Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare in Beijing

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Have reception know So English words or have the translator app in their phone
Location: Bad location
The hotel is not accessible by car.The road towards the hotel is blocked off.It is amongst the Communist villagers and Manned by heavy Army controlled road blocks.If you have luggage it is virtually impossible to get through as taxi,s are not permitted to drive to the hotel or even Pick up passengers.You must walk half a mile to be able to get public transport.Plus the staff don,t speak one word of English
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will not book this hotel again

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The best part was that it was near the Drum Tower and the River and easy walking distance of a metro station. The staff were friendly, but of limited help as nobody could soeak or understand English. The hotel is located within the historic hutong precinct, but cars are banned from that area so your taxi from the airport will not be able to deliver you to this hotel. And if you book a tour, you will have to walk a considerable distance to somewhere where you can meet your tour coach. The room was quite dirty, and the daily servicing was quite inadequate. The matress should have been thrown away years ago.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room but great location and price

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
If cleanliness is important for you, don't even think of staying here. But if you just need a roof over your head in a bustling area full of cafes boutique shops and restaurants, this is great value
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted May 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The location of the hotel is excellent. I could walk throughout the hutongs and there are many small vendors to satisfy any taste.
Cons: Guests can only reach the hotel by walking as taxis are restricted.
The staff was very friendly and helpful although a couple of them have limited English. The manager was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by anonymous from Minnesota

Cheap hotel

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are somewhat clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price, close to train station.

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was clean and close to the train station by taxi,the staff were very patient while I communicated with them using my pocket Mandarin book, they even drew me a map to where I was headed.
2 out of 5
by Karen from Sherwood Park

Decent budget pick but poor wifi and sewer gas

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is very easy to get to from Subway station. Take exit E from subway. Turn right, walk few blocks down main street of a Hutong then turn right again and few more blocks. You will have to carry your bags or hire tuk-tuk. No cars. Quiet at night. English not spoken at hotel but we were able to make do with translation app. Hot water for shower plentiful but limited at sink. Wifi intermittent and slow. Have an elevator. Terrible sewer gas smell from bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by haidi from Manila, Philippines

great location, disgusting rooms...

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: the English-speaking reception-lobby personnel.
Cons: beds and bathroom.
Location: great location.
We were a group of 9 people, my family of 5 including, and four of our friends. Just the mere sight of the hotel lobby was enough for my 3 sons to try and persuade me to transfer to another place.The rooms' carpet, the beds' linen as well as the skirting gave us goose bumps. It is as if they've been there and never been replaced, changed or cleaned since the hotel became operational. A more horrifying experience is the bathroom! Through all these, the staff at the reception lobby are the most helpful and the lone reason why we opted to stay 2 nights which we have paid anyway online.
2 out of 5
by Traveler from USA

Great customer service, good location, awful hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is located in an awesome location. If you come out of the hotel and turn left and walk for about five minutes you'll come across a very lively street with many coffee shops and restaurants. The girls who work there are really friendly and speak very good English. They will go out of their way to help you find whatever you're looking for. Lulu who works the night shift is exceptionally cute! :) Although I enjoyed the location of this hotel, I would not stay here again because of the condition. It really needs to be renovated asap. If it did this, it would be worth every single dollar. The rooms are old and the bathroom is really nasty. Internet was very slow as well.