Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Wonderful hotel in the historic Hudong District

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The accommodations, location in the Hudong Disrict, and great hotel staff.
What a great hotel. The character and charm of this place really is impressive. And, the breakfast buffet is very nice. It's a smaller quaint hotel, which makes the experience even better. Our room was delightful and the Chinese furniture and decor was a nice touch. The hotel staff is excellent, spoke English well, and recommended fantastic restaurants. We loved the Hudong area, as it's the only remaining historical district in Beijing, and it's close to the subway, and all the cultural sites. I definitely want to return. Thanks to Double Happiness staff for making our vacation memorable and comfortable. Gary Rose
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

落ち着くホテルでした

Posted Sep 4, 2016
ホテルスタッフは親切な方ばかりでした。 私達の泊まった部屋はHPなどの写真のイメージより狭く感じられましたが、ベッドや調度品が可愛らしくて十分に「中国っぽさ」を満喫できました。設備面でも不便を感じることはなかったです。何より中庭で寛ぐ時間は最高でした。ロケーションは駅から少し歩きますが分かりにくい場所ではありません。ただ狭い小道を数分歩くので途中で正しいのか不安になるかも。その狭い道に車もバイクも入ってくるので注意が必要です。特に後ろからエンジン切って走ってくるバイクにはぶつからないようご用心。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

great stay

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Loved our stay as location great in authentic neighborhood, wonderfully nic and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

老北京体験

Posted Aug 21, 2016
家族3人で、3泊滞在しました。 設備と立地の限界を理解したうえで、多少の不便さも楽しみながら、ゆっくり北京を味わおうという人向けです。フロントには必ず1人、英語ができる人がいます。それ以外のスタッフもとても、フレンドリーです。個人的には、大変気持ちよく過ごすことができました、ぜひ再訪したいホテルです。 東四の駅から徒歩10分くらい。駅はスーパーに隣接、その後も小さな食堂からチェーン店まであって、食べることには困りません。 ホテルは生活感あふれる胡同の中の通りの中程にあります。写真アップしますが、引き売り、洗濯物、荷物の積み下ろし、道路に座って鳥のなき比べをさせている人、ひっきりなしに通行する自転車、共同トイレなどで雑然とし、独特の雰囲気があり、生活感にあふれています。雨の日は足元の汚れも覚悟してください。 大きな車は、入りにくい(入れないことはない)場所です。ホテル前に車の待機場所が1から2台なので、ツアーのお迎えなど車を利用した待ち合わせは、時間をフロントに連絡して場所を確保してもらったほうが良いです。 ホテルは四合院ですが、一部(南と東側)が胡同内のアパートに入りこむように作られています。南の1階シングルは日当たりが悪く暗い印象です。南の2階の部屋(ファミリールーム)は中庭に面して静かで、日当たりも十分でした。構造上、雨の日は、一部の部屋は多少濡れないと、部屋にたどり着けません(笑)。古い建物の改装のせいもあってか、シャワーの水はけはあまりよくありません。水圧・温度は周囲の使用状況にもよるようで、時間で変化しました。トイレも紙は流せません。掃除は行き届いています。電気蚊取りのサービスがありました。(窓枠は木製、少々隙間があるので) アメニティは充実。シャンプー、歯ブラシ、タオル等、そろっています。お茶もティーパックではなく茶葉で2種類あり、非常においしいものでした。ミネラルウォーターのサービスもありました。 朝食は洋中のバフェで、家庭的なお味です。食事会場は狭いので相席になることもありました。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Nice hotel. Diferente and cool. Decoration great and calm atmosphere
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Probably the best boutique hotel I have stayed at.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Quality boutique accommodation with style. Stop looking any further and push the "book now" button. Just pray the dates you want are available.
Cons: Honestly this is as good as it gets.
Location: Close to central tourist attractions. Only 45 minutes (good traffic) from the airport. Ten minute walk to supermarket.
This hotel is quite simply fabulous and in all my years of travelling I struggle to think of a boutique hotel that would rate higher. The ratings on on-line websites do not lie and the staff and management deserve all the accolades that come their way. There is no doubt that staying in this hotel was a key reason why we have such great memories of Beijing. The location within a quiet but fascinating hutong is a real positive and helps to give you a better feel for the "real" Beijing. The staff are all friendly and those on the front desk are super helpful and knowledgeable. Their assistance with arranging private travel and recommendations for outstanding restaurants within walking distance of the hotel was greatly appreciated. No review should neglect comment about the wonderful decoration of the rooms and the common areas of the hotel - it is bright and vibrant and evocative of indulgent palaces. The open courtyard areas for quiet drinks and book reading are welcome and the restaurant and bar were features we had not made note of before our visit but which are comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast spread is wide ranging and surely covers all tastes. Packing us a breakfast to take to the airport in our taxi at 5:40am was a perfect example too of how the team at the hotel made every effort to make the visit special.
5 out of 5
by STEVEN from UK

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was everything we expected from previous reviews, 5star it's not but oldy-worldy originality it definitely is. Room was smallish but clean and comfortable, breakfast included and plenty of choice. Peaceful, tranquil courtyards to sit in and relax. Takes a little bit finding as its down an alley were the locals live but what a welcome. We arrived by metro and had been pulling suitcases in the heat, we were hot and sweaty, the staff made us sit down, provided cold drinks and gave us time to recover before doing anything. The best hotel staff we came across in China. They spoke very good English, were very helpful in arranging trips and train tickets for us, always had a smile and very welcoming. Recommended.
4 out of 5
by Renaud

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great authentic hotel in the heart of a hutong!

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Authentic Chinese decor, great service, very comfortable.
We greatly enjoyed our time at the Double Happiness Hotel in Beijing. The decor was very authentic, with comfortable seating in the courtyards. The beds were very comfortable, and there was air conditioning for hot days. The breakfast was among the best we had in China-- a mix of Chinese breakfast and American breakfast items, including delicious fresh fruit. It was a little tricky for taxis to navigate the street, but don't let that deter you. It was very pleasant to walk around the hutong in the morning and evenings, and the people in the neighborhood were very friendly. There was a police station right down the street, and we felt very safe.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

残念なホテル

Posted Jun 13, 2016
レビュースコアと写真に惑わされました。住み心地は一般的、期待してきた以下です。ホテルへ道が狭くアクセスに難儀です。