Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Canada

Beijing's classic old hotel stands up to time.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: The sense of history. The staff are friendly and try their best.
Cons: It would be nice if breakfast was included. No menu in restaurant. Very minimal English is spoken at the reception.
Location: More space is needed for improvements.
When I first came to Beijing in 1983 we stayed in a Russian hotel but were brought to this hotel as part of a tour - it was Beijing's only international standard hotel. It is still in very good condition though the style seems more of the 20/30s than 1974 when it was built. It is in a great location for walking to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from richmond VA the best state in the union

The best hotel in Beijing headquarters of the olym

Posted Apr 18, 2016
I stay there all the times l go to Beijing quite often l walk to Tianmen and Forbidden City. Breakfast is outstanding. The people who rate lower are just crying babies
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, Classy, Traditional

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Really enjoyed it.
Location: Close to wang fu jing and yi he yuan.
The location of this hotel is superb, very close to wang fu jing. Close to a lot of places if you want to shop around. We wanted to experience this once was the most extravagant hotel in chian for so long. It was a pleasant stay I say. Not as bad as many reviews on here. if you are looking for a more modern touch, then this is not the place for you. But we were not looking for that type of stay, we knew what the rooms look like and we knew that it is rather traditional. But that doesn't mean the rooms are not fully equipped, everythings there for you in the room, besides we don't as much as young people need these days, we were very happy about our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Rodrigo from Brasília

Old hotel but close to many historic places

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a classical em Beijing, but needs to have its rooms renewed. The entrance, lobby and restaurant are so pretty, but the room are preety old fashion. Furthermore, the air conditioning barely works. Besides, the staff almost can't speak english at all. It's a shame. Good thing is the location, just 10 min walk from Tiananmen Square forbidden city, and close to a lot of restaurant and to a big mall.
4 out of 5
by kaikwan from 香港

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
名氣夠大,
4 out of 5
by Alf Eric from Trelleborg

Utmärkt

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Utmärkt hotell med tanke på sevärdheter samt läge mot vidare transporter
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

従業員はテキパキと訓練されてきた

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: 交通拠点として、とても便利です。日中は交通渋滞なので、地下鉄駅は目の前で、王府井も至近で極めて便利な場所です。
Cons: フロントが愛想がない!!!
Location: 天安門 故宮 王府井が歩いて行ける。健脚ならば前門へも散歩出来ます。
泊まった部屋はリニューアルされ、清潔で綺麗になっていた。チゥックインやチェックアウトもスムーズで、タクシーも大同経理に頼んだらテキパキと連絡し、タクシーナンバーを確定し5分で到着した。この古いホテルももう20年ほど使っているが、一時はもう泊まるまいとも思ったが、近年は段々と良くなってきています。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

良いホテル

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
立地は最高。天安門広場に徒歩圏。北京の銀座と言える王府井と長安街の交差点に位置している。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An old hotel well located.

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel location is good. But the hotel is rather old. Price is not cheap for such an old hotel. The rooms are big though. But too roomy.