Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Grand Old Hotel Updated

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Convenience, ambiance, staff, room. What's not to like.
Cons: Restaurant lacked the same ambiance as the hotel.
Location: Near everything. Walk to meals and shopping.
A visit to Raffles, now inexplicably called Nuo, which is the same name as another hotel, will place you back in the 1920's or 30's. Such elegance, such service. Needless to say, we enjoyed our stay. No complaints. Two room suites for under $120 per night. It is convenient to shopping and eating. Walk to everything or take a cab. The staff handles English very well. Loved Writer's bar, restaurant OK. Will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Great location, a bit old

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The hotel is very conveniently located. The hotel itself is quite old, it does seem a bit classic but if the amenities can be freshened up a bit it would be a lot nicer. Hotel staff is great, they give an effort to make your stay a pleasurable one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

This is not a 5 stars hotel.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Cons: it is too old. change the wood floor and the decoration in the bath room. plz
I book this hotel because it is under controlled by NUO company. It is totally different compared to NUO hotel at Sanyuanqiao. Do not book this hotel unless you have a lot of money to waste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Allen Xu, Hotel Management
Dear Ye, Thanks for your great support been staying with us and appreciate of your comments sharing. Apologize that we do not need meet your expectation and since hotel is quite different style with NUO Beijing Hotel Sanyuanqiao. Beijing Hotel NUO is a unique historical hotel in Beijing to provide consistent high quality service and we are looking forward to have your next stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwick

Mediocre Hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The first room we were given was on the 7th floor and in need of a refurbishment. We had already paid for a club level room and after asking to be moved, were then put near to the club lounge. The club lounge was poor in comparison with others that I have used, in particular the drinks were limited and the general atmosphere was subdued. The breakfast, however, was good, and in particular the male waiter was extremely friendly and attentive. I had made a mistake with dates on my initial booking, but despite plenty of notice and many calls, I was refused a refund on the extra day that I had booked and had to pay for 5 nights rather than the 4 that I was there. They would not ever allow the difference in payment to be used within the hotel, so I just had to lose the money. I had booked with Expedia and they were unable to help with this either. Very disappointing really. The hotel location was great, but due to my experience, I would choose to stay in a different hotel in a similar location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Great staff

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Staff, beautiful facades
Cons: Bathroom fixtures could get upgrade
Location: It is at the center of historical Beijing.
Great value during the non-peak season, with very reasonable prices for huge room suites. Like the other reviewers, I too find the facade of this hotel is grand, the inside is tired. The wonderful staff was so helpful, they more than made up it. Staff is so helpful with directions, setting up private transportation to/from Great Wall, planning for sightseeing, we were very happy o have ended up here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is THE WORSET five stars hotel I have stayed!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Disgusting room - old and dirty 5 stars price for a motel at most Baby seat from the restaurant has food mark all over
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phuket

Cannot be better

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Window on the main road need cleaning from outside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

This is a 5 star hotel that is definitely 5 star

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Everything The 5 star feel ambience of the whole hotel
Cons: We didn't come across anything we didn't like
Location: The hotel is located in the shopping, business and restaurant area of Beijing Night life is a taxi ride away
We had a wonderful stay at the Beijing Raffles. All the staff were most helpful and welcoming and could not have done more for us. Our stay was greatly enhanced when we met the Raffles Ambassador, John Spooner. John was extremely helpful and advised us on all our trips out to places of interest. He also helped us celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary going out of his way which was most kind of him. We will remember John and our visit to Beijing with great affection and recommend the hotel to anyone who asks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Phil, Many thanks for having taken the time to share the feedback about your stay at Raffles Beijing with the tripadvisor.com community. We are honored that you keep coming back to us which speaks a lot about our hotel. More importantly, we are grateful that you continue enjoying what truly defines Raffles, that is our colleagues and the way we deliver service; Mr. John Spooner was particularly thrilled to be singled out by you. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you again soon at your second home in China. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canadaj

Historic hotel in great location near. Tiamnen.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
We were upgraded to a magnificent room with four poster bed and antique furnishings. Excellent dining room. Hotel ambassador John was always helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Many thanks for having taken the time to share the feedback about your stay at Raffles Beijing with the tripadvisor.com community. Dear John, We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel and I am also very happy to hear that your experience with our colleagues was memorable, in particular Mr. John Spooner who was thrilled to be singled out by you. Accolades such as yours add so much joy and motivation to our service spirit; The team is very intuitive and work hard to ensure a personal service is delivered to every guest. Thank you once again for your strong recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US Virgin Islands

Raffles Beijing deserves it's 5* rating

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff.
Cons: No improvements needed.
Location: The best location in Beijing, just one block from Tiananmen Square, National Museum, and Forbidden City.
We arrived early in the morning, welcomed by Amber and John the Ambassador and walked to our room a beautiful suite. An early check in, what a pleasant surprise after a long flight. Room service provided excellent food as did the 33 restaurant and the Writers Lounge. Raffles allowed a late checkout and arranged for car service to the airport. John, the Ambassador helped us with all excursions and was a great source of information and helpful suggestions. He and all the wonderful staff of Raffles made our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Arthur, Many thanks first and foremost, for the extraordinary review and secondly, for making your “Affair” with us public with other Tripadvisor followers! We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel, especially in regards to our location, comfort of rooms and service. More importantly, we are grateful that we made your trip to Beijing a memorable one and that you enjoyed what truly defines Raffles, that is our colleagues and the way we recognize, welcome and value our guests as stated by you. Everyone was thrilled to read your words; you can only imagine John and Amber’s emotions to be especially distinguished in your feedback. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again whenever your travels bring you back to the Middle Kingdom. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager.