to Dongsi subway station from which you can easily get to anywhere in Beijing. There are restaurants on the hutong.
Double Happiness Hotel scores very highly in Expedia and other ratings. Deservedly so. It is a wonderful hotel with amazing friendly staff. This is not your usual business hotel. This is a beautiful, quaint courtyard hotel. I loved staying here and will return as soon as I can next go to Bejing. The staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. Wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by melissa from San Francisco

Great hotel in the Beijing hutongs!

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel in the hutongs! Staff couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming. Really enjoyed the breakfast buffet with all the local foods each morning. Room was small but comfortable.