Ratings based on 675 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwick

Mediocre Hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The first room we were given was on the 7th floor and in need of a refurbishment. We had already paid for a club level room and after asking to be moved, were then put near to the club lounge. The club lounge was poor in comparison with others that I have used, in particular the drinks were limited and the general atmosphere was subdued. The breakfast, however, was good, and in particular the male waiter was extremely friendly and attentive. I had made a mistake with dates on my initial booking, but despite plenty of notice and many calls, I was refused a refund on the extra day that I had booked and had to pay for 5 nights rather than the 4 that I was there. They would not ever allow the difference in payment to be used within the hotel, so I just had to lose the money. I had booked with Expedia and they were unable to help with this either. Very disappointing really. The hotel location was great, but due to my experience, I would choose to stay in a different hotel in a similar location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great staff

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Staff, beautiful facades
Cons: Bathroom fixtures could get upgrade
Location: It is at the center of historical Beijing.
Great value during the non-peak season, with very reasonable prices for huge room suites. Like the other reviewers, I too find the facade of this hotel is grand, the inside is tired. The wonderful staff was so helpful, they more than made up it. Staff is so helpful with directions, setting up private transportation to/from Great Wall, planning for sightseeing, we were very happy o have ended up here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is THE WORSET five stars hotel I have stayed!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Disgusting room - old and dirty 5 stars price for a motel at most Baby seat from the restaurant has food mark all over
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phuket

Cannot be better

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Window on the main road need cleaning from outside
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Wales

This is a 5 star hotel that is definitely 5 star

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Everything The 5 star feel ambience of the whole hotel
Cons: We didn't come across anything we didn't like
Location: The hotel is located in the shopping, business and restaurant area of Beijing Night life is a taxi ride away
We had a wonderful stay at the Beijing Raffles. All the staff were most helpful and welcoming and could not have done more for us. Our stay was greatly enhanced when we met the Raffles Ambassador, John Spooner. John was extremely helpful and advised us on all our trips out to places of interest. He also helped us celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary going out of his way which was most kind of him. We will remember John and our visit to Beijing with great affection and recommend the hotel to anyone who asks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Phil, Many thanks for having taken the time to share the feedback about your stay at Raffles Beijing with the tripadvisor.com community. We are honored that you keep coming back to us which speaks a lot about our hotel. More importantly, we are grateful that you continue enjoying what truly defines Raffles, that is our colleagues and the way we deliver service; Mr. John Spooner was particularly thrilled to be singled out by you. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you again soon at your second home in China. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
I quite liked my room, classy and quiet. But I would love to see one or two sockets next to the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for having taken the time to write a very detailed tripadvisor review. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. We are even more grateful for the detailed recommendations that we will certainly take into consideration during our next renovation. As a matter of that, we are currently working on a number of projects to upgrade our hardware in all guest rooms, which should assist us targeting and rectifying the shortcomings mentioned. I am certain that on your future visit, you will notice these positive changes. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you once again soon. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canadaj

Historic hotel in great location near. Tiamnen.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
We were upgraded to a magnificent room with four poster bed and antique furnishings. Excellent dining room. Hotel ambassador John was always helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Many thanks for having taken the time to share the feedback about your stay at Raffles Beijing with the tripadvisor.com community. Dear John, We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel and I am also very happy to hear that your experience with our colleagues was memorable, in particular Mr. John Spooner who was thrilled to be singled out by you. Accolades such as yours add so much joy and motivation to our service spirit; The team is very intuitive and work hard to ensure a personal service is delivered to every guest. Thank you once again for your strong recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US Virgin Islands

Raffles Beijing deserves it's 5* rating

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff.
Cons: No improvements needed.
Location: The best location in Beijing, just one block from Tiananmen Square, National Museum, and Forbidden City.
We arrived early in the morning, welcomed by Amber and John the Ambassador and walked to our room a beautiful suite. An early check in, what a pleasant surprise after a long flight. Room service provided excellent food as did the 33 restaurant and the Writers Lounge. Raffles allowed a late checkout and arranged for car service to the airport. John, the Ambassador helped us with all excursions and was a great source of information and helpful suggestions. He and all the wonderful staff of Raffles made our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Arthur, Many thanks first and foremost, for the extraordinary review and secondly, for making your “Affair” with us public with other Tripadvisor followers! We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel, especially in regards to our location, comfort of rooms and service. More importantly, we are grateful that we made your trip to Beijing a memorable one and that you enjoyed what truly defines Raffles, that is our colleagues and the way we recognize, welcome and value our guests as stated by you. Everyone was thrilled to read your words; you can only imagine John and Amber’s emotions to be especially distinguished in your feedback. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again whenever your travels bring you back to the Middle Kingdom. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beijing hotel near Forbidden Cuty

Posted Sep 20, 2016
While the hotel is nice, I arranged a private tour. The driver was excellent however the guide was sub par.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear CAS, Thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and appreciate your positive comments about us, especially in regards to our location, lobby and service. Thank you once again for your very detailed review and we hope to welcome you back soon! Christian Sack-General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kopervik

Sentralt, med fine severdigheter like rundt døren

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Som alltid er Beijing morsom å besøke. Det er forandringer hvert år. Og prisene når stadig nye høyder. Skal du besøke Muren, bør du reise til Simaitai oppgangen. Det er lengre dit enn til Badaling, men du store tid hvor mye finere opplevelse. Planlegg gjerne en overnatting der, det skal jeg gjøre neste gang. For i mørket er Simaitai i Watertown om mulig, enda vakrere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kopervik, Thank you for having taken the time to share your encouraging feedback about your recent stay with other fellow travellers! We are thrilled to learn that you discovered us during your trip to the Middle Kingdom. Beijing offers indeed some of the best hotel chains in the world and we are delighted to know once again that the service provided at Raffles exceeded your expectations but more importantly that it turned this hotel into a “traveller’s home” for you! We look forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again. Warm Regards, Christian Sack – General Manager